Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Captain Ned

Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Topic Author

Reinstalled X-Fi-xtreme music in Windows 10

Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:41 am

I have been using X-fi Xtreme music card since past 8 years and i guess 2 years back i retired it because i was facing stability issues on windows 7. Well since then i have been using onboard (Realtek) audio without any complains. Although time again i felt the bass was not upto the mark and mid and high felt washed out, i thought may it was a placebo effect because i was habituated to creative's crystalizer sound effect. Anyway fast forward to last week, i order Philips SHL3300BK, got the delivery yesterday and tried to use to on my PC.

Sound was just not up-to the mark, i knew i needed headphones amp. Started looking for decent Amp on amazon but then i realized i have my Xfi-card lying around. Since there were stability issues, i thought may be cleaning the connecters might make it stable again. I cleaned the entire card with kerosene and Installed it in the system. System picked it up right away and i Installed the latest driver. Started the good old winamp, Boom the entire room went live with crystal clear sound. I have been living a lie thinking onboard sound is good enough. No its not, xfi just blows it away. Later i used the head phones and man am i glad that i purchased it. I am really very happy that i installed the card back and matched it with such good earphones. I thought i should share this experience with fellow Xfi owners, bring those cards back to life, they are far superior to your onboard chips.

PS: Zero system hangs since i installed it :D

ludi
Lord High Gerbil

Re: Reinstalled X-Fi-xtreme music in Windows 10

Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:23 pm

Headphone impedances can vary quite a bit, and some sets will handle a poor-quality output okay while others will just fall over. Sounds (ha!) like your set needed more current than what the onboard solution could deliver.