Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Captain Ned

 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Topic Author
Posts: 3747
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Can't Get HyperX Cloud Alpha Mic Working

Mon May 13, 2019 10:47 am

I'm confused/frustrated with my HyperX Cloud Alpha microphone not being usable in Windows 10. From the Googling I've done, there's seemingly nothing you need to do except plug in the chord and select the proper input port. I've tried doing this on both the front panel and rear panel ports (selecting appropriate input each time) and I get nothing. The only signs I've gotten is when I have the Windows audio settings open and looking at the bar graph of mic input, when I flip the inline mic mute switch on/off on the headphone cable, the bar graph shows a momentary blip, but when I talk/tap the mic after that, no response.

Am I doing something wrong? Is this defective and should be RMA'd?
My next step is to (obviously) contact customer support, but I figured I'd ping the gerbil collective first.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
morphine
TR Staff
Posts: 11566
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Can't Get HyperX Cloud Alpha Mic Working

Mon May 13, 2019 10:54 am

All the signs point to a busted mic on the headset. The fact that you can hear a blip when you flick the switch leads me to think that your input is okay. Do you have a laptop or another machine where you can double-check?
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Topic Author
Posts: 3747
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Can't Get HyperX Cloud Alpha Mic Working

Mon May 13, 2019 2:27 pm

Hmmm. That gives me an idea. To cut out a few points of failure, I wonder if I can plug the mic directly into the mic port on my computer (instead of into the headset). I'll have to do a visual check when I get home, but I can't imagine why they'd decide to make the plug from the mic to the headset anything except the standard 3.5mm mic plug....right?
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
qmacpoint
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:56 pm

Re: Can't Get HyperX Cloud Alpha Mic Working

Mon May 13, 2019 2:59 pm

Based on the picture, the Alpha uses a TRRS connector - You would need a Y splitter for audio/mic if you want to test them separately. Also, based on their marketing page (https://www.hyperxgaming.com/en/headset ... ng-headset) looks like the microphone is deatachable, so you could also test the microphone by connecting the mic directly to the mic port in the back of your desktop).

Also, based on the pictures on the site, the mic does look like 3.5mm, but wouldn't be surprised if it was 2.5mm - there are super dirt cheap adapters that you can buy at any hardware/electronic store to convert from 2.5mm to 3.5mm
 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Topic Author
Posts: 3747
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Can't Get HyperX Cloud Alpha Mic Working

Sat May 18, 2019 10:15 pm

The mic alone plugged straight into the headphone jack on my PC works. I guess it's time for an RMA.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
qmacpoint
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:56 pm

Re: Can't Get HyperX Cloud Alpha Mic Working

Sun May 19, 2019 8:31 am

DPete27 wrote:
The mic alone plugged straight into the headphone jack on my PC works. I guess it's time for an RMA.

oh shame :(
 
vonasi
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:37 pm

Re: Can't Get HyperX Cloud Alpha Mic Working

Thu Aug 08, 2019 9:30 am

Why there are so many problems with the mic of HyperX. I tried Cloud flight and ended up getting frustrated due to the mic.
 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Topic Author
Posts: 3747
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Can't Get HyperX Cloud Alpha Mic Working

Thu Aug 08, 2019 1:00 pm

For me the mic itself was fine, but something was awry inside the headphone cans where the mic connects to. Got the RMA replacement. Working fine now.

Lesson: Test your equipment right away when you buy it. For me, I didn't realize that my USB webcam was being used for audio in the absence of the headphone mic signal. This carried me far outside my regular "free" return window and I had to pay $13 shipping to get this day-one issue resolved.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests
GZIP: On