Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, JustAnEngineer

Black Applesauce
Gerbil
Topic Author

First build! Help needed.

Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:36 pm

Hey guys, time for my first build! My budget is somewhere in the 850 dollar range, but I will update if that raises or lowers.

I'm thinking about modeling the build off the newest econobox, with some slight modifications.

Rough draft:
Bitfenix prodigy (REALLY want this thing, looks stunning)
i3 3220
I have no mobo experience, so I'd like some recommendations in that category
Insert cheap RAM here
Nvidia gtx 650 ti
A solid 1-2 TB hard drive
PSU help needed as well

Peripherals needed:
A decent 1920 x 1080p monitor
A cheap but effective keyboard

The system will be used mainly for gaming, with some light video watching, editing, and browsing. What else should I get to help build the actual thing? Any specific multi-tools, or various accessories that will make the building process easier?

Thanks in advance.
Be nice to nerds. Chances are you'll end up working for one.
-Bill Gates

Airmantharp
Emperor Gerbilius I

Re: First build! Help needed.

Mon Aug 26, 2013 9:00 pm

I won't go into pricing- but a few things-

1. Stretch your budget for a quad-core Intel. Really.
2. The motherboard doesn't really matter too much- unless you need specific features or real overclocking prowess, focus on price vs. reliability.
3. Upgrade to a GTX660 Ti (or better), and look closely at AMD, and be very wary of the coolers.
4. Consider an SSD for the OS, but that is a much lower priority than making sure that you have the CPU and GPU angles covered.
5. You'll need no more than 450W- max. Focus on quality, size, and modularity/length of cables.

This isn't really that hard, but there's also a few angles you haven't covered- what about sound? Networking? Do you anticipate the need for any kind of dedicated interfaces like Firewire or Thunderbolt?