Personal computing discussed

Moderators: David, Thresher

 
Deathright
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2206
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:19 am

Starcraft not running

Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:20 pm

So my gf is trying to get Starcraft to work on here mac book pro. I dled the mac version from my battle.net account. It installed, but when she goes to run it a box appears. It asks for general or advance. Tried to fiddle with all the options. It just simply won't boot into the game, any thoughts?
Network theory sucks.
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 22557
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Starcraft not running

Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:27 pm

When you hit OK on that screen, what happens? Nothing?

Apparently it's a problem with nVidia's drivers. I've seen this fix referenced in multiple forums:

http://70.181.86.127:82/blog/archives/2 ... olors.html
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
 
Deathright
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2206
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:19 am

Re: Starcraft not running

Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:12 pm

It is an intel GMA X3100 though?
Network theory sucks.
 
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
Posts: 6207
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Re: Starcraft not running

Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:30 pm

Deathright wrote:
It is an intel GMA X3100 though?

Well, if you look at the linked page it says that the issue is because nVidia drivers didn't work in 256 colors. Neither did Intel's. nVidia's drivers got fixed; Intel's didn't. But supposedly Starcraft 2 now runs in Thousands of Colors so if that were the problem then it should be fixed. So you could try switching to Thousands of Colors mode (from Millions) and see if that lets it run, but you'll need to provide more details than that if you want better help.
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
 
ssidbroadcast
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Starcraft not running

Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:32 pm

SNM wrote:
Deathright wrote:
. But supposedly Starcraft 2 now runs in Thousands of Colors



God, Thousands of Colors? Blizzard is going to RUIN Starcraft 2. It's not Starcraft if it's more than 256 colors!!!


nerdrage sarcasm
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 22557
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Starcraft not running

Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:22 pm

Deathright wrote:
It is an intel GMA X3100 though?

You said Macbook Pro in your OP. That means it's an X1600 or an 8600M GT or a 9400/9600. Get your hardware figured out before you post. ;)
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JustAnEngineer and 4 guests