Personal computing discussed

Moderator: Hoser

 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2337
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: StarCraft: Remastered

Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:54 am

The graphics are indeed a high point. 4K Starcraft Remastered is just beautiful, they preserved the original feel of the art perfectly.

I kinda wish I could zoom out a bit more, but I understand why they didn't allow that.
Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon | 6700K @ 4.4 | 16 GB | GTX Titan Xm | Seasonix Gold 850 | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 | D5 + RP-452X2 | Cosmos II | Samsung 4K 40" | 2048 + 240 + LSI 9207-8i (128x8) SSDs
 
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Topic Author
Posts: 24369
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: Comin' to you directly from the Mothership

Re: StarCraft: Remastered

Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:38 pm

From the SC:R launch event, The zerglings have fingers!

It was a super informal tournament played for no money, pride only, among the best foreign StarCraft players of all time. And these guys had a ton of fun putting it together and casting it. I missed this particular match, but this clip had my laughing so hard.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.
 
Krogoth
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5410
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: StarCraft: Remastered

Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:43 pm

Waco wrote:
The graphics are indeed a high point. 4K Starcraft Remastered is just beautiful, they preserved the original feel of the art perfectly.

I kinda wish I could zoom out a bit more, but I understand why they didn't allow that.


They only managed to preserve the art for overview, buildings and unit models. They took some creative liberties with the unit portraits to tie more in with Starcraft 2 (most notably Kerrigan before and after her transformation).

I find it be ludicrous that "Enhanced Lighting" requires 2GiB+ of VRAM (My old Geforce 660Ti can't handle it). The HD textures and sprites shouldn't consume anything more than 500MiB of VRAM. FYI, the original SC1 ran on old 2D/3D cards that had 4MiB-16MIB VRAM. IMO, it sounds like poor coding on Blizzard's part. SC2 only need more than 2GiB of VRAM if you want "Epic" settings. Ultra and lower runs fine on 2GiB of VRAM.
Ivy Bridge i5-3570K@4.0Ghz, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, 2x4GiB of PC3-12800, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Corsair CX-600 and Fractal Refined R4 (W). Kentsfield Q6600@3Ghz, HD 4850 2x2GiB PC2-6400, Gigabyte EP45-DS4P, OCZ Modstream 700W, and PC-7B.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests