Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, morphine, SecretSquirrel

 
dan99t
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:19 am

One monitor out of 8 has a different Resolution

Tue Aug 09, 2022 5:17 am

Hello,

I got a brand new Dell Workstation 3660 with following specs.

i-7 12700
2 x NVIDIA T-600 Cards each runs 4 Monitors, so total 8 Monitors
Win-11 Pro
Three M.2 NVMe 512GB where Win-11 is on one of them
Three 4TB SATA 5400 rpm HDD
Eight 24 inch Monitors ( 1920 x 1200 ) Resolution

The strange thing is that one graphics card is installed on a Full length X16 PCIe slot but the second graphics card is installed on an X4 PCIe slot. ( Motherboard has One full length X16 slot & TWO X4 slots. What Dell did is that they installed the second card on an X4 slot with one end open )

Now the problem I have is that one monitor out of 4 on an X4 slot has a different resolution than rest of the 7 monitors.

So the question is :
(1) Is it a defective X4 slot ? ( 3 monitors out of 4 on this slot are working fine at a resolution of 1920x1200 )
(2) Could it be a defective graphics card ?
Or what else could be wrong ?

Thanks
 
Krogoth
Emperor Gerbilius I
Posts: 6049
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: One monitor out of 8 has a different Resolution

Tue Aug 09, 2022 7:56 am

Hard to say, I presume each card is driving four monitors? If one card is able to drive all monitors at native resolutions and other is having issues driving one of monitors at native resolutions. It would role a simple bandwidth issue on the GPU.

The 4x PCIe slot should be able to provide enough power and bandwidth for the second T-600 otherwise it would have not booted-up on POST.
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS-PRO Coffee Lake R 9700K, 2x16GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR4-3600, Sapphire RX 6900XT, Seasonic GX-850 and Fractal Define 7 (W)
Ivy Bridge 3570K, 2x4GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Corsair CX-750M V2, and PC-7B
 
dan99t
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:19 am

Re: One monitor out of 8 has a different Resolution

Tue Aug 09, 2022 9:53 am

Krogoth wrote:
Hard to say, I presume each card is driving four monitors? If one card is able to drive all monitors at native resolutions and other is having issues driving one of monitors at native resolutions. It would role a simple bandwidth issue on the GPU.

The 4x PCIe slot should be able to provide enough power and bandwidth for the second T-600 otherwise it would have not booted-up on POST.


Then may be the card is a problem ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
GZIP: On