Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

 
ClickClick5
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 550
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Alaska
Contact:

Old Games at 2K Resolution

Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:45 pm

After my comment in the Radeon 295 X2 review about old games for the 4K resolution test, I dug out a few to test myself in 2K resolution (27in 2K [2560x1440] Korean screen...not 4K).

Anyway, if would like to see, here are four screenshots each of each game tested:
NOTE: All games are using the "max" settings within the game, no other post setting was applied.

Doom 3 (with a few lighting mods, and .ini edit for 2K):
http://i.imgur.com/tWzbsQR.png
http://i.imgur.com/HHzmi3i.png
http://i.imgur.com/dg9fGYa.png
http://i.imgur.com/A7mi6ah.png

Quake II (.ini edit for 2K with OpenGL):
http://i.imgur.com/CMTHq7R.png
http://i.imgur.com/UIWEap3.png
http://i.imgur.com/JBr5irX.png
http://i.imgur.com/QajDZPz.png

Half-Life (the original goldsrc version):
http://i.imgur.com/L3JpS1p.png
http://i.imgur.com/sQ0KVbr.png
http://i.imgur.com/t6KGpRp.png
http://i.imgur.com/sEIcP6A.png

And for kicks, Mario Kart 64 in 2K emulation (with 16AF, 8X AA):
http://i.imgur.com/0a9nCiP.png
http://i.imgur.com/1NL4xBB.png
http://i.imgur.com/tYDsVew.png
http://i.imgur.com/R4GjPqg.png

I tried Red Alert 2, but FRAPS did not like the game, and the game would run at a mind numbing 4 fps. For a game that has a built in resolution cap of 1024x768, 2560x1440 is just a little high for their engine to draw the screen. So, no to Red Alert 2.

I'll try to get more pics of games later on.
Last edited by ClickClick5 on Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:22 am, edited 2 times in total.
i7-5930k (4.1GHz), 32GB DDR4-2400, 980 4GB, GA-X99-UD3, Samsung 850 Pro 256GB (os/programs), Toshiba 5TB (games), WD VelociRaptor 500GB (games/scratch disk), Win 10 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance sets and other goodies! clickclick5.com!
 
LASR
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 9:35 pm

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:16 pm

Nice work! You might want to correct your nomenclature though. 2K is 1080p. What you have here is 1440p.

I have a 4K display at work. Ran OpenArena on it. It is not as impressive as one might expect. FPS games at 4K really needs better textures to shine.

AOE HD on the other hand is amazing at 4K.
 
TwistedKestrel
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 632
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:29 pm

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:29 pm

Doom 3 is old? Didn't that come out, like, yesterday?
 
Concupiscence
Gerbil XP
Posts: 493
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:58 am
Location: Dallas area, Texas, USA

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:38 am

TwistedKestrel wrote:
Doom 3 is old? Didn't that come out, like, yesterday?


Summer 2004. It's been more time since Doom 3 came out than the gap between Doom and Doom 3.
Workstation: Ryzen 1700, 16 gigs DDR4-2400, GTX 1050 Ti, Win10 Pro x64
HTPC: i3 4170, 8 gigs RAM, Geforce GTX 750 Ti, Windows 8.1 x64
2008 Mac Pro: 2 Xeon e5462s, 6 gigs ECC RAM, Radeon 2600XT, OS X 10.12
 
tanker27
Gold subscriber
Lord High Gerbil
Posts: 8947
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:20 am

Oh the hours spent in Quake II w/ Lithium mod gibbing people!
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
 
l33t-g4m3r
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2059
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 2:54 am

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:51 am

protip: use nglide for games that support glide, but not hd resolutions. Nglide can render up to your screen res. Also, some old games like starsiege don't work right in opengl, but the effects work fine using nglide.
 
SoM
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:54 am

that 2nd HL pic is missing a computer desk, or black mesa invented hoverkeyboards
InWin 303 - Asus z170a - G.Skill 32GB 2400 - i7-6700k - H60 - EVGA GTX 1070 FTW - EVGA Supernova G2 750w - M.2 950 Pro 256GB - Audioengine A5+ - Sennheiser HD 280pro - Win 10
 
Arvald
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 690
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:12 pm

SoM wrote:
that 2nd HL pic is missing a computer desk, or black mesa invented hoverkeyboards


the white bar out to it is meant to be a keyboard tray. Got things like that around our office here... no hover required.
 
TwistedKestrel
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 632
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:29 pm

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:29 pm

Concupiscence wrote:
TwistedKestrel wrote:
Doom 3 is old? Didn't that come out, like, yesterday?


Summer 2004. It's been more time since Doom 3 came out than the gap between Doom and Doom 3.


You calling me old? :P
 
SoM
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:30 pm

Arvald wrote:
SoM wrote:
that 2nd HL pic is missing a computer desk, or black mesa invented hoverkeyboards


the white bar out to it is meant to be a keyboard tray. Got things like that around our office here... no hover required.


ah yes you're right, had to check youtube and all is good, my bad :/
InWin 303 - Asus z170a - G.Skill 32GB 2400 - i7-6700k - H60 - EVGA GTX 1070 FTW - EVGA Supernova G2 750w - M.2 950 Pro 256GB - Audioengine A5+ - Sennheiser HD 280pro - Win 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests