Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, morphine

 
DrCR
Gerbil XP
Topic Author
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:18 am

NVIDIA Moving Ampere to TSMC 7nm - Anyone else find this hard to believe?

Tue Oct 13, 2020 10:08 pm

Anyone else find this hard to believe? I thought TSMC's 7nm capacity was basically completely allocated beforehand. If Nvidia had any allocation, I could see them using it for a Super card or two, with the vast majority of the Ampere still being Samsung fabed.
- - - -
NVIDIA Reportedly Moving Ampere to 7 nm TSMC in 2021
https://www.techpowerup.com/273302/nvid ... mc-in-2021
"A report straight from DigiTimes claims that NVIDIA is looking to upgrade their Ampere consumer GPUs from Samsung's 8 nm to TSMC's 7 nm. According to the source, the volume of this transition should be "very large", but most likely wouldn't reflect the entirety of Ampere's consumer-facing product stack. The report claims that TSMC has become more "friendly" to NVIDIA. This could be because TSMC now has available manufacturing capacity in 7 nm due to some of its clients moving to the company's 5 nm node, or simply because TSMC hadn't believed NVIDIA to consider Samsung as a viable foundry alternative - which it now does - and has thus lowered pricing.
..."
 
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Posts: 19661
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: NVIDIA Moving Ampere to TSMC 7nm - Anyone else find this hard to believe?

Tue Oct 13, 2020 11:15 pm

Huawei's been kicked out for political reasons. Apple has moved all of their stuff to 5 nm. That has freed up more of TSMC's 7 nm capacity for AMD and NVidia. AMD reportedly increased their 7 nm purchases to 30,000 wafers per month when Huawei went away.
· R5-3600X, Liquid Freezer II 280, RoG Strix X570-E, 64GiB PC4-28800, RTX3080, 2TB SX8200Pro +2TB MX500 +NAS, Define 7 Compact, Focus PX-850, S3220DGF +32UD99, FC900R OE, DeathAdder Chroma
 
DrCR
Gerbil XP
Topic Author
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:18 am

Re: NVIDIA Moving Ampere to TSMC 7nm - Anyone else find this hard to believe?

Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:29 am

Gotcha. Makes sense. Sounds like a fortuitous situation for Nvidia.
 
Krogoth
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5966
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: NVIDIA Moving Ampere to TSMC 7nm - Anyone else find this hard to believe?

Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:26 am

Nvidia already made GA100 on TSMC's 7mn node.

Other chips will come out as a retooled Ampere since chip design needs to be tweak for the different node. I suspect Nvidia is going to axe some of the GPGPU functions out of the re-tooled customer designs in order to make it more efficient and be more on par with upcoming RDNA2 at graphical performance/efficiency.
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS-PRO Coffee Lake R 9700K, 2x16GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR4-3600, Sapphire RX 6900XT, Seasonic GX-850 and Fractal Define 7 (W)
Ivy Bridge 3570K, 2x4GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Corsair CX-750M V2, and PC-7B
 
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
Posts: 25688
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: NVIDIA Moving Ampere to TSMC 7nm - Anyone else find this hard to believe?

Wed Oct 14, 2020 10:56 am

Companies change suppliers/manufacturers all the time. Not that hard to believe.

Let the great fab lottery which batch OCs better begin!
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests
GZIP: On