Personal computing discussed

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

 
Bob Maenhout
Gerbil Jedi
Topic Author
Posts: 1971
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands
Contact:

High-end GPU in low-end PC

Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:20 pm

Ok, Ive an X800XT PE, 2x 512MB PC3700EB and a TV card here. At my dads work they are throwing away PC stuff, also a P3 with if Im right 633Mhz or so. Not much, I know. But my question is should I take it, build in the GPU, RAM and TV card and use it as a HTPC? Only one problem, the X800XT PE needs at least a P4, recommended is 2500Mhz... Whoa! Thats not exactly what you call a P3 :lol:, but are they saying this for customers so they wont have a too high overrated GPU in a **** PC? Or is it seriously mentioned because it might not work?
EVE-Online
Location: Pure Blind
Corporation: Nexus Legion
Alliance: NxT LeveL
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 22531
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:24 pm

Depending on the motherboard, it might not actually FIT the AGP slot. Especially if it's AGP 1.0 (2x) like teh BX chipset. A VIA Apollo 133Pro would be OK, though, since it SHOULD be backwards compatible with AGP 4x motherboards. I think it's a poor idea myself.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
 
Pettytheft
Silver subscriber
Gerbil XP
Posts: 428
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 2:36 pm
Location: California

Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:27 pm

You want to couple a X800XT PE AGP with a 633Mhz CPU?! The motherboard will not work with that card anyway, or the memory or am I misunderstanding what your asking?
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 44213
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:37 pm

Odds that the video card will be physically compatible with the AGP slot: Not good. Odds that it'll work even if it does fit: not good either.

The RAM definitely won't work; a system of that age is going to be using SDRAM instead of DDR (different type of DIMM slot).
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
Bob Maenhout
Gerbil Jedi
Topic Author
Posts: 1971
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:40 pm

just brew it! wrote:
Odds that the video card will be physically compatible with the AGP slot: Not good. Odds that it'll work even if it does fit: not good either.

The RAM definitely won't work; a system of that age is going to be using SDRAM instead of DDR (different type of DIMM slot).

Damn, I forgot about that :-?. Even worse, RD-RAM might be used too here... ****...


Ok, thx all for replies, I wont get the P3...
EVE-Online
Location: Pure Blind
Corporation: Nexus Legion
Alliance: NxT LeveL
 
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
Posts: 24502
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa
Contact:

Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:02 pm

If its a 633mhz rig, its prolly sdram, PC100 or 133. Hell, take it, and put in a cheap ti200 or such for a card. Be a cheap box to fill your needs.
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
 
Sargent Duck
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3122
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 8:05 pm
Location: In my secret cave that has bats

Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:15 pm

The ram won't work (it'll be PC 100 or 133), but I know where you're coming from with the vid card. I have a friend who took his P3 800 and coupled it with a 9800Pro. He was able to play D3 at pretty good framerates I guess :roll:
Venii, vidii, vicii
Wii came, Wii saw , Wii conquered

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: curtisb and 3 guests