Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

 
bitcat70
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:02 pm

Using TV's with computers

Thu May 23, 2019 11:02 am

Hi!
Are there TV's that have a computer display mode that would bypass their image processing circuitry? In essence making them huge computer monitors? Something in the 50-65 inch size.
 
Pagey
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1548
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:29 am
Location: Middle TN

Re: Using TV's with computers

Thu May 23, 2019 11:07 am

Most modern TVs will now, by default, or via their software configuration allow for proper display (e.g., RGB full range, no overscan, etc.) of an image from a computer's GPU. Some are of course better than others, but a good place to get reviews is rtings.com, which will have a section in each TV's review covering input lag and what resolutions/signal formats each HDMI input will accept.
 
Mr Bill
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1697
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope
Contact:

Re: Using TV's with computers

Thu May 23, 2019 12:00 pm

bitcat70 wrote:
Hi!
Are there TV's that have a computer display mode that would bypass their image processing circuitry? In essence making them huge computer monitors? Something in the 50-65 inch size.
Yes my (over 10 year old) 26" Toshiba REGZA TV has a PC mode (which sucks by they way being only 1024 x 768). But my laptop has an HDMI out connector and that lets me use the TV as a giant monitor at true 1080P.
X6 1100T BE | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | XFX HD 7870 | 16 GB DDR3 | Samsung 830/850 Pro SSD's | Logitech cherry MX-brown G710+ | Logitech G303 Daedalus Apex mouse | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | BenQ 24' 1900x1200 IPS | APC Back-UPS NS-1350 | WinXP64 Pro
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2935
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: Using TV's with computers

Thu May 23, 2019 12:19 pm

Any tv with "gaming mode" tends to have good enough input latency to not be annoying. My 40" Samsung is technically a TV and it's an excellent gaming monitor for cheap.
Desktop: Z170A | 6700K @ 4.4 | 32 GB | Alphacool Eisblock Radeon VII | Heatkiller R3 | Samsung 4K 40" | 1 TB NVME + 2 TB SATA + LSI (128x8) RAID 0
NAS: 1950X | Designare EX | 32 GB ECC | 7x8 TB RAIDZ2 | 8x2 TB RAID10 | FreeNAS | ZFS | LSI SAS
 
Pagey
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1548
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:29 am
Location: Middle TN

Re: Using TV's with computers

Thu May 23, 2019 1:28 pm

Another thing I've found since I've transitioned to using TVs as monitors: the "PC Mode" can still have really bad picture quality. Now, with that said, let me elaborate a little further - depending on the manufacturer and model, the "PC Mode" setting can do anything from 1.) simply change the color "temperature" to a cooler setting (a cool or blue push to the whites); 2.) change the acceptable RGB range from limited (15-235) to full (0-255); or 3.) some crazy combination of 1/2 to anything in between and then some.

Generally what I do is to hook up the TV to a Blu-ray player and load up the free BT.709 calibration disc you can download from www.avsforum.com and dial in the basics like brightness, contrast, and color. Then, I manually disable each of the "image processing" settings in the TV's software menu (e.g, turn off the backlight dimming/ambient light sensor; turn off any "digital clean view" and "MPEG noise reduction"; make sure it's set to 1:1 pixel mapping to eliminate any overscan; etc.). On Vizio TVs, for example, I find the "normal" color temperature to be the most accurate AND the most pleasing/natural looking (Vizio's "PC Mode" temperature has a horrible blue push that will make you think of an Arctic glacier under a clear sky). For Samsung TVs, most review sites recommend the "Warm 2" color setting/temperature, as for whatever reason, this setting on Samsungs will generally get you close to the D65 white point that modern displays are calibrated for.

So, short story long, do yourself a favor and play around with the settings. Don't just kick the TV into "PC Mode" and assume you are getting the best and/or most accurate settings. I stress that my experience is biased towards Vizio TVs (I have 3 that I use for monitors), and each manufacturer's settings are different and do different things.
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2935
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: Using TV's with computers

Thu May 23, 2019 1:35 pm

http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/

Everything you need to get your monitor pretty well calibrated from a brightness/contrast/sharpness perspective.
Desktop: Z170A | 6700K @ 4.4 | 32 GB | Alphacool Eisblock Radeon VII | Heatkiller R3 | Samsung 4K 40" | 1 TB NVME + 2 TB SATA + LSI (128x8) RAID 0
NAS: 1950X | Designare EX | 32 GB ECC | 7x8 TB RAIDZ2 | 8x2 TB RAID10 | FreeNAS | ZFS | LSI SAS
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 25021
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: Comin' to you directly from the Mothership

Re: Using TV's with computers

Thu May 23, 2019 2:33 pm

bitcat70 wrote:
Hi!
Are there TV's that have a computer display mode that would bypass their image processing circuitry? In essence making them huge computer monitors? Something in the 50-65 inch size.

I have a couple of TCL TVs that have specific PC modes including full 4:4:4 color formatting if you choose PC as the input type. One is a very low-end 40S325 (1080p 40") and the other is a more midrange 55P605 (4K 55"). Both have VA panels and around 14-15ms of input latency in PC mode.

RTings has a review of the 55P607, which is my TV except with an RF remote, where mine has infrared. https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/tcl/p ... rison_1799

(edit: according to the RTings review, 4:4:4 works in any mode, not just PC)
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.
Twittering away the day at @TVsBen
 
Philldoe
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3017
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Turn around...

Re: Using TV's with computers

Thu May 23, 2019 3:43 pm

I've been doing this since 2012. Stick with LG. Even their cheap-o 4k HDR TV's can push 4k 60hz or 1080p 120hz both on RGB Full modes. My current model will even do 10-bit at 1080p. The Frame interpolation that they do can be turned off easily as well. The more expensive models come factory calibrated IIRC.
Fastfreak39: I feel like they should change the phrase "jumping on the band wagon" to "sailing on the pirate ship"
 
Ifalna
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:14 am
Location: Celestis

Re: Using TV's with computers

Thu May 23, 2019 3:46 pm

bitcat70 wrote:
Hi!
Are there TV's that have a computer display mode that would bypass their image processing circuitry? In essence making them huge computer monitors? Something in the 50-65 inch size.


Yup, running a Sony XF90 55" 4K screen since last November. Suffice it to say, that it is very unlikely that I will ever go back to PC monitors.
The backbone of modern industrial society is, and for the foreseeable future will be, the use of electrical Power.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest