Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Steel, notfred

GTell
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author

Improving wifi coverage in my new home

Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:57 pm

Hello,

This is probably a very simple question, but I am new to networking questions. I just bought a new house and I had every room wired up with cat5e cable. I play a lot of video games and I watch movies on the internet, so wired connection is a must. However, I still use from time to time wifi for my laptop when I go from one room to another. The thing is my house is too big for my router. The signal is not strong enough to cover all the rooms.

I saw that "wifi extender" exists, but also read that these things somehow "boost" the signal while losing speed. This is something I want to avoid. I was wondering if I could, say, plug another router via my cat5e cable in the particular room where the wifi signal is weak and repeat the wifi signal WITHOUT losing any speed. Is that doable?

ludi
Lord High Gerbil

Re: Improving wifi coverage in my new home

Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:45 pm

With an Ethernet connection, it's quite doable. Add a second WiFi AP and give it the same SSID, encryption method, and password as your first unit's WiFi. Ideally, the second AP should be the same brand (and preferably, same model number and firmware revision) as your first WiFi AP.

HOWEVER, if the second unit offers DHCP and/or is an Internet router, you need to disable the DHCP server in the second unit's settings. Also, make sure it has a different assigned IP address than the first unit. Locate them far enough apart that their coverage zones don't overlap too much. Then connect a LAN port from the second unit via Ethernet cable to a LAN port on the first unit, and leave the second unit's WAN/Internet port disconnected. Your devices should automatically roam between the two APs, using the first unit's router as the DHCP server and Internet gateway.