Personal computing discussed

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

 
rogthewookiee
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 2:37 pm
Location: Bethesda MD

Can't boot with four dimms

Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:38 pm

Hi Guys,

I can't get the system to boot with more than two dimms in the third and fourth slots. (B1 and B2)

In no configuration of the four dimms I have will the system boot if a dimm is in the two A slots.
I've tried more voltage (up to 1.65V) and lower speeds/timings.

Any ideas? I've seen elsewhere suggestions to reseat CPU, loosen CPU cooler and check for bent pins.

I'm trying to scavenge my way into a working system.
I got a ASUS Maximus Gene VI from ebay
4770k
GTX 780
4x8GB 1600mhz
550 W PSU
2 HDD, 2SSD
 
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
Posts: 25419
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: Can't boot with four dimms

Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:03 pm

Most important question: are they all the same sticks?
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
 
rogthewookiee
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 2:37 pm
Location: Bethesda MD

Re: Can't boot with four dimms

Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:11 pm

Yes all the same, from a pack purchased as four dimms.
 
Aether
Silver subscriber
Gerbil
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:50 pm

Re: Can't boot with four dimms

Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:46 pm

Will the system boot with only DIMMs in slots A1 and A2? (I.e., with B1 and B2 left empty.) If it will not, that would seem to indicate a motherboard problem with one of those 2 slots.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 49719
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Can't boot with four dimms

Sat Apr 15, 2017 3:40 pm

You can also try the slots one at a time, with a single DIMM to see if there's a specific slot that's bad.

More likely, there's a bent pin in the CPU socket or a bad channel on the CPU's memory controller that is borking the entire A channel.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
rogthewookiee
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 2:37 pm
Location: Bethesda MD

Re: Can't boot with four dimms

Sat Apr 15, 2017 3:49 pm

I've tried each of the four dimms in each of the four sockets and also in pairs.
Only configuration that works is with one or two dimms in the B slots.

I'll check for bent pins next! Any idea what the chance of fixing a bent pin is?
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 49719
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Can't boot with four dimms

Sat Apr 15, 2017 3:55 pm

Depends on how badly bent the pins are.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
MileageMayVary
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:18 am
Location: Baltimore

Re: Can't boot with four dimms

Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:54 am

just brew it! wrote:
You can also try the slots one at a time, with a single DIMM to see if there's a specific slot that's bad.


This happened to my old Athlon X2 box back in the day after a nearby lightning strike/powersurge.
Main rig: Ryzen 1600@3.75GHz, R9 290@1050MHz, 16GB@2933MHz, 1080-1440-1080 Ultrasharps.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest