Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Dposcorp

anotherengineer
Gerbil Jedi
Topic Author

Firefox based alternative browsers

Sun May 24, 2015 5:50 pm

So, basically as per the title. I have been using Waterfox x64 for awhile now and have been fairly pleased with it. Out of curiosity the other day I was looking up other x64 browsers and see there are quite a few other variants based off FF.

I think I am going to give this one a try out of curiosity, although I can't really see if there will be an actually difference between builds on today's cpu's.
http://cyberfox.8pecxstudios.com/

Has anyone else tried cyberfox or other FF variants with any luck??
Life doesn't change after marriage, it changes after children!

sircharles32
Gerbil Team Leader

Re: Firefox based alternative browsers

Sun May 24, 2015 6:06 pm

I've been using Palemoon for several years now, without any issue.
It's a 64-bit community driven version of FireFox.
Workstation: Phenom II X4 965
Every-Day: Athlon II X4 630
Servers: Athlon X2 BE-2400, A8-7600
Gym: Opteron 150

Walkintarget
Gerbil Team Leader

Sun May 24, 2015 6:22 pm

sircharles32 wrote:
I've been using Palemoon for several years now, without any issue.
It's a 64-bit community driven version of FireFox.

+1. I gave up on Firefox after they went to v28. Pale Moon is a very capable replacement.
AMD Ryzen R5 2600x, Asus Prime x470 Pro, Sapphire Nitro Fury 4GB, HP EX920 512GB NVMe SSD, 16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro, 4TB WD Red HDD, Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Ed, Win 10 Pro

UnfriendlyFire
Gerbil Team Leader

Sun May 24, 2015 6:31 pm

If you liked Firefox 4.0's UI without using the classic restore addons, I would also suggest using Palemoon. The developer keeps up with the security patches that Mozilla pushes out, which is an important factor that I consider when dealing with software forks.