Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

 
diasflacog
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:58 am

Using core temp.

Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:44 pm

I noticed that whenever I use this to monitor my CPU temps one of the cores gets hotter than the other one. Is that normal?

For example, Core 0' 39c Core 1' 37c. This is at idle.

When I play Black Ops or something it'll be something like this Core 0' 63c Core 1' 59c.

Is it normal for one core to get hotter than the other like this?
 
cphite
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 815
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:28 am

Re: Using core temp.

Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:55 pm

Core temp is never going to give you a perfectly accurate temperature reading - the purpose is to detect extreme temperatures. You're within a couple of degrees, so it's probably okay.

And it is normal for your first core to be slightly hotter than the second.
 
morphine
Silver subscriber
Gerbilus Supremus
Posts: 11119
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Using core temp.

Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:49 pm

Those readings are normal. As far as I know, given that the heat/load distribution within the die isn't 100% uniform, you'll get some variation.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
 
diasflacog
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:58 am

Re: Using core temp.

Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:53 pm

Ahh ok, I thought both cores had to be at the same temps so I just wanted to ask if that was normal or not. Thanks for the quick replies.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests