Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Feb 28, 2002 4:57 am

Hello.

I bought a Radeon 8500 64mb ddr graphics card (this forum has a lot to answer for!:>) but am having problems.

I have a SOYO Dragon Plus motherboard with AthlonXP2000+ and 1024MB DDRRAM.

The problem is, Windows will not recognise the ATI drivers, gets stuck in 16colour 640x480 resolution and then crashes with either a hang or a black screen. I am pretty sure my drivers are up to date and I have followed all instructions.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Edward
 
Bruce
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: New Zealand

Thu Feb 28, 2002 5:35 am

Which version of Windows?
 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Feb 28, 2002 5:38 am

Oops sorry! WIN98SE at the moment...
 
Bruce
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: New Zealand

Thu Feb 28, 2002 5:44 am

Might also need to know which version of the drivers and where you got them from.
 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Feb 28, 2002 6:01 am

I'm pretty sure the drivers are up to date. But will check tonight when I get home.

It has been suggested to me that it may be a cooling or PSU problem? How on Earth will I be able to tell that?
 
Coldfirex
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1116
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX
Contact:

Thu Feb 28, 2002 8:34 am

Have you already tried removing the ati card from Device Manager (that is if its even there)? Either do that and d/l Ati's latest from their site and give it a go. What other hardware do you have?
 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Feb 28, 2002 8:55 am

Modem and firewire card are only other devices at present.

Have tried removing and re-installing a couple of times. Is it right that two monitors get detected even if only one is present? That rings alarm bells! Have read something about the maxvcache level which I will also try but that shouldn't effect the lack of resolution levels should it?!?
 
ANApex
Gerbil XP
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: PA
Contact:

Thu Feb 28, 2002 9:17 am

I've never had my 8500 detect two monitors when only one is present. Let us know what drivers you are trying to use please.
 
imposter BILL
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Feb 28, 2002 10:03 am

http://216.250.251.147/ati.htm

Try the drivers from this page
 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Feb 28, 2002 10:37 am

I used the drivers that came with it and then downloaded the latest off the ATI website...
 
Bruce
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: New Zealand

Thu Feb 28, 2002 10:47 am

Instead of 'latest', can you give us a URL and version number?
 
ANApex
Gerbil XP
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: PA
Contact:

Thu Feb 28, 2002 10:48 am

Were they the "latest" certified or beta drivers?
 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Feb 28, 2002 10:53 am

 
Bruce
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: New Zealand

Thu Feb 28, 2002 11:37 am

Did you upgrade DirectX to 8.1 before installing the video drivers?
 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Feb 28, 2002 11:47 am

I think so! What I'm going to do is start all over again with the ideas people have given me and then take it from there! Hope it's not a dodgy card!
 
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
Posts: 8138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Thu Feb 28, 2002 12:17 pm

More likely it's a dodgy OS. Zero problems here with the Radeon1, but I had large numbers of issues similar to what you describe when using 98SE.

Also, not to be a pest, but this IS a brand new copy of Windows, right? Lots of times when I was running 98, old drivers would leave registry entries all over the place, that would totally screw new graphics cards.
 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Feb 28, 2002 1:14 pm

Well, I formatted C: drive and re-installed 98SE - I take it that clears the Registry?
 
Coldfirex
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1116
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX
Contact:

Thu Feb 28, 2002 3:30 pm

So you formatted, installed 98SE, installed the cd drivers, installed the latest drivers, and I suppose updates to 98 and it crashes right? On which application does it crash? Have you tried turning down AGP in the bios maybe??
 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Fri Mar 01, 2002 5:24 am

Couldn't do much last night as I was out on the beers but will try again tonight!
 
Bruce
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: New Zealand

Fri Mar 01, 2002 5:45 am

A night on the turps and PC re-installing do not mix - I used to work with a guy who had proved that many times.
 
Igwiz
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:00 pm

Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:22 am

Not sure exactly which bit of what I did was different but got it to work last night! Thanks guys for all the help.
 
EnDlEsS
Gerbil
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 7:00 pm

Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:39 pm

You may wanna try the newest leaked driver 4.13.9017..

You can find it @ Rage3D ~~!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], sluggo and 4 guests