Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, JustAnEngineer

arb65912
Gerbil
Topic Author

Help with System Guide: Sept 2017 Work and Play

Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:57 am

Hello friends!

Every few years I attempt a challenge to build a system for me and I love every minute of it.
Once in a while though I need help, I am not good at computer area, have some basic knowledge but many times I need a helping hand.

The system I want to build:

The Work & Play

Component Price
Processor Intel Core i7-7820X $599.99
Cooler Cooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 280 $99.99
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X299 Gaming 7 $399.99
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4-3200 $336.99
Graphics Aorus GeForce GTX 1080 $579.99
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 1TB $419.99
HGST Deskstar NAS 6TB $228.99
LG WH14NS40 Blu-ray burner $49.99
Enclosure Fractal Design Define R5 $99.99
PSU Corsair RM1000i $179.99
Total $3291.89

Here is my first problem.

I am using https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... 6813145014
and https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... 12K54C9643

I have no idea where to plug in the SSD on this mobo.

Could you please point me into the video or website or simply let me know how and where I install this particular SSD on the mobo?

Thank you very much!

Cheers, AJ
Last edited by arb65912 on Thu Sep 28, 2017 10:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God

Re: Help with System Guide: September 2017

Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:12 am

That $400 :o motherboard has three M.2 slots. There's one between the CPU socket and the top PCIe slot, one just below the top PCIe slot (likely to be covered by the graphics card's cooelr) and one in line with the lower two PCIe slots. They're labeled as "13" on the diagram on page 28 of your user manual. The series of photographs on page 35 of the manual should make it clear how to install the M.2 drive and the heatsink.