Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Dposcorp

Hawkwing74
His Holy Gerbilness
Topic Author

HR Block 2017 sucks

Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:38 am

I've been using HR Block tax software for 10+ years. It used to be called TaxCut. This year, they sent out flash drives with the software. I thought this was a good idea since I use it anyway.

However, it won't install. It throws a "date mismatch" error. I tried from the flash drive and copying the folder to the desktop. Googled around and other people had the issue. I'm running Windows 8.1 and they said to run in Windows 8 compatibility mode. Didn't work. I installed some Windows updates. I ran as administrator. Ran with antivirus off. Nothing worked.

Extremely frustrating. Oh yeah, they take your money before you can even successfully install. I will have to be calling for a refund or disputing the charge. It's the weekend so I can't call but I already read online that speaking to a human is difficult.

The worst part was, when you go to download it directly sans the flash drive, they try to get you to buy it again. There is no method to download once you've already purchased. I have the activation keys on my printed receipt but there's no method to use them.

Very frustrating experience. I guess I have to try TurboTax this year.

Darthutos
Gerbil First Class

Re: HR Block 2017 sucks

Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:51 am

1. Date Mismatch: Is your computer using the correct time/date? timezone correct?
2. When you say it didn't work when you tried to copy from flash drive to desktop, what happens? Input/Output error? Cyclic error? Preparing to copy but stuck? CTD? What exactly happen?
3. When you bought the flash drive version, did the package say compatible with Windows 8.1? Mac? Windows XP? Windows 10? Recommended system Requirement? Minimum system Requirement?