Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Steel, notfred

Froz
Gerbil
Topic Author

Interrupted wi-fi connection, new router

Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:15 am

Hello everyone,

so, I'm a total noob when it comes to routers and wi-fi technology and I encountered some issues, I hope someone here can at least tell me some basic information how to diagnose the problem, or point me to some place where I could read some solid information on the topic, for noobs. There are lots of places in the internet about this, of course, but the information is very chaotic and all different guides do not really explain much.

First, some basic info about my network. I have a router that spreads internet to a few devices by wi-fi, typically that's a laptop, 2 smartphones and a printer, on top of that there is a wired connection to my PC.

The issue I have is that I replaced my very old, supercheap TP-link router with Asus RT-AC53. I did that, because I had some issues with connection via smartphones and in general I thought it was time for an upgrade. Phones work great with the router (both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz), speed is faster, stability is much better. However, I have issues with the laptop. First of all, it has troubles connecting to the printer at times, not starting the printing correctly or sending only half of the page. At the same time, I can print without any problems with my PC, so I don't think it's an issue with connection from printer to router.

The signal strength is at maximum when those issues happens. The laptop thinks it is connected to the internet and everything is ok. It happens even when the 2 devices are sitting next to each other.

The laptop in question is HP Probook 450 G2.