Personal computing discussed

Moderators: SpotTheCat, Nemesis

 
Darthutos
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 7:39 am

how to put on/remove standoffs on Corsair 400r

Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:37 pm

Hi all,

I have a Corsair 400r and I'm stuck.

My motherboard is asrock z97 extreme6. It's an ATX board with 10 holes. I'm now starting to put it together and I see 9 standoff positions already preinstalled. That's great! right? not so much. There is another standoff hole with no standoff, and I all I have to do is put another one because the mobo have an additional 10th standoff. There is no standoff helper/ (I had silverstone,fractal,coolermaster cases, and they all had magnetic/metal helpers), and I cannot put the tenth standoff in with hand. With hand the standoff goes in halfway and hand cannot screw in any longer.

what the H*LL Corsair? I already had trouble with putting 140mm fans, and now this?!

TL;DR Who designed 400r?
 
Redocbew
Gold subscriber
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1350
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:44 am

Re: how to put on/remove standoffs on Corsair 400r

Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:50 pm

You can make your own tool easy enough with a tiny washer and a spare screw, but if the standoff won't go in all the way by hand maybe the threads are bad and need to be cleaned out or re-tapped.

If all else fails, just leave it out. With nine other points of contact having one missing isn't a big deal. If it's not in a spot that'll flex too much while mucking around with cables and stuff I wouldn't worry about it.
Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and you won't hear them coming.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 49743
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: how to put on/remove standoffs on Corsair 400r

Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:25 am

I just use pliers. Need to be careful not to strip the threads by cranking it down too tight though.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
LostCat
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1800
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Alphanumeric symbols.

Re: how to put on/remove standoffs on Corsair 400r

Sat Apr 01, 2017 7:47 am

I just use pliers from my crappy repair toolkits if they won't go in or won't come out.

My 100R had some goofy **** with the standoffs as well. One of the positions wasn't even there?

One of them was...I don't even know, I've never even seen one you can't put a screw in before.

Seriously, my first time with Corsair kit but my last time with their cases. It's good enough, but bizarro.
And now I'm no longer primarily a PC gamer. *shrug*
 
Darthutos
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 7:39 am

Re: how to put on/remove standoffs on Corsair 400r

Sat Apr 01, 2017 8:41 am

Thank you all for the great answers.

How do you use a spare screw and washers to help make the standoff go in? Is there any instructions or youtube video? I couldn't find it myself via google.

I ended up with the smalllest square bit that fit in the standoff circle (talk about fitting a square into a circle, eh?) and turn. I ended up using the standoff and the screw went in no problem later. I just hope I didn't damage the screw line in the standoff too much or it would be a b.... to take the standoff screw later. (change the mobo for example).

for the pliers, that was a great suggestion, I didn't think of it at the time.
 
HERETIC
Gerbil XP
Posts: 396
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 4:10 am

Re: how to put on/remove standoffs on Corsair 400r

Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:54 am

Darthutos wrote:
Hi all,

I have a Corsair 400r and I'm stuck.

My motherboard is asrock z97 extreme6. It's an ATX board with 10 holes. I'm now starting to put it together and I see 9 standoff positions already preinstalled. That's great! right? not so much. There is another standoff hole with no standoff, and I all I have to do is put another one because the mobo have an additional 10th standoff. There is no standoff helper/ (I had silverstone,fractal,coolermaster cases, and they all had magnetic/metal helpers), and I cannot put the tenth standoff in with hand. With hand the standoff goes in halfway and hand cannot screw in any longer.

what the H*LL Corsair? I already had trouble with putting 140mm fans, and now this?!

TL;DR Who designed 400r?

All MB standoffs Iv'e used accept a standard 3/16"socket-4.5 or 5mm might work as well....................
you can usually pick up small kits from a red dot store for a few bucks.
 
Kougar
Silver subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2059
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:12 am
Location: Texas

Re: how to put on/remove standoffs on Corsair 400r

Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:31 am

5mm hex socket screwdriver such as http://www.gearbest.com/other-tools/pp_ ... tml?wid=21

I will warn you not all computers use 5mm hex nut standoffs (4-6 is the range I've seen) but 5mm seems to have become the default for enthusiast cases.Second caveat is that you can very easily over-torque them and strip out the threads if you've not done it before, so don't overtighten. :wink:
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 49743
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: how to put on/remove standoffs on Corsair 400r

Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:35 am

Kougar wrote:
5mm hex socket screwdriver such as http://www.gearbest.com/other-tools/pp_ ... tml?wid=21

I will warn you not all computers use 5mm hex nut standoffs (4-6 is the range I've seen) but 5mm seems to have become the default for enthusiast cases.Second caveat is that you can very easily over-torque them and strip out the threads if you've not done it before, so don't overtighten. :wink:

Yeah, I've stripped case screws/standoffs a couple of times. The flip side is, if you don't tighten them enough sometimes when you go to unscrew the motherboard from the standoff, the standoff comes out instead. :-?
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests