Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, JustAnEngineer

 
chµck
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:14 pm

Memory trouble with LGA3647 build

Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:15 am

Hi, so I'm trying to put together a LGA3647 workstation.
I've assembled all the parts and the machine powers on, but it doesn't get past POST.
I get a "No memory detected" error and I can't figure this one out. I've tried installing the memory (4x32GB) in different slots and the furthest I've gotten is a new error message: "Memory signal is too marginal".
Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?

Build:
Workstation - Supermicro SYS-7049GP-TRT w/ X11DPG-QT motherboard
CPUs - 2 x Intel Xeon 4114
RAM - Supermicro Certified MEM-DR432L-SL02-ER26 32GB DDR4-2666 LP ECC REG DIMM

Any help would be appreciated.
Trump 2020
 
MOSFET
Gerbil XP
Posts: 369
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 12:42 am

Re: Memory trouble with LGA3647 build

Thu Dec 20, 2018 3:26 am

Best i got is from the mobo manual.

2 CPUs & 4 DIMMs
CPU1: P1-DIMMA1/P1-DIMMD1
CPU2: P2-DIMMA1/P2-DIMMD1

Sweet looking board. With all those cores and all that PCIe, I'd say it almost looks epic.
Be careful on inserting this (or any G34 chip) into the socket. Once you pull that restraining lever, it is either a good install or a piece of silicon jewelry.
 
Topinio
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1750
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:28 am
Location: London

Re: Memory trouble with LGA3647 build

Thu Dec 20, 2018 4:14 am

Go back to basics.

I presume you've check the power leads are properly hooked up to all 4 of the board's power inputs (24-pin, 2x 8-pin, and 4-pin), and have disconnected everything else (GPUs, disks &c.) already.

I'd start with what happens with only 1 CPU and 1 DIMM? That config should (per the manual) be using CPU1 and P1-DIMMA1, when you do that does it say "No memory detected" ?

If so, have you swapped in each memory module in turn into slot P1-DIMMA1 and tried to POST?

If so, have you swapped for the other CPU into socket CPU1 and tried each DIMM in turn?

If you have tried all 8 possibilities for using just CPU1 and P1-DIMMA1, and the power delivery is good*, then I'd lean towards the motherboard being DOA.

{*} what PSU config are you using, if redundant have you tried with only 1 of them?

Also, what (if anything) can you get from SMCIPMITool / IPMIView, and does that let you see any PMBus info?
Desktop: E3-1270 v5, X11SAT-F, 32GB, RX 580, 500GB Crucial P1, 250GB Crucial MX500, 4TB 7E8, Xonar DGX, XL2730Z + L22e-20
HTPC: i5-2500K, DH67GD, 6GB, GT 1030, 250GB MX500, 1.5TB Barracuda, Xonar DX, G2420HDB
Laptop: MacBook6,1
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53163
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Memory trouble with LGA3647 build

Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:39 am

Have you reset the CMOS?
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
chµck
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:14 pm

Re: Memory trouble with LGA3647 build

Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:19 pm

Thanks for the advice guys.
Turns out the CPUs weren't seated properly.
New to this socket so it was a learning experience.
Trump 2020
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53163
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Memory trouble with LGA3647 build

Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:05 pm

I'm surprised it was able to get far enough to tell you that it had a marginal memory signal.

Glad to hear it is working now.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests
GZIP: On