Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, JustAnEngineer

atcrank
Gerbil
Topic Author

Nas solutions

Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:34 pm

I have been using a WD MyCloud 2TB for maybe three or four years. It has been useful enough as a basic fileserver, and a central repository for all my music and podcast and audio files. I wouldn't want to be without something doing this job. But it is not very configurable and the Twonky media server is so fragile that I can only recall one occasion that it worked. My wife uses a Macbook for work, so the fact that it can provide a Timemachine server when she's working from home is very good. It houses an audio collection running to about 700GB, and a collection of educational videos from coursera courses I've done.

Now that Netflix is here (Australia) everyone is dumping DVDs, except me. I have collected several hundred dvds in the last six months averaging $1 each. I'm thinking of backing the DVDs up to a NAS but I am not sure on the merits of the different solution options. I have an old Athlon x2 245 system in a micro-ATX case, which means I have some scope to reuse some parts, but I am not keen to just use this board as the base because power consumption is pretty high (only 120W, but still). I don't have any really big storage drives - a bit over a terabyte in three small drives.

Here are my options:
0. Do nothing, limp along with a mediocre NAS solution.

1. Online storage eg.Amazon Cloud ($60US / TB). We have a reasonably generous internet plan, but getting the basics uploaded could take a while. But, once its done, its done. Advantages: cheap, probably more secure and better backed up than I can manage for myself. Available everywhere. Exandable, likely to get cheaper.