Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

 
Llathos
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm

Fri Feb 08, 2002 9:08 am

To make a long story short:

A get home, install my new Abit KR7 and XP1800 in my new Lian Li aluminum case. Add the video card (Ti200), and boot. It posts. All is well. I bring it down, and bring it back up, it posts again. All is well.

A friend comes over with his hardware to test b/c he recently was delivered TWO bad Asus A7V266-E's, and wants to make sure the rest of his hardware works. I put in his processor and his cooler, and his RAM. I boot, it posts.

I replace my own hardware....and it won't post. I've run it in my hands, I've run it on cardboard, I've resinstalled it in the case. I've remounted the CPU about 8 times, reinstalled the memory about 8 times, and reseated the video card about 8 times. The only reaction I get from the system are the fans spinning. No BIOS beep codes, no video signal.

I don't know what else to do! I don't see how the MB could be grounding out when it's not touching anything, I've cleared the CMOS probably 2 or 3 dozen times.....

Any suggestions?? I hope I didn't somehow damage my CPU on reinstallation. There were no mishaps, though, so I don't see how I could have!

Sigh....

Any help would be appreciated.
 
FlyingDragon
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2002 7:00 pm

Fri Feb 08, 2002 9:18 am

First I would smack your friend!!! :razz:

Actually do you have any of his H/W to use for testing? That may be the best way to go...Just switch some of his "good" H/W around.



<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: FlyingDragon on 2002-02-08 08:20 ]</font>
 
Llathos
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm

Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:01 am

Haha...yeah that's what I told him. All his fault...put his funky hardware in my system.

This is where it gets weird.

To test the motherboard, I put his processor back in...and it doesn't post. I try again, and realize the monitor cable was loose, so I put it back on tightly, and then there's a signal...and it posts. I leave EVERYTHING as it was, put my stuff back on, and it fails to post. (REady for this?) THen I leave everything as it was, put his processor back in, and it fails to post.

I say my processor is bad b/c it was working fine, and there's been no damage to it that I can tell. I can't say the motherboard is bad, b/c it's posted both my processor and his processor at some point. The video card has worked across all scenarios, and so has the RAM.

It defies logic.
 
Vrock
Gerbil God
Posts: 21400
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:36 am

Could be anything, but if I were you I'd RMA the board. It's not like ABIT hasn't had quality issues before.
 
Caesalar
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm

Fri Feb 08, 2002 11:27 am

I had very strange (boot & memory) problems with KR7A. I tried everything I could imagine, until I saw this article http://www.tbreak.com/hard/mobo/abit_kr ... page3.html I loosened (and later tightened again) the middle screw and then it worked fine...

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Caesalar on 2002-02-08 10:28 ]</font>
 
Llathos
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm

Fri Feb 08, 2002 12:37 pm

I don't mean to shoot down any incoming suggestions because, Lord knows I need em, but if I was running it out of the case on cardboard and/or on the plastic packaging, wouldn't that circumvent any grounding issues?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest