Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

infinice
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author

Is 60Hz enough for general [non-gaming] computing?

Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:42 am

Apologies in advance if i'm posting in wrong place, but i'm a noob here...
And i hope this doesn't seem like a stupid question, but all discussion on topic is by gamers, which i am not.
So i must ask: how much [10%?, 50%??] better would 120Hz or 144Hz be over 60Hz, for general computing, and for videos?
Since this question is *not* clearly answered elsewhere, you'll be doing non-gamers everywhere a big favor by clearing it up here.
Cheers-
infinice.

What did the sadist do to the masochist? Nothing.

MileageMayVary
Gerbil Team Leader

Re: Is 60Hz enough for general [non-gaming] computing?

Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:58 am

infinice wrote:
So i must ask: how much [10%?, 50%??] better would 120Hz or 144Hz be over 60Hz, for general computing, and for videos?

I doubt it would make any difference.
Main rig: Ryzen 1600@3.75GHz, R9 290@1050MHz, 16GB@2933MHz, 1080-1440-1080 Ultrasharps.

cheesyking
Minister of Gerbil Affairs

Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:01 am

I'm going to say 0% better.

If you're not a gamer then you're better off spending extra monitor money on things like IPS, colour gamut, adjustable stand, size etc depending on what you're doing.
Fernando!
Your mother ate my dog!

morphine
Gold subscriber
Gerbilus Supremus

Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:13 am

Aye, if you're not gaming, high refresh rates are pretty much irrelevant.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(

superjawes
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Jedi

Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:16 am