Personal computing discussed

Moderator: Hoser

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
 
thegleek
Gold subscriber
Darth Gerbil
Posts: 7406
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:06 am
Location: Detroit, MI
Contact:

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:04 am

SPOOFE wrote:
I've regularly maintained, and regularly met agreement after asserting it, that Skyrim is Bethesda's technically and mechanically best game at release thus far.

I disagree.
 
SPOOFE
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3167
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:50 pm
Location: Woodland Hills, CA

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:02 pm

Interesting. Which Bethesda game do you think was the most technically polished when it hit the market? Certainly not Morrowind, Oblivion, or Daggerfall. Maybe Arena or Redguard were super-stable...?
 
DancinJack
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2599
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:39 pm

JustAnEngineer wrote:
"Aye. Now there's a beautiful sword--like a sliver of midnight."


I like the Ebony stuff. I think it looks pretty sweet. I also like the Daedric stuff.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64 - Ubuntu/Mint x64
2015 13" rMBP Sierra
Sony RX100
 
Zoomastigophora
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 666
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:10 pm

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:36 am

So just to follow up on my crashing issue, it seems it was a combination of VRAM overclocking and selecting Edge-Detect as my AA filter in CCC. After disabling the overclock and resetting the AA filter to standard, I've been able to play for 4-5 hours straight without any issues. We'll see if I continue to remain stable, but I'm hopeful.
 
IAmGhostDog
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 631
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:56 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:34 am

Image

I might take her as my wife

Image
Last edited by IAmGhostDog on Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3 | XFX R9 390 | Win7 x64
HT Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll w/ Stanton 681EEE MKlll | Klipsch Promedia v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 16893
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:41 am

IAmGhostDog wrote:
I might take her as my wife
But, she's a bitch... when the moon is out.
 
2x4
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: jc

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:27 pm

is anybody else having the same problem with delivering supplies to high hrothgar? i have some food on me and keep dropping it in the marked chest but this misc quest is still on. is this a glitch? or they need some specific type of food there?
https://www.flickr.com/photos/zawodowy_fotograf/

i7 5820K---ASUS x99-A---EVGA GTX 980---16GB DDR4 2133---SAMSUNG 245T 24"---Crucial BX100 500GB SSD---Samsung Spinpoint 2x2TB---WD 2x4TB--G-Drive 3TB (external)
5dmkIII
 
JohnC
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1890
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: NY/NJ/FL

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:31 pm

2x4 wrote:
is anybody else having the same problem with delivering supplies to high hrothgar? i have some food on me and keep dropping it in the marked chest but this misc quest is still on. is this a glitch? or they need some specific type of food there?

You need to put the "Klimmek's Supplies" into teh chest, they should be under "misc" category in your inventory.
My subscription allows you people to exist on this site and makes me a better human being than you'll ever be
 
SecretMaster
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 973
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: New York

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Sat Mar 24, 2012 11:35 am

As a side note, I get really frustrated with Steam. I know everyone loves the service, but sometimes I see it as an inconvenient middle-man. Point in case, I'm trying to troubleshoot my sister's video card which might be borked, so I'm trying out different games. All I wanted to do was install and play it and see how the video card responds, but now I'm stuck waiting 2+ hours for 3gigs worth of updates to the game. Extremely irritating, especially when I can't see how they added 3 gigs worth of mandatory updates.
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 16893
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Sat Mar 24, 2012 11:44 am

You've probably got the automatic updates box set to "always keep this game up to date" which is the default. You can right-click on the game title in your library to bring up the properties for that game.
i7-6700K, NT06-Pro, GA-Z170N-Gaming5, 32 GiB, 980Ti, SM951, 5TB HDD, Blu-ray, FTZ01, SX600-G, 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
 
SPOOFE
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3167
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:50 pm
Location: Woodland Hills, CA

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Sat Mar 24, 2012 2:06 pm

Sure, I can see how Steam would be a less-than-ideal tool for troubleshooting video cards. I don't recommend it.
 
normandyN7
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:10 am

Re: TES V: Skyrim

Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:17 am

am currently trying the skyrim creation kit
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests