Page 1 of 1

How to replace HDD with an SSD

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 6:22 am
by dan99t
Hi,

I have been using 3.5 inch 500 GB HDDs & have never used an SSD.

I clone my 500 GB HDD every night using Acronis software so I have a spare HDD in case something goes wrong.

Now I want to buy Western Digital Blue 500 GB SSD.

My question is would I be able to clone it just like regular HDD ? Meaning I will have to make this new SSD as a slave drive & clone it from my HDD so I will have a new bootable SDD with OS & data from old HDD ?

Thank You

Re: How to replace HDD with an SSD

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 6:47 am
by Captain Ned
Just plug it into SATA and power and use Acronis to clone your HDD to it, then swap out the HDD for the SSD. Easy peasy.

Re: How to replace HDD with an SSD

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 8:04 am
by meerkt
BTW, I wouldn't get the newish WD Blue SSD. They've recently replaced the model (it's now SA510) and the full specs and performance are unknown, with no real reviews.

Seems safer to go with known-specced and reviewed models.
Either the Crucial MX500 (cheaper, 180 vs 200 TBW in the WD Blue), or Samsung 870 EVO (more expensive, 300 TBW).

Re: How to replace HDD with an SSD

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 9:48 am
by dan99t
All my HDDs are "MBR"
Should I choose "MBR" for SSD too or "GPT" ?

Re: How to replace HDD with an SSD

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 10:20 am
by Captain Ned
That'll be driven by your motherboard. If it doesn't do GPT, then MBR it is.

Re: How to replace HDD with an SSD

Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2022 4:21 am
by dan99t
Captain Ned wrote:
That'll be driven by your motherboard. If it doesn't do GPT, then MBR it is.


My motherboard does both.
All my 500GB SATA HDDs are "MBR"
Other 3 TBs are GPT.
I was under the impression that if HDD is smaller than 3 TB you have to go for MBR OR for 3 TB & Larger you have to do GPT.
Please advice.

Re: How to replace HDD with an SSD

Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2022 6:22 am
by meerkt
You can use either.
GPT is newer and is mainly needed for large sizes, and possibly (not sure, in some cases?) if it's a boot drive and you're booting in UEFI mode.

I tend to use MBR as long as GPT isn't required.