Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

 
evilpaul
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:59 pm

SpeedStep broken?

Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:21 pm

I decided to take one for the team and make sure that Zen turns out amazing by spending a bunch of money upgrading my 4690K to a 7700K yesterday. The Silicon Lottery smiled upon me and the new chip runs at 5.0Ghz at 1.32v. 

Anyway, starting about two weeks to a month ago the CPU clock stopped reducing to 800Mhz while idle. I'm running the Windows 10 Insider Preview 14986. Windows Defender doesn't detect anything and neither did Malware Bytes. I don't see any suspicious processes running and using CPU time or in Startup. My 1080 is idling at low clock frequency and voltage. So I don't think I caught something.

Anyone else using the Win10 Preview builds and experiencing the same? I didn't change anything in the BIOS and SpeedStep and C-states are both turned on (and weren't changed on the first board). Ideas?
 
TwistedKestrel
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:29 pm

Re: SpeedStep broken?

Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:31 pm

Maybe they broke the driver for it in Insider Preview?
 
Krogoth
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5246
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: SpeedStep broken?

Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:44 pm

Make sure that there isn't some benign background program running.
Ivy Bridge i5-3570K@4.0Ghz, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, 2x4GiB of PC3-12800, EVGA 660Ti, Corsair CX-600 and Fractal Refined R4 (W). Kentsfield Q6600@3Ghz, HD 4850 2x2GiB PC2-6400, Gigabyte EP45-DS4P, OCZ Modstream 700W, and PC-7B.
 
juzz86
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:37 am
Location: Australia

Re: SpeedStep broken?

Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:18 pm

Motherboard enabling MCT by default?
3770K, 32GB, GTX 980Ti, 1x 512GB 840 Pro, 2x 500GB 850 EVO, 3TB, PG278Q - EVGA DG-87
 
Kougar
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1704
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:12 am
Location: Texas

Re: SpeedStep broken?

Sun Jan 08, 2017 12:28 pm

Ya sure some UEFI setting isn't keeping the chip upclocked, and checked to be sure speedstep/EIST is fully enabled? I think I recall that some boards keep the chip clocked high when locking all threads together, but maybe I got that wrong. Been a long time since I've messed with EIST.  :lol:
 
evilpaul
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:59 pm

Re: SpeedStep broken?

Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:05 am

It was a new version of Gigabyte's video card OC'ing software, I think. I reloaded Windows and its idling at 800Mhz again. They didn't make any meaningful changes in any revision of the software that I could tell, so I'm using an old version I had saved.Thank you guys. :)
 
tootercomputer
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 6:23 pm

Re: SpeedStep broken?

Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:11 am

Nice OC on that chip.  I was reading this thread.  I have just been messing around with speed shift (see above thread), and used throttleStop on my i7-6700k system to enable speed shift, and it froze all my core speeds at full speed (4.63GHz as I have it overclocked).  What was interesting was even when the program was turned off but still installed on the system, I got the same effect.  I finally had to completed delete the program and all its files, and then my cpu speeds returned to normal.   
 
evilpaul
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:59 pm

Re: SpeedStep broken?

Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:54 pm

I found completely by accident that messing around in advanced power plans (sub option under "Balanced", etc) that you can set maximum and minimum clock rates/percentages. Mine got stuck at 4.2GHz again the other day when I was messing around with something or other and that fixed it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests