Personal computing discussed

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

 
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 935
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)
Contact:

I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Thu May 29, 2014 5:33 pm

WOOHOO!!!
EVIL LAUGHTER!!!

Ahem...

My q6600 runing at 3.3ghz just got its last upgrade after the 7870 I just put in.

That's it for this machine till I rebuild from the ground up...
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.

Main machine: Core I7 -2600K @ 4.5Ghz / 16 gig ram / Radeon 7870 / 240 gb Corsair ssd / 5tb hd
Old machine: Core 2 quad Q6600 @ 3ghz / 8 gig ram / Radeon 6870 / 240 gb PNY ssd / 1tb HD
 
Khali
Gerbil XP
Posts: 390
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Thu May 29, 2014 5:35 pm

Congrats! You will like the fast boot up times you get now. :lol:
 
SoM
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Thu May 29, 2014 6:07 pm

which SSD did ya get?

i was gonna get the M500 or Samsung few months ago, but decided to wait it out and prices are still falling.

now my keyboard is getting few keys stuck, sux for QuakeLive, don't want to remap my setup :p
InWin 303 - Asus z170a - G.Skill 32GB 2400 - i7-6700k - H60 - EVGA GTX 1070 FTW - EVGA Supernova G2 750w - M.2 950 Pro 256GB - Audioengine A5+ - Sennheiser HD 280pro - Win 10
 
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 935
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)
Contact:

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Thu May 29, 2014 6:22 pm

I got that 240gb PNY for $89 after rebate.

Since this is a socket 775 there's no point getting anything faster.

I'm also reinstalling windows since I installed as soon as win7 came out so it has lots of cruft.
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.

Main machine: Core I7 -2600K @ 4.5Ghz / 16 gig ram / Radeon 7870 / 240 gb Corsair ssd / 5tb hd
Old machine: Core 2 quad Q6600 @ 3ghz / 8 gig ram / Radeon 6870 / 240 gb PNY ssd / 1tb HD
 
UnfriendlyFire
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 7:28 am

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Thu May 29, 2014 6:58 pm

Just went back from a SSD to a HDD.

It is painful. Restarts, anti-virus scans, software installations and etc take forever. And the occasional hang-ups that I previously forgot after using the laptop with the SSD.

The laptop that has the SSD doesn't have the CPU and GPU computing power (Sandybridge i3 1.3 GHz, IGP only) to handle games, and the other laptop that does have the hardware doesn't have the SSD.

But I'm not willing to install a new SSD in the gaming laptop because I plan on getting a new one sometime next month.
Last edited by UnfriendlyFire on Thu May 29, 2014 8:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 47315
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Thu May 29, 2014 7:14 pm

Congrats on the upgrade!

My experience with SSDs on Linux is that they don't speed up boot times much. I think recent distros have optimized the boot process to the point where there's a lot less disk thrashing going on, which reduces the potential gains from going to an SSD boot drive.

What SSDs *do* help with tremendously on Linux is system responsiveness when something disk intensive (especially anything that is writing a lot of data, like copying a bunch of large files) is occurring. Without a SSD, intensive disk activity can sometimes cause the desktop to become laggy and unresponsive nearly to the point of being unusable. With an SSD this does not happen.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 23228
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: Comin' to you directly from the Mothership

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Thu May 29, 2014 7:37 pm

You will totally love it. It's life-changing, as far as computer upgrades go, and that's not really an exaggeration. Between that and UEFI fast boot, a system that boots in about 8-10 seconds is fast enough that I shut it down at night, and my power bills have gone down. :lol:
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.
I control the groove
 
notfred
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4286
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Fri May 30, 2014 7:49 am

just brew it! wrote:
like copying a bunch of large files) is occurring. Without a SSD, intensive disk activity can sometimes cause the desktop to become laggy and unresponsive nearly to the point of being unusable. With an SSD this does not happen.
I've found that if I ionice the large copy then the system remains remarkably responsive even though the HDD light is on solid.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 47315
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Fri May 30, 2014 8:52 am

notfred wrote:
just brew it! wrote:
like copying a bunch of large files) is occurring. Without a SSD, intensive disk activity can sometimes cause the desktop to become laggy and unresponsive nearly to the point of being unusable. With an SSD this does not happen.

I've found that if I ionice the large copy then the system remains remarkably responsive even though the HDD light is on solid.

Hmm... the documentation implies that ionice requires the CFQ I/O scheduler. Ubuntu uses the deadline scheduler by default, so I assume it would have no effect unless I force use of the CFQ scheduler? (I do know how to configure the I/O scheduler, so that's not a big deal.)

More problematic is that it also sounds like ionice does not work with MD (software RAID) arrays. I typically use software RAID-1 for mechanical HDDs, so ionice may be a non-starter...
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 935
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)
Contact:

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Fri May 30, 2014 9:29 am

So far got the ssd popped in as the new c drive and the two old drives left alone so I can copy stuff around.

Win7 64 bit is installed along with sp1 and 170+ updates. Boot time is about 1/4 what it was in fact I turned off putting in a password since that seems to double the perceived boot time. :D

I hate having to set everything back up again but it was time to do it any way.
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.

Main machine: Core I7 -2600K @ 4.5Ghz / 16 gig ram / Radeon 7870 / 240 gb Corsair ssd / 5tb hd
Old machine: Core 2 quad Q6600 @ 3ghz / 8 gig ram / Radeon 6870 / 240 gb PNY ssd / 1tb HD
 
homerdog
Silver subscriber
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:34 am
Contact:

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Fri May 30, 2014 9:39 am

So you're getting the benefits of both the SSD and a clean Win7 install.

After a couple days using that, if you ever use a PC without an SSD you'll think it's broken :P
Antec 300Two + i7-3770K + Gigabyte Z77-D3H + 16GB 1866MHz + GTX970 + SeaSonic S12II 520W + 180GB Intel 330 + 240GB Intel 530
CM Elite 120 + i5-3550 + Gigabyte H77N-WIFI + 16GB 1600MHz + HD7950 + SilverStone ST45SF 450W + 250GB Crucial MX100
 
Kougar
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1671
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:12 am
Location: Texas

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Fri May 30, 2014 10:31 am

Congrats on the upgrade! But now you'll never be able to go back to a regular HDD based system again... :lol:
 
The Egg
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2042
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: I HAVE AN SSD!!!

Fri May 30, 2014 10:37 am

I shall run outside and sound the air horn in your honor.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], JoannePop and 2 guests