Personal computing discussed

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

 
End User
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2454
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Upper Canada

4K @ 60Hz KVM Switch / 144hz @2560x1440

Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:34 pm

https://store.level1techs.com/products/ ... itor-model

Unfortunately it only supports up to USB 3.1 Gen 1 :P

Features:

Full DisplayPort switching capabilities:

Up to 3840x2160@60hz
Lower resolutions + Higher framerates possible e.g. 144hz @ 1440p work just fine because of full DP 1.2a compatibility.
Intelligent EDID Engine
HDCP Passthrough Supported (maintains HDCP signal integrity)
Intelligent USB HID passthrough (includes work-arounds for known problematic devices)


Rear Inputs:

4x 3.5mm Audio
4x DisplayPort 1.2
4x USB 3 (5gps)


Rear Outputs:

1x Displayport 1.2a connection
3x USB 2.0 Ports
1x USB 3 (5gbps) port
1x analog 3.5mm audio


Front:

1-2-3-4 Pushbuttons for switching Inputs
1x USB 2.0 HID port
2x USB 3.0 (5gbps) ports (up to 1A current)


Keyboard commands supported:

Double-tap numlock to do a soft-reset on the USB hub (some USB peripherals do not like to be connected to a KVM!)
Double-tap scroll lock followed by 1-4 to switch between inputs without using the buttons on the front of the KVM. Total keyboard control! That means you could mount the KVM behind the monitor, inside the desk, etc and still be able to switch inputs.


The built-in USB hub means that you only need a single USB3 connection to each PC.
Threadripper 1950X build parts have arrived - i'm procrastinating on the build :(
 
the
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 2:26 am

Re: 4K @ 60Hz KVM Switch / 144hz @2560x1440

Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:04 am

I wonder if it will support MST hubs on the output side. I'd be a slick way to run several PCs with multiple monitors behind a single KVM.
Dual Opteron 6376, 96 GB DDR3, Asus KGPE-D16, GTX 970
Mac Pro Dual Xeon E5645, 48 GB DDR3, GTX 770
Core i7 3930K@4.2 Ghz, 32 GB DDR3, GA-X79-UP5-Wifi
Core i7 2600K@4.4 Ghz, 16 GB DDR3, GTX 970, GA-X68XP-UD4
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 49745
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: 4K @ 60Hz KVM Switch / 144hz @2560x1440

Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:53 pm

Nice to see that stuff like this is becoming available at not-too-ridiculous prices. Problem is, I still need DVI/HDMI switching for a couple of older systems. But there's hope that I'll be able to use a 4K monitor thru a KVM in the not-too-distant future!
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
NovusBogus
Silver subscriber
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1194
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:37 am

Re: 4K @ 60Hz KVM Switch / 144hz @2560x1440

Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:06 pm

I might have to look into this, I've been needing a decent KVM switch. I don't care about 4K but I'm skittish about regular KVMs since, as their product site alludes to, most of them were only intended to be used in an ad hoc server room with a 1024x768 monitor and circa 1995 peripherals.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 49745
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: 4K @ 60Hz KVM Switch / 144hz @2560x1440

Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:29 am

NovusBogus wrote:
I might have to look into this, I've been needing a decent KVM switch. I don't care about 4K but I'm skittish about regular KVMs since, as their product site alludes to, most of them were only intended to be used in an ad hoc server room with a 1024x768 monitor and circa 1995 peripherals.

The site is engaging in a bit of hyperbole. If you're OK with a max resolution of 1920x1200@60Hz, decent (and very affordable) KVMs have been available for a number of years. I have an IOGear 4-port switch (GCS1104) that handles single-link DVI, USB peripherals, and audio just fine. The only issue I've ever had with it is that very occasionally (every couple months or so) the keyboard gets into a funny state, requiring me to reset the keyboard (unplug and plug the keyboard's USB cable from the switch).

This is the one I own: https://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-4-Port-Sw ... 002RCTNKW/
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
llisandro
Gold subscriber
Gerbil
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:30 pm

Re: 4K @ 60Hz KVM Switch / 144hz @2560x1440

Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:25 am

whoo boy! for these prices, I've been considering a $40 USB switch, and a $350 stick to hit the input button on my monitor :lol:

Seriously though, I'd rather just see manufacturers integrating KVM functionality into their high-end monitors that already have hubs- shouldn't that be a way cheaper way to go? Seems like a small amount of work to just add in that extra bit of functionality to a multi-input monitor that has a USB hub.
 
NovusBogus
Silver subscriber
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1194
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:37 am

Re: 4K @ 60Hz KVM Switch / 144hz @2560x1440

Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:12 pm

just brew it! wrote:
NovusBogus wrote:
I might have to look into this, I've been needing a decent KVM switch. I don't care about 4K but I'm skittish about regular KVMs since, as their product site alludes to, most of them were only intended to be used in an ad hoc server room with a 1024x768 monitor and circa 1995 peripherals.

The site is engaging in a bit of hyperbole. If you're OK with a max resolution of 1920x1200@60Hz, decent (and very affordable) KVMs have been available for a number of years. I have an IOGear 4-port switch (GCS1104) that handles single-link DVI, USB peripherals, and audio just fine. The only issue I've ever had with it is that very occasionally (every couple months or so) the keyboard gets into a funny state, requiring me to reset the keyboard (unplug and plug the keyboard's USB cable from the switch).

This is the one I own: https://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-4-Port-Sw ... 002RCTNKW/

1920x1200 DVI is actually what I use, so that'd be even more ideal. Have you noticed any issues with input lag?
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 49745
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: 4K @ 60Hz KVM Switch / 144hz @2560x1440

Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:11 am

NovusBogus wrote:
just brew it! wrote:

1920x1200 DVI is actually what I use, so that'd be even more ideal. Have you noticed any issues with input lag?

No I have not, but I don't game these days so there might be some and I am just not noticing it. (Planning on getting back into a bit of gaming, but haven't yet.)

It does co-opt the Scroll Lock key (double-tap to activate hotkey port switching), so if you rely on the Scroll Lock key for anything this could be problematic. You could always plug the keyboard into one of the regular USB ports on the switch instead, and use the KVM's front panel buttons to switch ports. Come to think of it, that would probably address keyboard lag issues (if any) as well, since it would bypass the KVM's internal keyboard logic.

IIRC I disabled mouse emulation because it didn't play nice with certain wireless mice. Shouldn't be an issue, as mouse emulation should only be needed for OSes that get confused if they don't see a mouse connected on boot-up (pretty sure all modern OSes handle this in a sane manner).
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], johnnylycle and 5 guests