Personal computing discussed

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

 
Xylker
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

SN85G4... Should I buy one?

Tue Feb 10, 2004 1:05 pm

OK, I really, really want to start playing with the new AMD64 toys... I currently have the G2 with a 2500+ in it, and I really like my little toaster. BUT, I wanted to know if the next iteration of this cube was any good, or if I should wait until the 250 version of the chipset starts shipping.

What do y'all think?
I have nothing more to say about that.
 
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3315
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains
Contact:

Tue Feb 10, 2004 1:52 pm

Yes.
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
 
Xylker
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Tue Feb 10, 2004 3:20 pm

Well thanks, but why? Am I your guinea pig, or do you just think it is a good idea?
I have nothing more to say about that.
 
Dposcorp
Silver subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2597
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit, Michigan

Wed Feb 11, 2004 2:43 am

I am not a fan of this first revision Nforce 3 chipset.
Its got some slower internal links then the Via A64 chipset.

Nforce3 system FSB:
HT 16-bit/600MHz downstream
HT 8-bit/600MHz upstream

VIA K8T800
HT 16-bit/800MHz downstream
HT 16-bit/800MHz upstream


Also, Nforce3 does not have Soundstorm.
I'd wait fora really good, proven A64 chipset to hit the Shuttle if I were you, something with awsome built in Audio.

I run a A64 3200+ in my main machine, but my Shuttles are all Nforce 2.
 
HowardDrake
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Action Jim's Rumpus Room
Contact:

Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:32 am

Dposcorp wrote:
I am not a fan of this first revision Nforce 3 chipset.
Its got some slower internal links then the Via A64 chipset.

Nforce3 system FSB:
HT 16-bit/600MHz downstream
HT 8-bit/600MHz upstream

VIA K8T800
HT 16-bit/800MHz downstream
HT 16-bit/800MHz upstream


Also, Nforce3 does not have Soundstorm.
I'd wait fora really good, proven A64 chipset to hit the Shuttle if I were you, something with awsome built in Audio.

I run a A64 3200+ in my main machine, but my Shuttles are all Nforce 2.


I agree, but Shuttle has done some nice things with SIS chipsets. Would be nice to see a cube with a 755 or 760 chipset come out soon :)
No wonder television's a medium. It's so seldom rare or well done. -Mighty Mouse
Image
 
Dposcorp
Silver subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2597
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit, Michigan

Wed Feb 11, 2004 2:25 pm

HowardDrake wrote:
I agree, but Shuttle has done some nice things with SIS chipsets. Would be nice to see a cube with a 755 or 760 chipset come out soon :)


Yeah, but does SIS have any good intergrated audio solutions?
I have no idea.

Nvidia has Soundstorm and Via has that Vinyl Audio.

Since we have limited expandibility, I want the best stuff built in.
i.e. Awsome Sound, tri-band wifi, Gigabit Lan, Pata & Sata Raid, etc....

On a side note, I would love to see a matching external raid enclosure, via External SATA or Firewire.

Toss in as much as possible, because it is great to have options.
 
cartah2004
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:46 pm

Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:49 pm

so does the AIW 9800 work in this unit?...cuz i really want the AIW stuff like TV capabilities...but will it work
 
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
Posts: 24502
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa
Contact:

Tue Feb 24, 2004 5:04 pm

If i recall correctly...the Sis 755 has 8 channel sound...havent heard it..but its sposed to be good.
 
PerfectCr
Gold subscriber
Darth Gerbil
Posts: 7940
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 7:02 am

Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:39 am

cartah2004 wrote:
so does the AIW 9800 work in this unit?...cuz i really want the AIW stuff like TV capabilities...but will it work


Yes it'll work, but you need to have a certain serial number of AIW card for it to work. I read it on a thread over a Sudhian. Read this thread --> http://forums.sudhian.com/messageview.cfm?catid=43&threadid=55183&FTVAR_MSGDBTABLE=

Check out the response from "Odie". He works for Shuttle and regularly posts in that forum since it is the largest community of SFF users. Check it out :)

Oh and YES, you should get the SN85G4. Check out my modded one!

Image
Core i5 6500 | MSI Z170A SLI Plus | 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 | EVGA GTX 970 SSC | EVGA Supernova 750W G2 | Phanteks EVOLV ATX | Asus ROG PG279Q
 
the_silver_bullet24
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3242
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: The Great White North
Contact:

Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:24 am

Yes you should. Shuttles are awesome.
 
mstrmold
Gerbil XP
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2002 3:09 pm
Location: Hollister, Ca
Contact:

Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:25 am

Nvidia has already stated that they won't be revisiting the SoundStorm on the Nforce 250 platform. That's the whole point of the PCI slot. I posted in this forum about picking a sound solution for my SN85G4.

I doubt that we will be seeing a comparable solution to Soundstorm with regards to embedded sound for some time. Especially since Creative purchased Sensura 3D audio tech. There won't be an incentive to continue on when companies go to renew the license from Creative as I'm sure they will charge $$$ for the renew fee.

As for getting or waiting on the SN85G4? Well, if you wait, there is always something better around the corner. You wait and new Nforce250 will be available. Wait a little longer and there will be another Nforce of SIS update for the Athlon64 via socket 939 and the FX line. So on and so on etc...

Waiting sucks. You just have to make an informed decision as to your needs and take the plunge. Personally, I've had a couple of little issues with the box but it wouldn't stop me from making the purchase again.

-E
Image
 
Sangria7
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 187
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 8:40 am
Location: TX

Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:18 am

That is so cool...

What did you use to cut the blow hole on top and the cut-out on the side?
Also where did you get that mesh and what material.

Again that is so cool
Shuttle XPC SB83G5 | P-540J 3.2GHz | 1024MB OCZ PC3200 | 200 Gig SATA | 6600GT 128MB PCI-X | 16X DL DVD+/-RW | 4-in-1 Media Reader | Benq 19" LCD | Windows Media Center 2005

3DMark05 Score: 3525 / Overclocked: 3957

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest