Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, David, Thresher

 
DukenukemX
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 9:32 pm
Location: New Jersey USA

Do Apple notebooks require "SPECIAL" hard disks?

Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:33 am

The hard disk is failing on my Apple notebook so I decided to replace it. I've had a working 40g HD lying around and decided to stick this in instead. The Mac had a 30g.

Anyway when I try to install Mac OSX and it asks for me to select the Destination Volume it doesn't show anything. Then I noticed that the IBM Travelstar had "Apple HDD Firmware 2001" written on it.

So do Apple notebooks require "Special" hard disks with firmware? I have a partion on the HD with Windows XP on it. Could that be causing a problem for my Notebook?
 
StashTheVampede
Gerbil
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:31 am

Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:38 am

Apple machines have been using non-Apple specific hardware for years (when will this FUD end?).

The installer didn't see a partition available during the install process. Restart the install process and instead of immediately clicking continue, look to the top of the screen for a menu option called Disk Utility.

Partition, format then quick Disk Utility. The installer will now recognize the disk and allow an install.
 
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
Posts: 6208
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Fri Jun 08, 2007 11:11 am

To clarify: Macs haven't required special peripheral hardware for ages, but the OS needs to be installed on a Mac-formatted partition (HFS/HFS+, I think it is). Disk Utility will allow you to do this.
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
 
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4300
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.
Contact:

Fri Jun 08, 2007 11:12 am

SNM wrote:
To clarify: Macs haven't required special peripheral hardware for ages, but the OS needs to be installed on a Mac-formatted partition (HFS/HFS+, I think it is). Disk Utility will allow you to do this.


I think they have some other thing Apple Journaled, or something, although that could just be their name for HFS.
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
 
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
Posts: 6208
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Fri Jun 08, 2007 11:49 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HFS_Plus
HFS+ has been extended several times; Journaling is one of the newer ones. ;)
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
 
Gandhi
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1665
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 5:12 pm

Fri Jun 08, 2007 12:06 pm

N/A
Last edited by Gandhi on Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
DukenukemX
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 9:32 pm
Location: New Jersey USA

Fri Jun 08, 2007 4:11 pm

Thx I didn't know about the Disk Utility feature.
 
Klyith
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2392
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 11:27 pm
Location: Albany NY

Sun Jun 10, 2007 7:47 pm

StashTheVampede wrote:
Apple machines have been using non-Apple specific hardware for years (when will this FUD end?).

SNM wrote:
To clarify: Macs haven't required special peripheral hardware for ages,

With the notable exception of the video card.

What's up with that on the Mac Pro though? Do they use standard cards post-intel switch? The obscene amounts that apple charges for video cards, and the general second-class cards in use over the whole product line, has always seemed really galling to me. Fun note: I just looked at the whole lineup to make sure this hadn't changed since last year, and it pretty much hasn't. The best video you can get on any variety of apple machine is the 8600M in the 17" macbook pro.
 
thecoldanddarkone
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2449
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 4:35 pm

Sun Jun 10, 2007 7:50 pm

The x1900xt kills the 8600gt in performance. (No, they still don't use standard video cards)

http://www.barefeats.com/santarosa.html

Especially considering it's a 8600gt mobile product
I7 4930k, 32 GB Ballistix DDRL3@2133 , 1.2 TB Intel 750 AIC, 500 GB mx200, Sapphire R9 Fury, asus x79 ws, HP ZR24w, edifier s730
HP Pro x2 612- i5-4302Y, 8 gigs of memory, 256 ssd
 
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
Posts: 8253
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Gone

Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:28 pm

Klyith wrote:
With the notable exception of the video card.

What's up with that on the Mac Pro though? Do they use standard cards post-intel switch?


No. Before, you needed a special PPC ROM, since the PPC CPUs count to ten in a different way than x86 ones do. Now, you need an EFI ROM, since the x86 Macs don't use the traditional BIOS.

The other half of the answer: They've always used standard cards, you just needed to flash the PPC ROM image onto them. They work fine after that. You can reflash cards and put them into Intel Macs, too. Currently only the ATI X1900XT, NV 7600GT, and NV Quadro FX 4500 BIOSes are available, but there are some crazy/testicularly enhanced dudes out there reverse-engineering the naughty bits as we type. Soon enough you will be able to buy a Mac Pro and then buy an unGordly expensive 8800 Ultra for it as well. You'll flash the BIOS, plug it in, and watch your room lights dim.

Of course, Apple only has OSX drivers for the above-listed cards so far, so hopefully 10.5 will be launched at the same time as some new 8X00 powered Intel Macs.
Please don't edit my signature for me. Thanks.
 
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
Posts: 8253
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Gone

Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:35 pm

Whee! TCADO's link has the new Santa Rosa Macbooks.... And they have 8*00s!!

It's only a matter of time now; Mac Pro + 8800GTX FTW.
Please don't edit my signature for me. Thanks.
 
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4300
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.
Contact:

Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:45 pm

Forge wrote:
Whee! TCADO's link has the new Santa Rosa Macbooks.... And they have 8*00s!!

It's only a matter of time now; Mac Pro + 8800GTX FTW.


Maybe that could play SupCom properly :P
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.



AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
 
bwoodring
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 10:20 am

Sun Jun 10, 2007 9:16 pm

StashTheVampede wrote:
Apple machines have been using non-Apple specific hardware for years (when will this FUD end?).


Uhh... maybe when I can buy a normal video card and expect it to work in a Mac? Macs are certainly less proprietary than they used to be, but they still aren't there yet.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
GZIP: On