Personal computing discussed

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

 
tanker27
Gold subscriber
Lord High Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 8804
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

FRACK! Someone help!

Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:26 am

OK I have finally had time to sit down and work on my HTPC using a shuttle SN27P2.

Long story short. I have everything listed on QVL but here is my problem:

I can install Windows XP, I can add the key and set the PC name and Admin pass. It then goes to setting up windows. when its about 95% through it asks me to provide the path for some dll's. Odd, i thought. So when I go to point it back to the D: which is the CDROM, its no longer there! It got disconnected. Frack!

So okay I skip what its asking for and it the install finishes. I boot into Windows for the first time and it boots No problem. HOWEVER, I am missing some "key" components. IE is not there (no biggie I use FF) the basic networking is not there, I have no default wallpapers, infact the dekstop looks like windows 2000.

I have tried 2 different XP disks that are valid and the same thing. I have also tried windows Media Center and it does the same.

Shuttle's Help is crappy so I turn to you guys. Is there a jumper that I need to set? Is it something stupid like setting the CDROM to master?

Damn I really want to get this up and running while I have time off or it will sit and collect dust.

So help! (Come on PerfectCR You built a lot of shuttles!)
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 17294
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:37 am

Without fixing the problem, you may be able to work around it by copying the XP CD to a directory on your harddrive before doing the install.
Last edited by JustAnEngineer on Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
Shintai
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2369
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 4:43 am
Location: Denmark

Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:38 am

Try F6 at setup and add a controller driver.
C2D E6600@3Ghz(1.24V) | Asus P5B Deluxe | 4x1GB Kingston Valueram CL5 DDR2-667(1.95V)
Sapphire x1900GT 256MB | Eizo S2110W | 2xSeagate 320GB 7200.10 | Antec Neo He 550W EC
 
tanker27
Gold subscriber
Lord High Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 8804
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:37 am

I have tried the F6 thing, the only drivers it installs are SATA raid drivers.

As far as copying the CD to the HD, How would I go about that without having windows install over the folder?
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
 
Vrock
Gerbil God
Posts: 21688
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:49 am

I've had this problem in the past, and I traced it to a faulty CD-ROM drive.
Swap out the optical drive and see if that helps.
I'm not altogether on anyone's side, because no one is altogether on my side.
 
Vrock
Gerbil God
Posts: 21688
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:52 am

tanker27 wrote:
As far as copying the CD to the HD, How would I go about that without having windows install over the folder?


You'd have to either boot to a command prompt and do it using xcopy I think, or hook the drive up as a secondary drive to a working computer and copy the files thru Windows. Either way just name the directory you copy the files to something like C:\XPINSTAL and you won't have to worry about windows overwriting it.

*edit: here's instructions on using xcopy32 to clone a drive, should work for copying a CD-ROM too.

http://forum.pcmech.com/archive/index.php/t-3412.html
Last edited by Vrock on Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
I'm not altogether on anyone's side, because no one is altogether on my side.
 
Shintai
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2369
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 4:43 am
Location: Denmark

Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:54 am

What about a 512MB USB stick btw, that might work or if your BIOS supports bootable USB devices you can make a bootable USB stick with Windows CD.
C2D E6600@3Ghz(1.24V) | Asus P5B Deluxe | 4x1GB Kingston Valueram CL5 DDR2-667(1.95V)

Sapphire x1900GT 256MB | Eizo S2110W | 2xSeagate 320GB 7200.10 | Antec Neo He 550W EC
 
Vrock
Gerbil God
Posts: 21688
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:58 am

Shintai wrote:
What about a 512MB USB stick btw, that might work or if your BIOS supports bootable USB devices you can make a bootable USB stick with Windows CD.


I use a Hewlett-Packard program called Drive Key to make bootable sticks. I use them instead of floppies. He could use one to boot to a command prompt if he got hold of some bootdisk files.
I'm not altogether on anyone's side, because no one is altogether on my side.
 
tanker27
Gold subscriber
Lord High Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 8804
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:03 am

Hmm I will try all of this......

1st I will swap cdrom drives......Damn its such a good drive, I would hate if its bad. Its a Lite-on 16x DVD R/RW
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
 
Vrock
Gerbil God
Posts: 21688
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:11 am

tanker27 wrote:
Hmm I will try all of this......

1st I will swap cdrom drives......Damn its such a good drive, I would hate if its bad. Its a Lite-on 16x DVD R/RW


I had a Samsung DVD/CD-RW combo drive that I was trying to install Half Life 2 off the 5 CDs. Everytime it got to a specific file on disc 3, it would give me a read error and crap out. Swapping in a Pioneer drive did the trick.

If you are getting the same exact read errors at the same point in installation using multiple install CDs, I would bet that there's a problem with the optical drive. Maybe the IDE controller on the motherboard doesn't like it, maybe it's just a faulty drive....dunno.
I'm not altogether on anyone's side, because no one is altogether on my side.
 
tanker27
Gold subscriber
Lord High Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 8804
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:50 pm

Woot! Swaping CD drives worked. I went out an bought an LG 16X DVD R/RW with Lightscribe. I have always wanted one...Not that I might not ever use it.

Anyways Windows Media Center installed just fine and updated. Now to get software in and set for my HTPC.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
 
Vrock
Gerbil God
Posts: 21688
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:48 pm

Glad it worked.
I'm not altogether on anyone's side, because no one is altogether on my side.
 
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2937
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Tue Dec 26, 2006 8:35 pm

tanker27 wrote:
Woot! Swaping CD drives worked. I went out an bought an LG 16X DVD R/RW with Lightscribe. I have always wanted one...Not that I might not ever use it.

Anyways Windows Media Center installed just fine and updated. Now to get software in and set for my HTPC.


That is exactly why I keep a spare DVD-ROM in the closet.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest