Personal computing discussed

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

 
dan99t
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:19 am

Please help a choosing Processor

Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:21 pm

Hi,
I am using a Dell T-7500 Workstation for day trading stocks, futures & forex..

My current workstation which is 7 years old has processor Xeon E 5645 @ 2.4 GHz, 12 GB RAM, 3 ATI 2460 low profile Cards driving 12 monitors.

I am configuring new workstation with 16 GB RAM, 3 NVIDIA P600 2 GB Cards each driving 4 Monitors for a total of 12, 1920p Monitors, Win-7 (Ultimate).

Can you please tell me which of the following 2 processors will be better ?
And what matters most, speed, no of cores & HT ?

(1) Intel Xeon W-2123 3.6GHz, 3.9GHz Turbo, 4C, 8.25M Cache, HT, (120W) DDR4-2666

(2) Intel Xeon Silver 4110 2.1GHz, 3.0GHz Turbo, 8C, 9.6GT/s 2UPI, 11M Cache, HT (85W) DDR4-2400

Also can you please suggest which CPU meter software will give me an idea of measuring current processor that I have ?

Thank You
 
whm1974
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5761
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:29 am

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:53 pm

Have you considered getting the Ryzen 7-1800X instead? Or maybe even Threadripper 8c/16t?
 
thecoldanddarkone
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2386
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 4:35 pm

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:23 am

dan99t wrote:
Hi,
I am using a Dell T-7500 Workstation for day trading stocks, futures & forex..

My current workstation which is 7 years old has processor Xeon E 5645 @ 2.4 GHz, 12 GB RAM, 3 ATI 2460 low profile Cards driving 12 monitors.

I am configuring new workstation with 16 GB RAM, 3 NVIDIA P600 2 GB Cards each driving 4 Monitors for a total of 12, 1920p Monitors, Win-7 (Ultimate).

Can you please tell me which of the following 2 processors will be better ?
And what matters most, speed, no of cores & HT ?

(1) Intel Xeon W-2123 3.6GHz, 3.9GHz Turbo, 4C, 8.25M Cache, HT, (120W) DDR4-2666

(2) Intel Xeon Silver 4110 2.1GHz, 3.0GHz Turbo, 8C, 9.6GT/s 2UPI, 11M Cache, HT (85W) DDR4-2400

Also can you please suggest which CPU meter software will give me an idea of measuring current processor that I have ?

Thank You


The xeon Silver and Xeon W are entirely different platforms. Which models are you looking at? I would probably look closer to the w-2133. The Xeon Silver platform seems a bit over the top if your going with that processor model. (FCLGA3647 platform)
I7 4930k, 32 GB Ballistix DDRL3@2133 , 1.2 TB Intel 750 AIC, 500 GB mx200, Sapphire R9 Fury, asus x79 ws, HP ZR24w, edifier s730
HP Pro x2 612- i5-4302Y, 8 gigs of memory, 256 ssd
 
whm1974
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5761
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:29 am

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 1:01 am

Something like this as a base? Although for myself would be giving the 12c/24t ThreadRipper a closer look...
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/cv9WZR
 
Pancake
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:04 am

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:23 am

dan99t wrote:
Hi,
I am using a Dell T-7500 Workstation for day trading stocks, futures & forex..

My current workstation which is 7 years old has processor Xeon E 5645 @ 2.4 GHz, 12 GB RAM, 3 ATI 2460 low profile Cards driving 12 monitors.


What software are you running? It doesn't seem to me displaying a bunch of text or graphs needs much in the way of a CPU. Is your current workstation too slow or are you just wanting to replace it due to age? Have a look at the CPU meter in Task Manager. If it's mostly just doing nothing there's your answer right there. You will derive most intimate pleasure from the fastest single thread performance.
 
dan99t
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:19 am

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:56 am

The application I run is called eSignal & it constantly updates the chart almost every millisecond as price fluctuate and there are 12 different charts on 12 monitors. Also each chart has over 50 oscillators ( Studies or indicators ). They also change as the price fluctuates. I don't play any games so I am not able to give you names of any games which probably will give you a better idea of kind of processor needed.
I also don't have a choice of Ryzen because I am buying a Dell workstation & they have limited choice of only Intel processor. I chose two models of Dell workstations namely Dell 5820 & Dell 7820 workstations. 5820 offers W series & 7820 offers Gold, Silver & bronze series. So I listed the two processors that would be close to my price range.
Being everything else same in two rigs, 7820 with silver costs me extra $600.
Hope this helps to answer my question better.
 
K-L-Waster
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:50 am

I think PanCake's idea of checking the CPU usage when you have the system running under the highest load you normally run is still a good idea. If the CPU usage isn't maxed out, you may not need a Xeon class system. Xeons are useful when you have a very large number of threads running, but may be unnecessary. I have no familiarity with eSignal so have no idea how CPU intensive it is -- however, updating charts from a data feed isn't necessarily that big a load, so you may be surprised.

Since you're going with Dell, you may want to look at their XPS line and get something with a Core i7 or i9 rather than a Xeon. (You could also see if they have added RyZen chips to that line yet -- if so, the R7 1700X or 1800X would also be good choices.)
Main System: i7-8700K, ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E, 16 GB DDR4 3200 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 TI, 1 TB CRUCIAL MX500, Corsair 550D

HTPC: I5-4460, ASUS H97M-E, 8 GB RAM, GTX 970, CRUCIAL 256GB MX100, SILVERSTONE GD09B
 
Yan
Silver subscriber
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:50 am

The program's vendor has several products, and for the most expensive, it says:

System Requirements -- Power User

Windows 8, Windows 7 (64-bit)
Intel® Core™ i7 (3.2 GHz or faster)
8 GB RAM
250 MB available hard disk space
DSL or cable modem (8 Mbps or faster)

So the user's proposed system is gross overkill, unless the vendor doesn't know what he's talking about.
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2318
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:39 pm

Yan wrote:
The program's vendor has several products, and for the most expensive, it says:

System Requirements -- Power User

Windows 8, Windows 7 (64-bit)
Intel® Core™ i7 (3.2 GHz or faster)
8 GB RAM
250 MB available hard disk space
DSL or cable modem (8 Mbps or faster)

So the user's proposed system is gross overkill, unless the vendor doesn't know what he's talking about.

No mention of core count in the specs, light on RAM, light on disk space...I'd bet it would run just fine on a potato assuming said potato has hardware accelerated window rendering. :P
Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon | 6700K @ 4.4 | 16 GB | GTX Titan Xm | Seasonix Gold 850 | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 | D5 + RP-452X2 | Cosmos II | Samsung 4K 40" | 2048 + 240 + LSI 9207-8i (128x8) SSDs
 
Yan
Silver subscriber
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:53 pm

Well, an i7 has at least two cores. ;-) But I agree that the vendor is probably full of crap, if only because he requires only 250 MB of disk space.
 
K-L-Waster
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 1:39 pm

dan99t wrote:

Also can you please suggest which CPU meter software will give me an idea of measuring current processor that I have ?


As a quick & dirty option, use Windows Task Manager > Performance. Use Ctrl+Shift+Esc to open Task Manager, turn on "more details" if necessary, then go to the Performance tab. You can see how active your system is in real time using this -- it's by no means the most advanced system monitoring tool, but it has the advantage of already being on your system and free to use.
Main System: i7-8700K, ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E, 16 GB DDR4 3200 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 TI, 1 TB CRUCIAL MX500, Corsair 550D

HTPC: I5-4460, ASUS H97M-E, 8 GB RAM, GTX 970, CRUCIAL 256GB MX100, SILVERSTONE GD09B
 
Captain Ned
Gold subscriber
Global Moderator
Posts: 27058
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Thu Feb 22, 2018 1:59 pm

K-L-Waster wrote:
As a quick & dirty option, use Windows Task Manager > Performance. Use Ctrl+Shift+Esc to open Task Manager, turn on "more details" if necessary, then go to the Performance tab. You can see how active your system is in real time using this -- it's by no means the most advanced system monitoring tool, but it has the advantage of already being on your system and free to use.

And Process Explorer, especially when run as admin, will give you very fine-grained detail and is free to boot.
Humans sleep soundly in their beds because rough cats stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm.
 
dan99t
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:19 am

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:15 am

First the main reason for a workstation is that it offers the 3 PCIe slots I need to run 3 cards & 12 Monitors. Then all Dell workstations offer only Xeon.

Currently I am using outdated & out of warranty Dell T-7500 workstation which is ok but now is a headache because part after part are failing. Used it for 5 years with no problem but now out of warranty & beginning of unreliability.

eSignal application specs mentioned are just to get started with no data or charts. All the data loads from their servers as you open charts. I open anywhere from 12 to 20 charts & each has 40 to 50 indicators ( Also called studies & Oscillators etc ) which demands lots of system resources when data comes in real time on 200 or more stocks every millisecond.

Hope that gives you an idea as to what I am looking for.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 51036
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:39 am

Between the two you listed, it is really going to depend on whether the software is good at utilizing all cores on the CPU. What is the CPU usage on your current system, and how is it distributed across the cores? I.e., is the load pretty evenly spread out, or do some cores seem busier than others? And if the software isn't stressing the current CPU, then the choice of CPU probably doesn't matter much.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
dan99t
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:19 am

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:20 am

just brew it! wrote:
Between the two you listed, it is really going to depend on whether the software is good at utilizing all cores on the CPU. What is the CPU usage on your current system, and how is it distributed across the cores? I.e., is the load pretty evenly spread out, or do some cores seem busier than others? And if the software isn't stressing the current CPU, then the choice of CPU probably doesn't matter much.


Doing the testing but something seems odd.
CPU seems maxed with or without the software.
Only thing else open are some webpages.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 51036
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:35 am

You need to look at the list in Task Manager and/or Process Explorer to figure out what is using the CPU. Could be something completely innocuous, or you may be infected with some sort of malware (e.g. crypto-currency miner). Something like that could even be over-stressing the system and causing the higher rate of hardware failures you've been seeing.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2318
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:38 am

dan99t wrote:
I open anywhere from 12 to 20 charts & each has 40 to 50 indicators ( Also called studies & Oscillators etc ) which demands lots of system resources when data comes in real time on 200 or more stocks every millisecond.

That doesn't seem particularly difficult to display. Grab an example load of your system via Task Manager or Process Explorer while you have all of this running - I'd be willing to bet you can build just about anything and be in great shape.
Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon | 6700K @ 4.4 | 16 GB | GTX Titan Xm | Seasonix Gold 850 | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 | D5 + RP-452X2 | Cosmos II | Samsung 4K 40" | 2048 + 240 + LSI 9207-8i (128x8) SSDs
 
Yan
Silver subscriber
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:24 pm

dan99t wrote:
eSignal application specs mentioned are just to get started with no data or charts. All the data loads from their servers as you open charts

So the vendor's specifications aren't valid if you actually want to use the program? Okay.

(Not relevant to your problem, but I'd tell this kind of vendor to take a hike.)
 
MileageMayVary
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:18 am
Location: Baltimore

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:40 pm

dan99t wrote:
Doing the testing but something seems odd.
CPU seems maxed with or without the software.
Only thing else open are some webpages.


What processes are chewing up the CPU time?
Main rig: Ryzen 1600@3.75GHz, R9 290@1050MHz, 16GB@2933MHz, 1080-1440-1080 Ultrasharps.
 
DPete27
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:53 pm

I'm out of my league here, but I'm looking at some simple math (ignoring architectural improvements over the years):
Current E5645 = 12 threads * 2.67GHz = 32(units) for $525 MSRP
2123 = 8 threads * 3.9GHz = 31.2(units) for $300 MSRP
4110 = 16 threads * 3GHz = 48(units) for $500 MSRP

Now, take into consideration that the 2123 SHOULD have a higher IPC than the E5645 and I'd imagine that the 2123 would still be an upgrade over existing (which is assumedly handling the workload fine). I'm not sure how the 4110 machine costs "about the same" as the 2123 machine though....if that's the case, I think the decision is a no-brainer if the software is multi-threaded enough to keep max cores busy (which ought to be easy to test on the current machine's 12 threads)
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
Pancake
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:04 am

Re: Please help a choosing Processor

Fri Feb 23, 2018 4:25 pm

dan99t wrote:
First the main reason for a workstation is that it offers the 3 PCIe slots I need to run 3 cards & 12 Monitors. Then all Dell workstations offer only Xeon.

Currently I am using outdated & out of warranty Dell T-7500 workstation which is ok but now is a headache because part after part are failing. Used it for 5 years with no problem but now out of warranty & beginning of unreliability.

eSignal application specs mentioned are just to get started with no data or charts. All the data loads from their servers as you open charts. I open anywhere from 12 to 20 charts & each has 40 to 50 indicators ( Also called studies & Oscillators etc ) which demands lots of system resources when data comes in real time on 200 or more stocks every millisecond.

Hope that gives you an idea as to what I am looking for.


Have you considered getting 3 new 4K displays? That's as many pixels as 12 old HD monitors.

Also, no, that's not how specs work.

Sorry, despite what you might think, unless something is very wrong with the coding your class of application falls into "pocket calculator stuff" and can easily be processed by anything. You admit it yourself as other than failing parts your current system is performing adequately and it is pretty slow by modern standards.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest