Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

 
newbie_of_jan0502
Gerbil Jedi
Topic Author
Posts: 1770
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Fri Mar 15, 2002 10:54 pm

At the present time I'm running an Geforce2 MX 400. I'm not sure what to upgrade to, thinking about a GeForce3 TI 500 or for about 120 bucks less a Geforce4 MX 420 or 440. Why is the GF4 MX's cheaper? Are they not as good as the TI 500? The GF4 TI's are out of the question, to much money. I want to upgrade for games or a game in paticular Medal of Honor A.A. If I run MoHAA on high quality settings it's not as smooth as I think it should be considering the rest of my system (1.4 amd via kt266). Any suggestions.

Thanks
 
DiMaestro
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 826
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: North Dakota NoMoah!

Fri Mar 15, 2002 10:59 pm

I just got a Radeon 8500 for 150.00 and couldn't be happier.

Good card, plays everything fine, no sweat whatsoever. However other people *do* have problems with this card. :sad:
 
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1695
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Fri Mar 15, 2002 10:59 pm

stay away from the geforce4 mx line, its just your geforce2 mx with alittle more power (not good) if anything the geforce 4 4200 should be out soon ($199) and is a great card but if u want someting now i woul go for a ti200 or the first geforce 3 (no ati)
"StarCraft 2 will release when it's ready." - Blizzard
 
osiris
Gerbil
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm

Fri Mar 15, 2002 11:01 pm

GF4 MX are essentially a GF2 with a few enhancements. Mainly better Anti Aliasing.The Radeon8500's have dropped quite a bit in price. They perform basically on par with Ti 500's. Might consider that.
 
NeXus 6
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2566
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm

Fri Mar 15, 2002 11:01 pm

If you can get a good deal on a GF3 Ti 500, then buy it. I have it and it's excellent for gaming. Your best buy would be a GF3 Ti 200; a little slower than the Ti 500, but you can overclock it to near GF3 Ti 500 levels. Either one of these video cards will blow away your GF2 MX.
 
newbie_of_jan0502
Gerbil Jedi
Topic Author
Posts: 1770
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Fri Mar 15, 2002 11:11 pm

pricewatch has got the Gf3 TI 500 for 229. That really sounds like a good deal and the card for me. While I'm on the subject, can I overclock my Gf2 MX400? If yes. How?
 
lenzenm
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Greenfiled, WI
Contact:

Sat Mar 16, 2002 12:36 am

On 2002-03-15 22:11, newbie_of_jan0502 wrote:
pricewatch has got the Gf3 TI 500 for 229. That really sounds like a good deal and the card for me. While I'm on the subject, can I overclock my Gf2 MX400? If yes. How?


That sounds like a good buy for a GF3-Ti500. The GF4's must be pushing the price down. You can overclock both it and the GF2-MX400 using powerstrip, download it from http://www.voodoofiles.com/results.asp
The interface is pretty self-explanatory.
 
0oALio0
Gerbil XP
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Back east

Sat Mar 16, 2002 12:59 pm

I'd go for a retail Radeon8500 and overclock that baby til... i dunno what. The new drivers are REALLY helping :smile:
 
0oALio0
Gerbil XP
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Back east

Sat Mar 16, 2002 1:06 pm

"ok from the wife" :lol:
 
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1695
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:32 pm

0oALio0, when you get a "Real" realationship, and maybe have to pay some bills (rent,car note,food,) maybe you will understand.......
 
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2600
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Sat Mar 16, 2002 4:53 pm

I would suggest the Geforce 3 Ti500 as well. I have a Gainward Ti200 and it is a smooth card.
 
newbie_of_jan0502
Gerbil Jedi
Topic Author
Posts: 1770
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Sat Mar 16, 2002 8:54 pm

Lenz thanks for the link. Just downloaded GeForce tweak utility it looks useful, lots of crap to play with.
 
absurdity
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 890
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: VT

Sun Mar 17, 2002 12:12 am

yeah, the thing about the wife seems funny...until you're faced with it.

not that i'm married, i've just seen it with friends ;P
 
overlord_21
Gerbil
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:00 pm

Mon Mar 25, 2002 1:29 am

I've been using a Visiontek GF3 Ti200 and am very happy with its performance. I had considered getting a Ti500 but now with the GF4s' out there am considering either a Ti4400 or the Ti4600. If your'e gonna go, go first class.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests