Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, SecretSquirrel, just brew it!

wibeasley
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author

Many-to-many Database Schema

Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:17 pm

I'm a statistics grad student who programs a lot of simulations. One of my simulations spans several computers (due to licensing contrainsts). The stat results for the current simulation consumes 4GB on SqlServer 2005. The performance of the current schema was fine when I was developing it on an empty database. But now that the project is almost completed, the deletes are taking a very long time. Deleting one tblBatch row used to finish in less than a second; now it's over 20 seconds.

I'm asking this question because I want to design my next simulation database better. I don't think I'll change the current schema because rows are only deleted if they were created by a unit test; and I can just increase the TimeOut value for the tests. The performance of the reads and writes is still fine.

From a database perspective, would it have been better to do the many-to-many relationship more conventionally? I'm thinking tblModelSingle should have been a junction table by making:
-one tblBatch row to many tblChunk rows,
-one tblChunk row to many tblModelSingle rows,
-one tblDataFile row to many tblModelSingle rows,
-one tblModelChunk row to many tblModelSingle rows, and
-one tblModelSingle row to one tblModelSpec row.

When I first started this project 18 months ago, I avoided doing this conventional way because my C# program would have had to be more chatty with the database. But now I'm guessing that would have been an acceptable tradeoff.

In addition to quicker deletes, are there likely to be other benefits if I had used the conventional approach.