Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

 
tigidig3x
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:35 am

Hi guys, I'm currently transferring my system to new case. But my system cannot display all it does is on for like 2 seconds then off again. Im thinlking about some psi cables unplugged mobo. I have only plugged 24 pin, and fans, heatsink fans, hard disk and DVD rom. Also those power and reset jumpers I think I plugged them correctly by following mobo manual. Pls help if I get wrong with my steps or missed something tnx..
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 45400
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:45 am

I assume you mean PSU cables?

Unless this is a really old motherboard, there should be a 4- or 8-pin power connector near the CPU socket. You need to plug the corresponding cable from the PSU in there. DO NOT plug the 6-pin (auxiliary PCIe) power cable there even though it will fit the connector; this will short out the +12V rail and potentially damage the PSU.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
DPete27
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2648
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:19 pm

Is that your P8H61M-LE motherboard? (you should tell us this info in your original post) Like JBI said, make sure you plug in the 4-pin CPU power connector. It's blue and is at the top left of the CPU socket.
Is there such a power plug on your Corsair VS650? (again you need to tell us this info) I'm sure it's there, but I can't see it in the Corsair photos.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
bitcat70
Gerbil
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:02 pm

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:58 pm

Any video cards in there?
 
tigidig3x
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:00 pm

Thanks for your help guys. Another problem is it said reboot and select proper device. My drives has os installed and I don't need to reformat right?
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 45400
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:10 pm

tigidig3x wrote:
Thanks for your help guys. Another problem is it said reboot and select proper device. My drives has os installed and I don't need to reformat right?

If you can remember which port the system drive was connected to before you moved the system to the new case, that's the one you want to use. It's also possible that the boot drive either isn't connected properly, or is connected to a port that doesn't support booting. You typically want to have your boot drive connected to port #1... and some systems won't boot at all if you connect the boot drive to port #5 or #6.

Make sure the hard drive is still listed in the boot order settings in your BIOS.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
tigidig3x
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:10 pm

Please help me fixing this.. :(
 
Captain Ned
Gold subscriber
Global Moderator
Posts: 24405
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:15 pm

tigidig3x wrote:
Please help me fixing this.. :(

JBI just told you how. If you rearranged SATA cables when repacking the case, you'll need to go into the BIOS and reset the proper boot order so that the drive with the OS on it is the first drive the mobo looks to for an OS.

EDIT: You did mark the drives (on the label) with a Sharpie as you added them?
Never ask a woman who is eating ice cream straight from the carton how she's doing.
 
tigidig3x
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:08 am

There are 4 sata connectors on my mobo, and i have 2 hard disks and 1 dvd rom. Each of them has single cables attached indiviually to the mobo connectors. But the dvd rom, i attached 1 cable from the psu to the dvd rom but im not so sure im tnhking it is for power. Also, at the bios, when i select boot priority, it shows only my dvd writer nothing more. Damn is this a problem to my hardware? Before i transfered this system, this is working peacefully. Please help me onthis..
 
tigidig3x
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:16 am

Maybe there are some mistakes i plugged or something iissed to plug to the mobo thats why my hard drives arent detected? I plugged at connector 1 the dvd rom cable my main disk where os is installed is plugged to sata connector 2 and my extra hard disk plugged to sata connector 3.. Did i do it right?????
 
Captain Ned
Gold subscriber
Global Moderator
Posts: 24405
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 am

You need to plug SATA power connectors into your hard drives. Once you do that they'll show in the BIOS Boot Order menu.
Never ask a woman who is eating ice cream straight from the carton how she's doing.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 45400
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:37 am

Try moving the main disk to #1, and make sure you remembered to connect the power connectors to both hard drives!
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
tigidig3x
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:07 am

Thank you guys now my problem is fixed the other problem right now, is the USB slots in the front side of my case isnt functioning? I checked my old PSU those generic psu it has like jumpers or cables saying usb. Im trying to find a USB cable or jumper in my new case but it ha nothing. I only found a 4 pin that is saying 5 volts, ground, and i forget the other 2. How to make this work guys? Thanks...
 
tigidig3x
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:52 am

BUMPS. Please help me... =(
 
DPete27
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2648
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:32 am

1) USB ports are NOT powered directly by the PSU

2) Did you read your motherboard manual which tells you where to plug the front panel USB connector into the mobo?

3) The front panel cables are typically sticking out inside the case when it's new. You'll find a bunch of tiny connectors for the power, reset, hdd / power lights, and some bigger connectors for front panel audio, USB2.0 and/or USB3.0
Last edited by DPete27 on Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
tigidig3x
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:40 am

Oh im sorry, i meant that i looked in my old case that it has a cable in the CASE ITSELF in the frontpanel marked USB. but in my case, i cant find one. so i dont know what would i plug. I know where to plug the cable but i dont know what would i plug since i cant find a usb in the front panel of my case. i have cougar volant.
 
DPete27
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2648
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:48 am

Check out the pictures here. (you can zoom in) The side view shows the USB3.0 header to be wrapped in black. The single USB2.0 header looks like this. Make sure you check that nothing is tucked behind the drive cages out of plain sight.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
tigidig3x
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:03 am

Re: Unplugged psi cables in mobo; help pleasep

Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:04 am

Thanks for all of your help guys! I finally solved the problem. I chose the right cable but plugged it in the wrong side and it is a 4 pin cable saying:

5 vots
-D
+D
Ground

Im not so sure but as far i remember it is that kind of cable. Atleast i learned something, Thanks again...


/THREAD CLOSED

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests