Personal computing discussed

Moderator: Captain Ned

 
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

X-Fi modes have undocumented features?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:11 pm

Before today, I was always using "Entertainment" for everything, but the Unigine benchmark refused to run because of a missing OpenAL extension AL_EXT_LINEAR_DISTANCE.

The fix I found is to switch to "Game" mode, and it really works. But I never even had an idea that those modes go as far as to change audio capabilities. Kinda like in video card world that would be "Game" mode works in DX11 and "Entertainment" in DX9 or something.

Does anyone know more technical details on what else those modes change? There must be a tradeoff if "Entertainment" drops as much as AL extensions.
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 16898
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: X-Fi modes have undocumented features?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:18 pm

Mine always stays in "game" so I had not noticed this phenomenon.
i7-6700K, NT06-Pro, GA-Z170N-Gaming5, 32 GiB, 980Ti, SM951, 5TB HDD, Blu-ray, FTZ01, SX600-G, 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
 
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: X-Fi modes have undocumented features?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:35 pm

JustAnEngineer wrote:
Mine always stays in "game" so I had not noticed this phenomenon.

I primary use my PC for audio and movies, so I avoided game mode somehow... Now I'll have to get used to mode switching :(
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
 
morphine
Silver subscriber
Gerbilus Supremus
Posts: 11155
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: X-Fi modes have undocumented features?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:47 pm

The whole idea of switching modes seems stupid to me... unless we're talking about speaker/EQ presets, it doesn't make much sense to me, as the audio hardware is already there.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
 
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: X-Fi modes have undocumented features?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 2:00 pm

morphine wrote:
The whole idea of switching modes seems stupid to me...

+1000000

But apparently you need to do that to get full EAX 5.0 level of sound processing via OpenAL extensions.

EDIT:
Here are the capabilities of X-Fi under different modes:
ALCapsViewer32/Entertainment:
--------------
OpenAL Devices
--------------
                   Name: SB X-Fi Audio [EC00]
          Sample Offset: No
  Linear Distance Model: No
Exponent Distance Model: No
                Capture: Yes
            Enumeration: Yes
                EAX 2.0: Yes
                EAX 3.0: Yes
                EAX 4.0: No
                EAX 5.0: No
                  X-RAM: Yes
          Enumerate All: Yes
                EFX 1.0: Yes

                   Name: Generic Software
          Sample Offset: Yes
  Linear Distance Model: Yes
Exponent Distance Model: Yes
                Capture: Yes
            Enumeration: Yes
                EAX 2.0: Yes
                EAX 3.0: No
                EAX 4.0: No
                EAX 5.0: No
                  X-RAM: No
          Enumerate All: Yes
                EFX 1.0: Yes


ALCapsViewer32/Game:
--------------
--------------
OpenAL Devices
--------------
                   Name: SB X-Fi Audio [EC00]
          Sample Offset: Yes
  Linear Distance Model: Yes
Exponent Distance Model: Yes
                Capture: Yes
            Enumeration: Yes
                EAX 2.0: Yes
                EAX 3.0: Yes
                EAX 4.0: Yes
                EAX 5.0: Yes
                  X-RAM: Yes
          Enumerate All: Yes
                EFX 1.0: Yes

                   Name: Generic Software
          Sample Offset: Yes
  Linear Distance Model: Yes
Exponent Distance Model: Yes
                Capture: Yes
            Enumeration: Yes
                EAX 2.0: Yes
                EAX 3.0: No
                EAX 4.0: No
                EAX 5.0: No
                  X-RAM: No
          Enumerate All: Yes
                EFX 1.0: Yes


ALCapsViewer64/Entertainment:
--------------
OpenAL Devices
--------------
                   Name: Generic Software
          Sample Offset: Yes
  Linear Distance Model: Yes
Exponent Distance Model: Yes
                Capture: Yes
            Enumeration: Yes
                EAX 2.0: Yes
                EAX 3.0: No
                EAX 4.0: No
                EAX 5.0: No
                  X-RAM: No
          Enumerate All: Yes
                EFX 1.0: Yes


ALCapsViewer64/Game:
--------------
OpenAL Devices
--------------
                   Name: Generic Software
          Sample Offset: Yes
  Linear Distance Model: Yes
Exponent Distance Model: Yes
                Capture: Yes
            Enumeration: Yes
                EAX 2.0: Yes
                EAX 3.0: No
                EAX 4.0: No
                EAX 5.0: No
                  X-RAM: No
          Enumerate All: Yes
                EFX 1.0: Yes


Appearently there is no X-Fi device in 64 bit mode...
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
 
glacius555
Gerbil XP
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: X-Fi modes have undocumented features?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 2:22 pm

Madman wrote:
morphine wrote:
The whole idea of switching modes seems stupid to me...

+1000000

But apparently you need to do that to get full EAX 5.0 level of sound processing via OpenAL extensions.

And not only that, as far as I know, ASIO is fully active only in Audio Creation Mode

Here is a summary:

Image
Fractal Design Arc Midi|Antec EA-650|Asus P7P55D Premium|Core i5-750|Gigabyte HD6950 unlocked|X-Fi XtremeMusic|24" Iiyama ProLite B2403WS|Logitech Z-5500|Logitech G11|Logitech G9x
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 22563
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: X-Fi modes have undocumented features?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:00 pm

I'd never heard of 3DMIDI so I had to look it up. Now I can feel like I'm standing in the middle of a marching band as the instruments go all around me. :lol:
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests