Personal computing discussed

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

 
Omniman
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Resolution Issue

Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:03 pm

I went to fire up my computer after it fell asleep only to realize my resolution is now at 800 x 600. Windows only allows me to bring it up to 1280 x 768. I went into the Nvidia control panel to force it to go to 1920 x 1080 but it didn't really do anything besides make the screen flash black for a split second. Any idea what could be causing this issue all of a sudden? I'm hoping the video card isn't randomly dying :(
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
 
JdL
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1021
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2002 11:45 am
Location: United States of America

Re: Resolution Issue

Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:14 pm

Did you reboot?
JdL
286DX > Pentium Pro 200 > Athlon 1000 @ 1.4 GHz > Athlon 64 2.2 GHz > Athlon XP 3200+ > Core 2 Duo 3300 @ 4.0 GHz > Core 2 Quad 6600 G0 @ 3.2 > Core i7 3770 @ stock
 
Omniman
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: Resolution Issue

Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:17 pm

Yeah, I've tried a few times now. Even shut it completely down unplugged it and drained the power out of it. I went ahead and updated the cards firmware to the latest version and still nothing :(
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
 
Omniman
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: Resolution Issue

Sun Jan 01, 2012 4:07 pm

So, I opened a few games and they run at the proper resolution...Something else is preventing the computer from having the proper resolution on the desktop :(
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
 
yogibbear
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 880
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Resolution Issue

Sun Jan 01, 2012 4:32 pm

Have you tried right click -> properties -> display settings -> advanced settings -> monitor

And either unchecking hide resolution that can't be displayed or updated drivers or select the right monitor from the drop down.
Core i7 4770K | eVGA GTX1080 FTW ACX 3.0 | 16GB DDR3 2133mhz | Asus Z87-PLUS | Corsair HX650 | Fractal Define R4 | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB | Windows 10 x64
 
Ethyriel
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ

Re: Resolution Issue

Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:14 pm

Fully uninstall the corrupted driver, and reinstall from a fresh download. I suppose it's possible your card is going out, you know, if you want an excuse.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 44262
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Resolution Issue

Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:39 pm

Check both ends of the video cable to make sure it isn't loose. Try a different video cable if you have one. If that doesn't work, unplug the monitor's power cord for a minute or two, plug it back in and see if that helps.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)
Contact:

Re: Resolution Issue

Sun Jan 01, 2012 9:41 pm

Sounds like sleep restore failure.

At work my buddies dell 21" wide screen does that every once in a while.

Shut the machine down.
Turn the monitor off and unplug it for 5 mins or so.

Turn the monitor back on first.
then boot up your machine.

If that allows you to get back to the native reslution you're golden.
If not then as Ethyriel says, it might be a corrupted driver.
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.

Main machine: Core I7 -2600K @ 4.5Ghz / 16 gig ram / Radeon 7870 / 240 gb Corsair ssd / 5tb hd
Old machine: Core 2 quad Q6600 @ 3ghz / 8 gig ram / Radeon 6870 / 240 gb PNY ssd / 1tb HD
 
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3692
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Resolution Issue

Sun Jan 01, 2012 10:00 pm

I had a monitor do this once back in the CRT days. Something must have zapped the little piece of ROM that contained its EDID information when I was switching it between a few computers I was working on, and it never did the correct resolution again on any computer after that.

Got a friend with a different monitor you can try, or try your monitor on his system?
Hakkaa päälle!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|SanDisk Ultra II 480GB|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45|Logitech MX 518 & F310|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Xde4hewst and 1 guest