Personal computing discussed

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

 
djf711
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:08 am

ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:20 pm

I just bought a pair of Audioengine A5+ speakers. I want to run both of my PC's into the this pair of speakers. With the ability to switch from one to the other. It would be nice if I had a headphone input on this "switch" . One PC I have ASUS Essence STX Card on the other ASUS Xonar DG. What would be a good set up to accomplish this??? If I am on the wrong board Sorry!! Plus on the ASUS STX Card is a front Case panel outlet is there a plug to combine all those small wire to just plug into card. Thanks in Advance!! David
 
superjawes
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:49 am

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:36 pm

This should be what you're looking for.

The alternative is a DIY project like this.

Basically for the DIY version, you need three jacks, a DPDT switch, some wire, and anything else you want to make it "fancy" in terms of housing. You could make it work without any housing, too, although that could get a little cluttered, and you would be at risk of damaging your switch.
On second thought, let's not go to TechReport. Tis a silly place.
 
cynan
Gold subscriber
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1005
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 2:30 pm

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:52 pm

If you are just feeding analog audio from the computers then a basic switcher such as this should suffice.

If you want volume control at the switch, what you need is is a preamp.

If you are feeding digital inputs, then you need a DAC and preamp combo.
 
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1093
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:11 pm

Use a Y cable and call it done?
 
LukeCWM
Gerbil
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:49 pm

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:25 pm

cynan wrote:
If you are just feeding analog audio from the computers then a basic switcher such as this should suffice.

If you want volume control at the switch, what you need is is a preamp.

If you are feeding digital inputs, then you need a DAC and preamp combo.


Cynan is right on the money.
 
fuzzhead
Gold subscriber
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:02 am
Location: Florida

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:42 pm

http://electronicsusa.com/mk1and2.html

Notice the ground loop info.

Fuzzhead
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 48204
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Fri Sep 06, 2013 7:29 pm

Scrotos wrote:
Use a Y cable and call it done?

Or plug the Line Out of one computer into the Line In of the other.
If the world isn't making sense to you, you're either drinking too much or not drinking enough.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests