Personal computing discussed

Moderator: Dposcorp

 
ronch
Graphmaster Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am

Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:10 am

Hi guys. I just reformatted my PC last week and installed my copy of Firefox 25, which I've been using for a while now. After a few days FF automatically updated itself to v.26 and I've noticed that FF got slower. Clicking on other tabs sometimes took a while to actually take effect and let me switch tabs, the mouse scroller would sometimes not work because FF apparently seems to be busy, etc. If this keeps up I'm ditching FF. Anyone else experiencing this?
NEC V20 > AMD Am386DX-40 > AMD Am486DX2-66 > Intel Pentium-200 > Cyrix 6x86MX-PR233 > AMD K6-2/450 > AMD Athlon 800 > Intel Pentium 4 2.8C > AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800 > AMD Phenom II X3 720 > AMD FX-8350 > RYZEN?
 
SoM
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:27 am

latest version of FF here

no problems at all

try the "Memory Fox" extension
InWin 303 - Asus z170a - G.Skill 32GB 2400 - i7-6700k - H60 - EVGA GTX 1070 FTW - EVGA Supernova G2 750w - M.2 950 Pro 256GB - Audioengine A5+ - Sennheiser HD 280pro - Win 10
 
tanker27
Gerbil Khan
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Fri Dec 20, 2013 12:40 pm

I installed it with my new build and I did notice it to be really slow. So back to Chrome I went.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
 
NoahC
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 2:03 am

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:06 pm

ronch wrote:
Clicking on other tabs sometimes took a while to actually take effect and let me switch tabs, the mouse scroller would sometimes not work because FF apparently seems to be busy, etc. If this keeps up I'm ditching FF. Anyone else experiencing this?


If you're willing/able to share which tabs you had open, which firefox extensions you use, and your OS, I'd be happy to try to replicate the issue. The builds for Chrome and Firefox are heavily instrumented, so the chances of a general performance regression are extremely low. But there's also about a million aspects that can affect perceived speed & responsivenes. And there's always edge cases - it's always possible you use a particular web site or extension that FF 26 doesn't handle well.

P.S. - I'm a web developer who contributes to the Chrome and Firefox DevTools. So I'm always on the lookout for funky bugs.
 
emvath79
Gerbil
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Fri Dec 20, 2013 5:11 pm

It actually seems a tad bit faster to me. The only extension I am running is do not track.
 
The Egg
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2236
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Fri Dec 20, 2013 8:22 pm

I've been using Firefox since it was called Firebird 0.6. The only thing I've noticed since 3.6.x is that the everything related to downloading files has become continually more obnoxious and infuriating. If you're having performance issues, I would check to see if any unwanted plug-ins/extensions were installed without your knowledge. Firefox has always allowed programs to install these plug-ins without any prompting, which I consider a MAJOR FLAW in the browser. I disable most everything except Silverlight and Flash.
 
ronch
Graphmaster Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:00 pm

NoahC wrote:
ronch wrote:
Clicking on other tabs sometimes took a while to actually take effect and let me switch tabs, the mouse scroller would sometimes not work because FF apparently seems to be busy, etc. If this keeps up I'm ditching FF. Anyone else experiencing this?


If you're willing/able to share which tabs you had open, which firefox extensions you use, and your OS, I'd be happy to try to replicate the issue. The builds for Chrome and Firefox are heavily instrumented, so the chances of a general performance regression are extremely low. But there's also about a million aspects that can affect perceived speed & responsivenes. And there's always edge cases - it's always possible you use a particular web site or extension that FF 26 doesn't handle well.

P.S. - I'm a web developer who contributes to the Chrome and Firefox DevTools. So I'm always on the lookout for funky bugs.


Hi NoahC. I noticed the slowdowns when I have a tab with http://www.gamespot.com on it. Windows 7 64-bit, no add-ons, only one extension (Avast Online Security 9.0.2006.53), no added appearance extension, Plug-ins include Foxit Reader Plugin for Mozilla (which I've been using for the longest time) and Shockwave 11.9.900.170.

Specs : AMDFX-8350, MSI 990FXA-GD65, 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866, AMD HD7770 with Catalyst 13.4, TP-Link TL-WN723N, Hitachi 1TB HDD, WIn7 x64. Been using this machine for a year now.

I will continue to observe FF 26, for lack of an alternative (I don't like Chrome either).
NEC V20 > AMD Am386DX-40 > AMD Am486DX2-66 > Intel Pentium-200 > Cyrix 6x86MX-PR233 > AMD K6-2/450 > AMD Athlon 800 > Intel Pentium 4 2.8C > AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800 > AMD Phenom II X3 720 > AMD FX-8350 > RYZEN?
 
jackbomb
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:25 pm

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:05 am

I actually noticed the same thing on the two computers I run FF on. Of course, they're both oldies--a PIII-S overclocked to 1.8GHz, and an Athlon XP 2800+. Pages take slightly longer to load, and scrolling is a bit choppy on some sites.
 
jihadjoe
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:34 am

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Sat Dec 21, 2013 2:51 am

The Egg wrote:
Firefox has always allowed programs to install these plug-ins without any prompting, which I consider a MAJOR FLAW in the browser.


THIS.

Can we please not allow third party programs to put stuff in Firefox without asking us? I understand some of these plug-ins are being copied directly into the firefox folder. When I switched to using custom 64-bit FF builds which don't go into the default FF directories (Palemoon and Waterfox) extensions/plug-ins stopped getting auto-installed.
 
Diplomacy42
Gerbil
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 2:56 pm

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:23 am

Interestingly enough, I opened Gamespot.com and saw the same problem and I'm running windows 8 with a 4.4ghz hex-core with 32gb of ram...

tabbing around seems fine, but other websites seem to hesitate for like 1/4th of a second before loading. I could definitely see that being irksome, although the website itself is so unresponsive, even with no_blank and blank_block plus (among others) that I have to imagine that it is the website's fault, not firefox specifically.

either way, that rules out his hardware, the platform and a bad installation. that leaves firefox or any extentions we have in common.
 
Vrock
Gerbil God
Posts: 21855
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Sat Dec 21, 2013 8:17 am

People still use Firefox? I did not know this.
I'm not altogether on anyone's side, because no one is altogether on my side.
 
Yeats
Gerbil XP
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Sat Dec 21, 2013 11:53 am

FF26 running on Win7 x64, everything fine here.
 
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)
Contact:

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Sat Dec 21, 2013 1:15 pm

Vrock wrote:
People still use Firefox? I did not know this.


You teh funny! :D
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.

Main machine: Core I7 -2600K @ 4.5Ghz / 16 gig ram / Radeon 7870 / 240 gb Corsair ssd / 5tb hd
Old machine: Core 2 quad Q6600 @ 3ghz / 8 gig ram / Radeon 6870 / 240 gb PNY ssd / 1tb HD
 
Captain Ned
Gold subscriber
Global Moderator
Posts: 26471
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Did Firefox 26 just get slower?

Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:18 pm

Not any slower, but Qute Classic 4.0.1 no longer works.
If the Earth were flat, cats would have pushed everything off of it by now.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kretschmer and 4 guests