Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Steel, notfred

 
DancinJack
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3178
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Thu Jan 19, 2017 7:07 pm

Rocking my SB6183 for a while now with absolutely zero issues.

As many others have said, I would personally stick with Moto/Arris.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64 - Ubuntu/Mint x64 :: 2015 13" rMBP Sierra :: Canon EOS 80D/Sony RX100
 
ludi
Darth Gerbil
Posts: 7439
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 10:47 pm
Location: Sunny Colorado front range

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:14 pm

Okay, went ahead and ordered an Arris SB6183.  Not sure how that compares to the 6190 which was the top recommendation from last time but it was under $100 and it does support 16x4 bonding.
Abacus Model 2.5 | Quad-Row FX with 256 Cherry Red Slider Beads | Applewood Frame | Water Cooling by Brita Filtration
 
Captain Ned
Gold subscriber
Global Moderator
Posts: 26458
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:48 pm

Seeing as Arris/Moto has been in the business since before DOCSIS 1.0 (a good chunk of their prior proprietary protocol got folded into DOCSIS 1.0), I see no reason to go elsewhere.
If the Earth were flat, cats would have pushed everything off of it by now.
 
The Egg
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:03 pm

A family member tried a TP-Link (either 8 or 16 channel) modem with Comcast service, and its performance was absolutely abysmal compared to a 4-channel SB6120 on the same line and hardware.  

I see you've already made your choice (wisely), but for others who may read this, I wouldn't use anything other than Motorola/Arris for cable modems unless you have a good reason and can thoroughly vet the model.
 
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3363
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains
Contact:

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Sat Jan 21, 2017 10:14 am

As I posted 6/7 months ago, I'm still rocking the same D-Link DCM-301 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem. Still stable and I've even upgraded my cable service to 50 Mbps, which I have gotten or exceed ever so slightly, with Zito Media.

Still haven't had to do a reboot where that actually was the fix.
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
 
Kougar
Silver subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:12 am
Location: Texas

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:46 am

ludi wrote:
Okay, went ahead and ordered an Arris SB6183.  Not sure how that compares to the 6190 which was the top recommendation from last time but it was under $100 and it does support 16x4 bonding.

The 190 doubles the channels/bonding. The 183 is 16x4, the 190 is 32x8 for channel bonding. But it's not a big deal unless you're paying tons to use top tier packages from your ISP. I am still very happy with my 183 and have had zero problems with it. 
 
ludi
Darth Gerbil
Posts: 7439
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 10:47 pm
Location: Sunny Colorado front range

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:06 pm

It is done.  25/5 service is giving slightly over 25mpbs up, 5-6mbps, and sub-10ms pings to Denver metro according to Speedtest.net when a laptop is connected directly to the modem.  The download speeds decrease slightly going through our somewhat aged ProSafe firewall but I can live with that.
Abacus Model 2.5 | Quad-Row FX with 256 Cherry Red Slider Beads | Applewood Frame | Water Cooling by Brita Filtration
 
ozzuneoj
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:27 pm

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:01 pm

I bought a used\refurb SB6182 last year for under $20 and it has been great. I was using a Cisco DPC3010 and it worked fine but for some reason we never seemed to get our full 120mbps downstream (always hit 90 and then dropped) and I was suspicious of the modem. In the end there wasn't any immediate difference when switching to the SB6182, but eventually the speeds did pick back up and I'm now able to get around 110/10 or better (paying for 120/15). Its getting hard to justify the cost of a brand new modem when there are so many dirt cheap DOCSIS 3.0 models floating around. I buy a few of them so that if mine ever gets toasted by a power surge or electrical storm I can just swap them out and give my ISP the new MAC and be done with it.

Not bad for $62 a month with no cable TV or home phone service or modem lease fees. Atlantic Broadband has been a great service. I feel pretty fortunate to have these options in a rural area.
Desktop - i5 2500K@4.5Ghz - MSI P67A-G43 - 16GB DDR3-2133 - PNY GTX 970
HTPC - i7 4790 - Asus B85 - 8GB DDR3-1600 - EVGA GTX 1050 Ti
Selling lots of cool PC stuff on Mercari. Use code VBGQMM for a $10 sign up credit!
 
Duct Tape Dude
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 12:37 pm

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Sat Feb 04, 2017 9:46 am

Some caution against the Puma 6 chipset in the SB6190: http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/The- ... ues-138411
 
Kougar
Silver subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:12 am
Location: Texas

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:30 am

Duct Tape Dude wrote:
Some caution against the Puma 6 chipset in the SB6190: http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/The- ... ues-138411

Wow. And people say Intel's NIC's are supposed to be great, so where'd they go wrong with my namesake chipset? Thanks for making me happy I'm on a 183  :P
 
arris87
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 4:00 am

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:54 am

Anyone experienced with the Technicolor TC7200 cable modem / router, could it be affected by the PUMA6 plague or anything else?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest