Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, JustAnEngineer

 
Deathright
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:19 am

New Rig, input please

Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:12 pm

Hi,

So I am looking into building a new rig, reusing my current SSD, PSU, case and optical drive. I am gaming on 60 hz 1080 p monitor and I don't foresee myself switching form 1080 p anytime soon. So here is my list

AMD 2600x -209 US from AMZN
ASRock x470 board- 125 USD newegg
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) -115 Newegg
XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy-280 USD -newegg

Total 729 USD
Network theory sucks.
 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3732
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: New Rig, input please

Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:20 pm

Looks good!
But a B450 motherboard will do everything you need for less $$.
$280 for an RX590 is a tough sell for me when RX580 8GB are $200. That's 40% more cost for 10% performance improvement. The RX580 will be plenty for 1080p 60Hz
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
synthtel2
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:30 am

Re: New Rig, input please

Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:36 pm

Performance-wise, that looks solid bordering on overkill. Dropping to a 2600 non-X and/or a 580 could save a few bucks and might not be noticeable, depending on the games you're playing and settings you're using.

I'm not a fan of XFX for reliability reasons, but it looks like the better 590s are just an Asus that's way too expensive and a Sapphire that hasn't actually hit the shelves yet (?), so XFX could be the way to go.
 
dragontamer5788
Gerbil XP
Posts: 481
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 8:39 am

Re: New Rig, input please

Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:01 pm

Don't forget your Windows 10 tax.
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 18812
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: New Rig, input please

Tue Nov 20, 2018 8:04 pm

Deathright wrote:
AMD Ryzen 5 2600X - $209 from Amazon
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16 GiB (2 x 8 GiB) (PC4 25600) F4-3200C16D-16GVKB - $115 from Newegg
ASRock X470 Master SLI/AC - $125 from Newegg
As mentioned above, a B450 motherboard would do everything that you want for $45 to $70 less.
$65 -10MIR ASRock B450M Pro4
or $80 -10MIR MSI B450M Mortar
or $75 or $78 Gigabyte B450 Aorus M

Deathright wrote:
XFX Radeon RX 590 Fatboy - $280 from Newegg
Just $60 to $70 more would get you...
$340 Radeon RX Vega 56
or $350 GeForce GTX 1070Ti
i7-9700K, NH-D15, Z390M Pro4, 32 GiB, RX Vega64, Define Mini-C, SSR-850PX, C32HG70+U2407, RK-9000BR, MX518
 
Deathright
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:19 am

Re: New Rig, input please

Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:51 pm

I should have mentioned, I need wifi for the foreseeable future. Is a Vega worth it over a 1070? Also I thought going that high might be over kill?
Network theory sucks.
 
DancinJack
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4489
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: New Rig, input please

Tue Nov 20, 2018 11:00 pm

Deathright wrote:
I should have mentioned, I need wifi for the foreseeable future. Is a Vega worth it over a 1070? Also I thought going that high might be over kill?

Image
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64 - Ubuntu/Mint x64 :: 2015 13" rMBP Sierra :: Canon EOS 80D/Sony RX100
 
CScottG
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:53 pm

Re: New Rig, input please

Tue Nov 20, 2018 11:44 pm

 
ptsant
Gerbil XP
Posts: 397
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:45 pm

Re: New Rig, input please

Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:39 am

DPete27 wrote:
Looks good!
But a B450 motherboard will do everything you need for less $$.
$280 for an RX590 is a tough sell for me when RX580 8GB are $200. That's 40% more cost for 10% performance improvement. The RX580 will be plenty for 1080p 60Hz


Absolutely agree. If he saves enough from the B450 and the RX580 he can probably upgrade to a 2700, which is an 8-core and will handle any CPU-intensive games in the future, even paired with a faster GPU down the road. Alternatively, if he gets a B450 MB, a 2600 and a RX580, he can probably put some money ($200?) towards a 1440p monitor. The RX580 won't rock the 1440p resolution, but it is fast enough if he's willing to play at "high" instead of ultra. I've been using an RX480 at 1440p and I'm quite satisfied with it in most titles at high. A last option would be to put the money towards Vega56, but it would be a massive overkill for 1080p60 and an imbalanced build, in my opinion.
Image
 
K-L-Waster
Gerbil XP
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:10 pm
Location: Hmmm, I was *here* a second ago...

Re: New Rig, input please

Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:21 am

Are you planning to put a heavy duty cooler on the CPU, or just use the stock cooler? And, are you planning to overclock, or will you just let XFR do it's thing?

If you're not overclocking and not putting a 3rd party cooler on it, you may be better off following ptsant's advice and going with a B450 mobo and a 2700 (non-X) -- give up some clock speed in favour of more physical cores.
Main System: i7-8700K, ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E, 16 GB DDR4 3200 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 TI, 1 TB CRUCIAL MX500, Corsair 550D

HTPC: I5-4460, ASUS H97M-E, 8 GB RAM, GTX 970, CRUCIAL 256GB MX100, SILVERSTONE GD09B
 
Deathright
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:19 am

Re: New Rig, input please

Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:46 am

Not planning on overclocking, I am just mainly using my pc for gaming. Also I figure I may upgrade as the AM4 platform reaches its end. I am not sure two more physical cores vs a higher clock speed really going help in gaming. I certainly can go up in budget, but 1080p still seems a sweet spot in teams of clarity for your buck. If anything I could be convinced into getting a better monitor and higher end graphics card.
Network theory sucks.
 
K-L-Waster
Gerbil XP
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:10 pm
Location: Hmmm, I was *here* a second ago...

Re: New Rig, input please

Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:50 am

Regardless, the 470 chipset is only required if you intend to use multi-GPU, so you can save some $ there.
Main System: i7-8700K, ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E, 16 GB DDR4 3200 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 TI, 1 TB CRUCIAL MX500, Corsair 550D

HTPC: I5-4460, ASUS H97M-E, 8 GB RAM, GTX 970, CRUCIAL 256GB MX100, SILVERSTONE GD09B
 
gecko575
Gerbil
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 6:53 pm

Re: New Rig, input please

Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:06 am

Eh, if you are gaming at 1080p and are happy with it, you could go for the Asrock B450M Pro4 JAE already linked and the Ryzen 2600.

Couple that with one of the $200 RX 580's and speedy ram of your choice and you'll be gtg. The whole thing'll come out to ~$550

Then in a couple years if you get the itch, you can upgrade both the monitor and graphics card for some serious oomph later on.
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 18812
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: New Rig, input please

Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:19 pm

Save $20 on your Ryzen 5 2600X today:
https://techreport.com/news/34273/almos ... -much-more
i7-9700K, NH-D15, Z390M Pro4, 32 GiB, RX Vega64, Define Mini-C, SSR-850PX, C32HG70+U2407, RK-9000BR, MX518
 
dragontamer5788
Gerbil XP
Posts: 481
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 8:39 am

Re: New Rig, input please

Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:02 pm

Deathright wrote:
Not planning on overclocking, I am just mainly using my pc for gaming. Also I figure I may upgrade as the AM4 platform reaches its end. I am not sure two more physical cores vs a higher clock speed really going help in gaming. I certainly can go up in budget, but 1080p still seems a sweet spot in teams of clarity for your buck. If anything I could be convinced into getting a better monitor and higher end graphics card.


IMO, everyone should consider to overclock their RAM. RAM is normally 2133 to 2666 at 1.2V, but can run closer to 3000, maybe 3200 if you spend a little bit more. Especially Ryzen CPUs, since the internal infinity-fabric syncs to RAM. So if you overclock to 3200 (from 2666), you make the infinity fabric run 20% faster.

RAM XMP settings automatically do this for you. Its pretty easy. Just be sure to do quality-control (IE: Memtest86) since you're above and beyond JEDEC specifications... but I've gotten defective RAM from the store before. So you really should be running Memtest86 anyway (even at stock settings). Sooo... since you're running Memtest86 to test out your RAM (whether or not to return it), might as well overclock it. Especially if you bought XMP-ready RAM that has been factory-tested at these higher speeds.

The B450 seems like it supports overclocked RAM. Its one of the easiest overclocks you can do (literally one setting to switch to XMP profile in the BIOS). So definitely consider XMP / RAM factory-tested overclocks.

---------

Going above 3200 is difficult on Ryzen. But 3200 off of cheap Hynix dies is quite common. No need to overspend on Samsung B-Dies if you're only aiming for 3200 16-18-18 factory-default XMP timings. The cheap stuff at 3200 should work fine. The cheap stuff at 3400... might not work. I draw the line at 3200.

Fundamentally, XMP 3200 RAM overclock is just going to push your RAM voltage to 1.35. (DDR3 ran at 1.5V, so this "overvoltage" at 1.35 is quite safe and still relatively power-efficient). Your motherboard will also push the voltage on AMD's infinity fabric a bit higher (Vdd_soc to 1.1V). All of these settings are automatic, I'm just letting you know so that you know what your motherboard is doing when you push that "XMP" button. The higher voltage then allows the CPU to communicate with RAM much faster.

Yes, its less efficient than default DDR4 at 1.2V, but we're talking about 5W or so, at the most. You can practically ignore the extra power and heat that is generated, especially since any XMP-RAM will come with a bigger heat-spreader to work with the 1.35V level. The CPU will also draw a bit more power, because you've overclocked the Infinity Fabric.
 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3732
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: New Rig, input please

Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:45 pm

^TL;DR - the DDR4-3200 kit you linked in your first post is a good pick. Make sure to enable XMP so it runs at 3200MHz.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
Deathright
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:19 am

Re: New Rig, input please

Thu Nov 22, 2018 7:20 pm

DPete27 wrote:
^TL;DR - the DDR4-3200 kit you linked in your first post is a good pick. Make sure to enable XMP so it runs at 3200MHz.



Wait, should I worry about it being compatible with my AMD build?
Network theory sucks.
 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3732
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: New Rig, input please

Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:14 am

No need to worry.

XMP usually isn't enabled in the BIOS by default, so if you don't enable it (and leave it on auto) the RAM will run at <3200MHz
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
dragontamer5788
Gerbil XP
Posts: 481
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 8:39 am

Re: New Rig, input please

Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:42 am

Deathright wrote:
DPete27 wrote:
^TL;DR - the DDR4-3200 kit you linked in your first post is a good pick. Make sure to enable XMP so it runs at 3200MHz.



Wait, should I worry about it being compatible with my AMD build?


I'm running 3200MHz 16-18-18-38 G.SKILL Ripjaws V in my rig (Threadripper 1950x), which has the same core as Ryzen. The first group I bought was fully defective: I had to RMA it. After that, it worked fine. These things happen though, which is why its important to use Memtest86 when you are building.

G.SKILL will take back the RAM by mail, it will only cost you shipping... and the time it takes to figure out that your RAM is causing BSOD. Lol. But yeah, defective parts happen, so I always like to put new builds through a series of tests to help isolate any issues.
 
Deathright
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:19 am

Re: New Rig, input please

Sun Nov 25, 2018 2:07 pm

Okay, so I finalized

I picked up the 2600X
A sapphire 580 https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... 6814202280
the G.Skillz 16GB 3200
The ASROCK B450 M Pro
TP-Link Archer T6E AC1300 Wifi card

Total 650.00

So thanks guys for helping me narrow in on what I really needed.
Network theory sucks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JustAnEngineer and 11 guests
GZIP: On