Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, morphine

What is your next CPU upgrade?

Poll ended at Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:43 am

Going to buy the QX6700
1 (3%)
Going to buy the QX6600
3 (9%)
Going to buy or stay with a normal Core 2 Duo
20 (57%)
I'm an AMD fan still
11 (31%)
 
Total votes: 35
 
DrDillyBar
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 754
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Edmonton, AB
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:22 am

I have an E6300 now.
By the time I upgrade, Quad Core will totoally be on the map.
Hopefully by then it'll be under $400. 8)
i7-4790k | Z87-A | 16GB RAM | Radeon RX460 | SSD; 2TB and 2TB | Dell 20"w | Win10
 
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2269
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:40 am

Probably just stay with C2D's for a while, I don't really want to shovel out $500 or more for a proc/MB combo. The last time I done that, C2D came along and humiliated my $500 dual opteron setup.

I think four cores and more will be really soaring toward Q4 2007 or Q1 2008 because it appears more games/apps will be spreading the load around to more than 2 cores, and offering performance/features in real time that two cores won't be able to keep up.

get me an app that can analyze the number of cores available and split a file into (number of cores) pieces and use each core to simulaneously render and encode a video, and then reassemble at the end in order to cut the time by 1/(number of cores), and I might be in at a little higher price point, but right now using one core just frees the other one up to play and surf while I encode.

Then of course editing and encoding this 1920x1080 video is taking more horsepower and time than I thought, so I might have to go with 2 fast cores over 4 average speed, if the price is close, and the sofware can't spread the work around to more than one core.

I recently purchased a single core AMD acer notebook, because I felt it a better value for what I was going to do. I wasn't going to neavy multitask, or game with it so I didn't see where the extra $200 for a dual core would matter. If I get to hurting, the thing is drop in dual core ready. So far it seems very good at surfing with firefox, editing photos, emailing, cad drawing with turbocad, and office apps. Heck 1 year ago it would have been the most powerful machine I owned. It was quite a jump from a k6-II 350 to a mk36 machine with 1GB memory.
 
wulfher
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 4:05 pm

Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:14 am

i will upgrade but not before april 2007, bcs then the prices should be 20% lower or more and more applications or games will support QCores
 
JokerCPoC
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 2:36 am

Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:22 am

I already have one and I'm buying another 2 more, I crunch for Seti(Crunchin Seti for the PC Perspective Killer Frogs).
 
Shintai
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2369
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 4:43 am
Location: Denmark

Wed Nov 22, 2006 4:39 am

Maybe the poll should add the 3000 series quadcore xeons that can be used in normal desktop boards?
C2D E6600@3Ghz(1.24V) | Asus P5B Deluxe | 4x1GB Kingston Valueram CL5 DDR2-667(1.95V)
Sapphire x1900GT 256MB | Eizo S2110W | 2xSeagate 320GB 7200.10 | Antec Neo He 550W EC
 
sircharles32
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 7:31 pm

Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:03 am

I'm not planning an upgrade until 2008. Maybe then quad core will be mainstream and not cost several body parts. Besides, I'd like to see what AMD has available at that time.
Workstation: Phenom II X4 965
Every-Day: Athlon II X4 630
Servers: Athlon X2 BE-2400, A8-7600
Gym: Opteron 150
 
Logan[TeamX]
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 10:28 am
Location: Sitting here, making sure you don't crash
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:24 am

As I'm still more than happy with my Opteron 170 @ 2.2GHz, i doubt I'll do anything until at least K8L comes out.
Systems Admin for an international mining contractor.

Specialties: network security and monitoring, network design - VLANs, BOVPNs and WAN networking, AD / DNS / AD-aware services, Exchange 2003/2007, email archiving, many hats indeed.
 
Niteslayer
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 6:07 pm
Location: Peoples Republic of Taxachusetts not Romneyville anymore, boy are we screwed!
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 8:58 am

I would love to, but the initial cost makes that an impossibilty right now. So I'll stick to the core 2 duo for now.
"Klaatu, Barrada Nikto!"
<img src="http://www.sparrowbot.com/Sigs/sig1.php?designer=drfish&sigid=8&user=niteslayer">
 
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4929
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:05 am

Logan[TeamX] wrote:
As I'm still more than happy with my Opteron 170 @ 2.2GHz, i doubt I'll do anything until at least K8L comes out.


Just got x2 4400 ,... OCed it to 3.4 GHZ (Nitrogen rules baby) .. woot :o 8)
Image
 
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
Posts: 25554
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:12 am

Shintai wrote:
Maybe the poll should add the 3000 series quadcore xeons that can be used in normal desktop boards?
I haven't found them on Intel's site yet, only the dual core ones are listed. Also Intel listed the 3000 chipset to work with the 3000 series Xeons. Although they are rebadged C2Ds, it has not been officially listed to work with 965/975 chipsets... yet.

Any link that has the info already?
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
 
Shintai
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2369
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 4:43 am
Location: Denmark

Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:34 am

Flying Fox wrote:
Shintai wrote:
Maybe the poll should add the 3000 series quadcore xeons that can be used in normal desktop boards?
I haven't found them on Intel's site yet, only the dual core ones are listed. Also Intel listed the 3000 chipset to work with the 3000 series Xeons. Although they are rebadged C2Ds, it has not been officially listed to work with 965/975 chipsets... yet.

Any link that has the info already?


viewtopic.php?t=45325
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/sho ... p?t=121948
http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=4253

Hmm? But yes, they are not released yet, but should be anytime now.
C2D E6600@3Ghz(1.24V) | Asus P5B Deluxe | 4x1GB Kingston Valueram CL5 DDR2-667(1.95V)

Sapphire x1900GT 256MB | Eizo S2110W | 2xSeagate 320GB 7200.10 | Antec Neo He 550W EC
 
Overkill
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:14 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Bloomsfield

Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:42 am

I, personally, am going to wait for Bloomsfield... the single die quad-core
 
Shintai
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2369
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 4:43 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Bloomsfield

Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:51 am

Overkill wrote:
I, personally, am going to wait for Bloomsfield... the single die quad-core


Yorkfield is singledie quadcore aswell and comes before. 45nm Q3 2007 12Mb cache. Bloomsfield is longer out and Core 3 based or so.
C2D E6600@3Ghz(1.24V) | Asus P5B Deluxe | 4x1GB Kingston Valueram CL5 DDR2-667(1.95V)

Sapphire x1900GT 256MB | Eizo S2110W | 2xSeagate 320GB 7200.10 | Antec Neo He 550W EC
 
just brew it!
Administrator
Posts: 53928
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:25 am

There's no "going to wait and see what's available a couple of years down the road" option. I do not plan to do any major upgrades in the near- to medium- term, so my answer is "none of the above".
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
maxxcool
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 855
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 8:40 am
Location: %^&*%$$
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:39 am

Not untill I see:

1) Games actually use the engine
2) costs less than 300$
3) some makes a better os than "vista"
Cybert said: Capitlization and periods are hard for you, aren't they? I've given over $100 to techforums. I should have you banned for my money.
 
headcore
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:41 am

quadcore madness

Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:49 am

Well,
really intresting to hear your views but i think i am going to take the plunge and get a dual quad core xeon workstation. (to use for 3d/rendering).

the system, along with 8gb ram and a quadro fx5500 workstation gpu is going to set me back about £6500, ($12,000), not including x2 30 inch monitors, but i am seeing it as a 'futureproof' investment. something that should keep me going for at least 2.5-3 yrs, it should handle most games with a certain amount of gusto also. and i cant see game developers putting out any product with a minimum system reccomendation of tthis type for at least 5 years (i hope).

enthusiasts will upgrade as they always do, wether they need the computational power or not. but i think loadsa ppl in the industry will simply because they can and it will reduce rendering times, it's as simple as that. I have used loads of systems dating back, including silicon graphics indigo, intel chips have always been superior when it comes to hard number crunching, i'm not anti AMD at all, i am just saying this from experience.

bring on the 16 core revoloution!


AJ UK
Last edited by headcore on Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
1) P4 3.2, 2GB RAM, ATI FIRE GL X256T 120GB SATA, INTEL DB75PBZMB, LACIE 500GB HD
2) CLEVO D9000T P4 3.6 2GB RAM 200GB HD (RAID)NVIDIA QUADRO FX 1440GO (LAPTOP)
3) ATHLON XP 2800, 512 RAM, ATI RADEON 9600XT 200GB HD,ASUS A7N8X-X
 
Overkill
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:14 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Re: Bloomsfield

Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:04 am

Shintai wrote:
Overkill wrote:
I, personally, am going to wait for Bloomsfield... the single die quad-core


Yorkfield is singledie quadcore aswell and comes before. 45nm Q3 2007 12Mb cache. Bloomsfield is longer out and Core 3 based or so.


Not anymore, according to Wikipedia:

# Bloomsfield, quad-core, single die, successor to Kentsfield
# Yorkfield, eight-core MCM, 45 nm, 12 MiB L2, successor to Bloomsfield
 
just brew it!
Administrator
Posts: 53928
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: quadcore madness

Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:10 am

maxxcool wrote:
Not untill I see:

1) Games actually use the engine
2) costs less than 300$
3) some makes a better os than "vista"

Guess you'll be waiting for a looooong time... :lol:

headcore wrote:
Well,
really intresting to hear your views but i think i am going to take the plunge and get a dual quad core xeon workstation. (to use for 3d/rendering).

the system, along with 8gb ram and a quadro fx5500 workstation gpu is going to set me back about £6500, ($12,000), not including x2 30 inch monitors, but i am seeing it as a 'futureproof' investment. something that should keep me going for at least 2.5-3 yrs,

Rendering is one of those "embarrasingly parallel" applications which should scale almost linearly with number of cores, so quad-core is a clear win in your case.

it also helps that i won't be paying for the system myself :)

Heh heh...

Well yeah, if I could convince someone else to pay for it, I'd get one too! :D
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
Shintai
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2369
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 4:43 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Bloomsfield

Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:19 am

Overkill wrote:
Shintai wrote:
Overkill wrote:
I, personally, am going to wait for Bloomsfield... the single die quad-core


Yorkfield is singledie quadcore aswell and comes before. 45nm Q3 2007 12Mb cache. Bloomsfield is longer out and Core 3 based or so.


Not anymore, according to Wikipedia:

# Bloomsfield, quad-core, single die, successor to Kentsfield
# Yorkfield, eight-core MCM, 45 nm, 12 MiB L2, successor to Bloomsfield


Wiki is wrong on that part. And 8 would have been 24MB or more.
http://www.hkepc.com/bbs/itnews.php?tid ... &endtime=0
http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/displa ... 34444.html

And so forth. Bloomsfield is quadcore Core 3, Yorkfield is quadcore Core 2. Bloomsfield is quadcore with HTT btw, so it can handle 8 threads.
C2D E6600@3Ghz(1.24V) | Asus P5B Deluxe | 4x1GB Kingston Valueram CL5 DDR2-667(1.95V)

Sapphire x1900GT 256MB | Eizo S2110W | 2xSeagate 320GB 7200.10 | Antec Neo He 550W EC
 
mikehodges2
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:27 pm
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:53 am

I'm waiting for UT 2007 to arrive..then i'll think about upgrading. I may go with a quad, since i like having a fairly futerproof computer, so I don't need to upgrade again for at least 2-4 years.

I'm also kinda waiting for AMD to bring out something to compete with conroe. Haven't really heard any rumors about that though..

That said - with any luck when ut2007 comes out, I won't want to play it, and the £1000 i would have spent on a computer can go towards a car. 8)

Here's hoping..
Last edited by mikehodges2 on Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Antec Sonata | P7P55D EVO | Core i5 760 | 2x2GB Patriot Viper 1600MHz | Gigabyte GTX460 1GB OC@850/2100 | EMU 1212M | Samsung F3 1TB | 250GB IDE | 24" Acer v243H
 
anarkiboi
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:22 pm

Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:06 pm

I personally can't justify spending that much money on that little performance difference in the mainstream things that I do. I will consider upgrading again when games and apps move to more than two threads!

I also wouldn't mind seeing what AMD's rebuttal is going to be...... :)
C2D E6400 @ 2.66 GHz | Water Cooling | Gigabyte 965P-DS3 | 2GB DDR2 667 | 250GB WG SATA
XFX 7900GS Extreme @ 540 / 1550 | Thermaltake Armor | Thermaltake Toughpower 480W
 
harmisajedi
Gerbil
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 10:15 pm
Location: sfbay, ca
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:26 pm

i just now rejiggered my s939 system w/ an opteron 146 @ 2.8. w/ proper tweaking of xp (shutting down superfluous system services, paring down start-up lists w/ hijack this) the system is as responsive as can be. since i don't do any encoding or folding, i can't imagine what dual or quadcore could possibly offer me.

echoing the opinions already expressed in this thread--i don't plan on upgrading until most software catches up w/ multithreading support. this probably means late '07/early '08, although i might sit it out until amd's fusion deal is figured out.
"being right too soon is socially unacceptable" robert a. heinlein
 
Skyline57GTR
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1758
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:53 pm

I doubt I might can upgrade Kentsfield 2.66Ghz but I'll wait for another new generation Intel quad-core gonna better than Kentsfield.
FX-55|Patriot 1GB DDR400|BFG 7600GT|Rosewill 550W PSU|Biostar nforce4 SLI|Samsung SATA 300GB HDD
 
El_MUERkO
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 10:09 am
Location: The High Peak, England

Thu Nov 23, 2006 4:57 am

I had planned to upgrade to an E6600 before christmas but now i'm going to wait till the new year, wont be going quad core in 07 thats for sure!
ever changing
 
tsoulier
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3049
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:21 am

Jigar2speed5095 wrote:
Logan[TeamX] wrote:
As I'm still more than happy with my Opteron 170 @ 2.2GHz, i doubt I'll do anything until at least K8L comes out.


Just got x2 4400 ,... OCed it to 3.4 GHZ (Nitrogen rules baby) .. woot :o 8)

wow , amazing over clock , i wonder what it does in super PI
anyway
I am AMD all the way , Opterons only for me
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 @ 3.6 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | EVGA GTX 570
 
dweigert
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:26 pm

Opteron 275

Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:38 pm

I just replaced my dual 244s with dual 275s. I don't need to upgrade for a while.
 
pmt411
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 6:18 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia

Just upgraded to Q6700

Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:16 am

I just got my new system today. Q6700, twin 8800gtx, 680I Evga board,twin 150gig raptors, 500gig WDC backup hd,2gig corsair Dominator mem,Coolit Freezone cpu cooler.
 
lordT
Darth Gerbil
Posts: 7429
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: Writing
Contact:

Re: Just upgraded to Q6700

Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:42 am

pmt411 wrote:
I just got my new system today. Q6700, twin 8800gtx, 680I Evga board,twin 150gig raptors, 500gig WDC backup hd,2gig corsair Dominator mem,Coolit Freezone cpu cooler.

Woah!!! :o
 
monts
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1537
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 7:58 pm
Location: Western Australia (Gods Own Country for those uncertain)

Re: Just upgraded to Q6700

Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:25 am

pmt411 wrote:
I just got my new system today. Q6700, twin 8800gtx, 680I Evga board,twin 150gig raptors, 500gig WDC backup hd,2gig corsair Dominator mem,Coolit Freezone cpu cooler.


Nice! Very Nice indeed.
iMac 27” | MacBook Air.
Cricket and AFL (Fremantle Dockers) tragic.
 
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4929
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm
Contact:

Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:40 am

tsoulier wrote:
Jigar2speed5095 wrote:
Logan[TeamX] wrote:
As I'm still more than happy with my Opteron 170 @ 2.2GHz, i doubt I'll do anything until at least K8L comes out.


Just got x2 4400 ,... OCed it to 3.4 GHZ (Nitrogen rules baby) .. woot :o 8)

wow , amazing over clock , i wonder what it does in super PI
anyway
I am AMD all the way , Opterons only for me


Unfortunalty it doesnt beat C2D @ 3.2 GHZ ... I just compared the Super PI scores with Fighter pilots system .. dam it beats me by 0.6 secs..

BTW i am already done with it.. Next upgrade would be 4 cores CPU ... I will see what AMD has to offer or else i am jumping on QX 6700 for sure ...
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests
GZIP: On