Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

 
AENIMA
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Oregon.
Contact:

Sun Mar 31, 2002 1:18 pm

this has been an age old problem for my computer! even back when I has a TNT2 vanta. when I play diablo 2 it will run fine when I start it up and then after a while it starts to run really slowly!!!!!! and then after a little while it runs fine. this is like one of my favorite RPGs and its really pissing me off!

heres my system info...
athlon thunderbird 1000MHz
512MB pc133 SDRAM
maxtor 60GB harddrive
windows XP professional
VIA chipset
ASUS HP mobo
Geforce2 mx400 soon to be geforce3 ti500
 
0oALio0
Gerbil XP
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Back east

Sun Mar 31, 2002 1:27 pm

After how long does it slow down? Is it when lots of enemies appear on the screen? Is it in multiplayer? Is it when you start a new level?
 
AENIMA
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Oregon.
Contact:

Tue Apr 02, 2002 12:31 am

its really quite random. I get it when im the only one on on single player. at any time!!! by the way... I beat act one by myself on single player in three hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! power baby
 
dmittner
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Contact:

Tue Apr 02, 2002 6:06 pm

I had that problem myself. It wouldn't become common until Acts 3 and 4 when a lot of action took place -- but the fact that the slowness continues after the action has ceased leaves me clueless as to what the problem is. I have WinXP now and have started playing it again now. I'm in Act 3 and haven't had the problem yet... but I've just begun it.
 
0oALio0
Gerbil XP
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Back east

Wed Apr 03, 2002 10:31 pm

You guys got anything (ie edonky) running in the background?
 
DRY-iCE
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Apr 04, 2002 9:33 am

Diablo II's D3d code is garbage, thats why everything is slow. The game itself was designed with 3DFX Glide in mind and D3D was hacked in to the code at the last second. Even on my 1800XP/8500 it chunks A LOT when there are tons of enemies on the screen.

Basically you can't do jack about it. Either get a Voodoo, or run in software mode.

Hope this helps.
 
St. Babu
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Indianapolis

Thu Apr 04, 2002 10:48 am

Dry-Ice is right. That was why, there for a while, Voodoo 2's experienced a resurgence in popularity. I know, it's frightening, but I was even considering at one point throwing a dual voodoo2 rig on top of my Geforce 2 so I could play Diablo II at acceptable framerates. Now I'm glad I didn't, 'cuz the game that is everything DII SHOULD have been will hit EB on Friday... Dungeon Siege!!!
 
0oALio0
Gerbil XP
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Back east

Fri Apr 05, 2002 6:34 pm

If u want a glide emulator just google for "glide wrapper". BTW i play diablo2 LOD with direct3d on my comp (sig) and i've never chopped.
 
AENIMA
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Oregon.
Contact:

Fri Apr 05, 2002 11:09 pm

very weird!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests