Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Captain Ned

InfiniteBiscuits
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author

Thoughts on this $400 music audio upgrade?

Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:29 pm

Hi all,

I’m a complete newbie to audio and I’m building the Utility Player from TR’s back to school guide posted last month. I’d like to upgrade the audio and with the research that I have done I was thinking of getting the Audioengine 2 speakers and an Asus Xonar Essence STX. This is my first substantial purchase on audio equipment and I would really like to hear your thoughts on this or what might be the best music setup for $400 or if I should go with digital audio or anything else I should take into consideration. Thanks

Additional info:

Looking for music quality (clarity of vocals, range of music), not gaming audio.
The room is a home office, about 10ft by 15ft, listening to music on my telework days. The office is a little awkward to set up with 5.1, so I am looking for a 2.1 or 2 shelf speaker system, but if you think 5.1 would make a huge difference, let me know.
I listen to Pandora and mp3s.
I know nothing about home audio or how room setup affects music quality.

Thanks for your input.

Waco
Maximum Gerbil

Re: Thoughts on this $400 music audio upgrade?

Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:34 pm

Personally I'd say screw the sound card and get the A5s instead. :)
Victory requires no explanation. Defeat allows none.

ludi
Lord High Gerbil

Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:38 pm

For the money, you can get more frequency range at a lower price by picking up the Klipsche ProMedia 2.1s from Best Buy. You can order them from the BB website, or they're usually stocked in the B&M shop near the other computer speaker systems. The current version of the product has a slightly lower build quality than the classic version from 10+ years ago but the audio performance remains excellent.