Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, SecretSquirrel, just brew it!

whm1974
Emperor Gerbilius I
Topic Author

Anyone use Forth, or have experience with it?

Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:40 am

Every since I've heard about the Forth programming language, I wanted to try it out to see what is like compared to various forms of Basic I have used in the post.

Well I have some experience with Basic starting with Ti Basic I really never did much with it. However I'm thinking about getting back into and actually learning and using a programming language, and I'm considering checking out gForth which is in the Manjaro Repositories.

Any tips or pointers on getting started?

just brew it!
Administrator

Re: Anyone use Forth, or have experience with it?

Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:21 am

IIRC I tried it very briefly back in the early '80s. It was moderately popular back then, since it is lightweight and can be used interactively from the command line like BASIC. I don't know anyone who uses it for real projects any more; unless you come across a legacy device that happens to use it, I'd say it is more of an academic curiosity these days.

If you've ever used an RPN calculator you'll feel right at home. It is stack-based, so the statement syntax is of the form <operands> <operation>.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

whm1974
Emperor Gerbilius I
Topic Author

Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:30 am

just brew it! wrote:
IIRC I tried it very briefly back in the early '80s. It was moderately popular back then, since it is lightweight and can be used interactively from the command line like BASIC. I don't know anyone who uses it for real projects any more; unless you come across a legacy device that happens to use it, I'd say it is more of an academic curiosity these days.

If you've ever used an RPN calculator you'll feel right at home. It is stack-based, so the statement syntax is of the form <operands> <operation>.