Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

 
chuckula
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2043
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Probably where I don't belong.

World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:33 pm

Not news: A bigass supercomputer is going to use GPUs.

News: A bigass exaflop supercomputer is going to use GPUs... made by Intel.

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel ... 38851.html

I'm sure that there's going to be plenty of CPU horsepower in there too, but the Xe stuff is certainly not just an overclocked IGP.

Now that doesn't mean it's going to be a gaming monster either (#PoorVolta) but this does look quite serious.

Fun fact: This system is code-named Aurora, which is the same name of a mythical hypersonic spy plane that was rumored to have replaced the SR-71: http://tinyurl.com/oqrhv96
Last edited by chuckula on Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
4770K @ 4.7 GHz; 32GB DDR3-2133; Officially RX-560... that's right AMD you shills!; 512GB 840 Pro (2x); Fractal Define XL-R2; NZXT Kraken-X60
--Many thanks to the TR Forum for advice in getting it built.
 
BIF
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2391
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 7:41 pm

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:41 pm

Your link doesn't work. Of course, that's probably intentional, given that it's a spy plane. Or is it? :P :wink:
 
chuckula
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2043
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Probably where I don't belong.

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:43 pm

BIF wrote:
Your link doesn't work. Of course, that's probably intentional, given that it's a spy plane. Or is it? :P :wink:


1. The link to the supercomputer story works fine.
2. The link to Wikipedia appears to have issues with BBCode. Let's try this instead: http://tinyurl.com/oqrhv96
4770K @ 4.7 GHz; 32GB DDR3-2133; Officially RX-560... that's right AMD you shills!; 512GB 840 Pro (2x); Fractal Define XL-R2; NZXT Kraken-X60
--Many thanks to the TR Forum for advice in getting it built.
 
chuckula
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2043
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Probably where I don't belong.

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:46 pm

While we're here, the next-generation Xeons running the system may very well have stacks of HBM2 built right into them in addition to the Optane DIMMs for expanded storage support. Given Ice Lake's AVX-512 capabilities, this system will likely greatly blur the lines between the CPU side and the GPU side, which will be a refreshing change from most GPU supercomputers where the CPUs don't do much more than shuffle the data between the GPUs and RAM/storage.
4770K @ 4.7 GHz; 32GB DDR3-2133; Officially RX-560... that's right AMD you shills!; 512GB 840 Pro (2x); Fractal Define XL-R2; NZXT Kraken-X60
--Many thanks to the TR Forum for advice in getting it built.
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2826
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:39 pm

chuckula wrote:
While we're here, the next-generation Xeons running the system may very well have stacks of HBM2 built right into them in addition to the Optane DIMMs for expanded storage support.

They may.

Or they may not. :)

A21/Aurora is a number chaser, unfortunately. Stunt machines are cool sometimes but I honestly hope we get some real use out of it.
Desktop: Z170A | 6700K @ 4.4 | 32 GB | Alphacool Eisblock Radeon VII | Heatkiller R3 | Samsung 4K 40" | 1 TB NVME + 2 TB SATA + LSI (128x8) RAID 0
NAS: 1950X | Designare EX | 32 GB ECC | 7x8 TB RAIDZ2 | 8x2 TB RAID10 | FreeNAS | ZFS | LSI SAS
 
Krogoth
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5673
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:43 pm

It is going to be a multi-layered engineering challenge to make that system to work anywhere near its theoretical output.

I suppose when all else fails. Intel could fallback on gluing some abacuses to it.
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS-PRO Coffee Lake R 9700K, 2x8GiB of G.Skill DDR4-3600, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Corsair CX-750M V2 and Fractal Define R4 (W)
Ivy Bridge 3570K, 2x4GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Corsair CX-750M V2, and PC-7B
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 18543
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:48 pm

chuckula wrote:
The link to Wikipedia appears to have issues with BBCode.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aurora_(aircraft%29
i7-9700K, NH-D15, Z390M Pro4, 32 GiB, RX Vega64, Define Mini-C, SSR-850PX, C32HG70+U2410, RK-9000BR, MX518
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 52532
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:32 am

Seems a little risky to bet the farm on a new design from a vendor which has not been a player in the GPU compute segment.

Interestingly enough, I live quite close to Argonne, and one of my co-workers just gave notice to take a new job with Cray. Hmm...
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2826
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Tue Mar 19, 2019 2:32 pm

I'll donate $50 to TR if this ends up having Nvidia GPUs in it by 2021.
Desktop: Z170A | 6700K @ 4.4 | 32 GB | Alphacool Eisblock Radeon VII | Heatkiller R3 | Samsung 4K 40" | 1 TB NVME + 2 TB SATA + LSI (128x8) RAID 0
NAS: 1950X | Designare EX | 32 GB ECC | 7x8 TB RAIDZ2 | 8x2 TB RAID10 | FreeNAS | ZFS | LSI SAS
 
dragontamer5788
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 8:39 am

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:14 pm

just brew it! wrote:
Seems a little risky to bet the farm on a new design from a vendor which has not been a player in the GPU compute segment.

Interestingly enough, I live quite close to Argonne, and one of my co-workers just gave notice to take a new job with Cray. Hmm...


This is a US Department of Energy / National Labs project. Risk needs to be seen in the context of the greater USA.

The real risk to the USA is that only one company is making SIMD-compute devices on a wide scale. USA should fund research into Intel's effort, even if it has a high chance of being inferior to NVidia's product. If Argonne ends up being less efficient than expected, no big deal: USA still owns Titan (#1 supercomputer in the world) and Sierra (#2 supercomputer in the world). Its more important that the next supercomputer uses different technology, than to have yet another clone of the Power9 + NVidia architecture.

US National Labs is still building Frontier and El Capitan as well, which are expected to be exascale supercomputers as well. Its important that these supercomputers use different architectures.
 
chuckula
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2043
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Probably where I don't belong.

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:20 pm

Waco wrote:
I'll donate $50 to TR if this ends up having Nvidia GPUs in it by 2021.


Krogothed.

TELL US HOW MUCH IT IS IF THEY GO ALL-NAVI ALL THE TIME!
4770K @ 4.7 GHz; 32GB DDR3-2133; Officially RX-560... that's right AMD you shills!; 512GB 840 Pro (2x); Fractal Define XL-R2; NZXT Kraken-X60
--Many thanks to the TR Forum for advice in getting it built.
 
chuckula
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2043
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Probably where I don't belong.

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:23 pm

Waco wrote:
chuckula wrote:
While we're here, the next-generation Xeons running the system may very well have stacks of HBM2 built right into them in addition to the Optane DIMMs for expanded storage support.

They may.

Or they may not. :)

A21/Aurora is a number chaser, unfortunately. Stunt machines are cool sometimes but I honestly hope we get some real use out of it.


Oh, next generation Xeons most certainly do have HBM in some SKUs just as assuredly as AMD's corporate song is Mo' Chiplets Mo' Problems.
Let's just say I know what's going on in Texas right now and how it bodes for the future. Here's another hint: Everyone claiming that the Xeon Phi is a failure don't understand. The Xeon Phi actually won in some big ways, which is why it's no longer a "special" side-project anymore.
It's more a matter of will the particular chips for this particular system be using HBM in the CPUs in addition to the GPUs. My bet is on yes, but if it's more heavily tilted towards the GPUs they might avoid putting it on the CPUs too.
4770K @ 4.7 GHz; 32GB DDR3-2133; Officially RX-560... that's right AMD you shills!; 512GB 840 Pro (2x); Fractal Define XL-R2; NZXT Kraken-X60
--Many thanks to the TR Forum for advice in getting it built.
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2826
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:06 pm

chuckula wrote:
Oh, next generation Xeons most certainly do have HBM in some SKUs just as assuredly as AMD's corporate song is Mo' Chiplets Mo' Problems.
Let's just say I know what's going on in Texas right now and how it bodes for the future. Here's another hint: Everyone claiming that the Xeon Phi is a failure don't understand. The Xeon Phi actually won in some big ways, which is why it's no longer a "special" side-project anymore.
It's more a matter of will the particular chips for this particular system be using HBM in the CPUs in addition to the GPUs. My bet is on yes, but if it's more heavily tilted towards the GPUs they might avoid putting it on the CPUs too.

You can make claims all day long and speculate.

I will say no further on either subject.
Desktop: Z170A | 6700K @ 4.4 | 32 GB | Alphacool Eisblock Radeon VII | Heatkiller R3 | Samsung 4K 40" | 1 TB NVME + 2 TB SATA + LSI (128x8) RAID 0
NAS: 1950X | Designare EX | 32 GB ECC | 7x8 TB RAIDZ2 | 8x2 TB RAID10 | FreeNAS | ZFS | LSI SAS
 
Mr Bill
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1652
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope
Contact:

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:57 pm

chuckula wrote:
Not news: A bigass supercomputer is going to use GPUs.

News: A bigass exaflop supercomputer is going to use GPUs... made by Intel.

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel ... 38851.html

I'm sure that there's going to be plenty of CPU horsepower in there too, but the Xe stuff is certainly not just an overclocked IGP.

Now that doesn't mean it's going to be a gaming monster either (#PoorVolta) but this does look quite serious.

Fun fact: This system is code-named Aurora, which is the same name of a mythical hypersonic spy plane that was rumored to have replaced the SR-71: http://tinyurl.com/oqrhv96
So, Aurora will either be a success or an exaflop, or both. :D
X6 1100T BE | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | XFX HD 7870 | 16 GB DDR3 | Samsung 830/850 Pro SSD's | Logitech cherry MX-brown G710+ | Logitech G303 Daedalus Apex mouse | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | BenQ 24' 1900x1200 IPS | APC Back-UPS NS-1350 | WinXP64 Pro
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2826
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: World's first Exascale system to use GPUs.. Intel GPUs that is

Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:32 am

Mr Bill wrote:
So, Aurora will either be a success or an exaflop, or both. :D

Badum, tish!
Desktop: Z170A | 6700K @ 4.4 | 32 GB | Alphacool Eisblock Radeon VII | Heatkiller R3 | Samsung 4K 40" | 1 TB NVME + 2 TB SATA + LSI (128x8) RAID 0
NAS: 1950X | Designare EX | 32 GB ECC | 7x8 TB RAIDZ2 | 8x2 TB RAID10 | FreeNAS | ZFS | LSI SAS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests