Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

 
freebird
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:03 pm

Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Sun Jun 11, 2017 8:43 pm

Has anyone else discovered it released for other X370 motherboards? I haven't read anything about it, but I guess I'll interrupt my 2 x R290s Ethereum mining for awhile to see what's in the Bios...

Speaking of mining, I might have to go buy an Nvidia GPU (1st since my GTX 260s in SLI) while I mine for awhile, because I can't find any freaking decent AMD cards with the EXPLOSION of Ethereum Mining Craze!!!! isn't that crazy? Maybe I'll just put a 5850 or 2 (have them laying around somewhere) back in my Game Machine and set the R290s in the basement on an old FX990 mobo with 3 PCIe x 16 slots.
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 23759
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: Comin' to you directly from the Mothership

Re: Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:11 pm

Gigabyte has a beta for my B350 Gaming 3: http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/GA-A ... support-dl

I'm going to wait for the final version, though. I'm so tired of flashing firmware updates and resetting UEFI settings.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.
 
freebird
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:03 pm

Re: Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:26 pm

Well, the Asrock ones aren't listed as Beta! WooHoo!! as Homer would say... and so far they ROCK! No problem at all booting up my 64GB of Gskill Trident Z (16GBx4) with it's XMP profile CL14 14-14-14-34. Before I had to increase the CL from 14 up to 18 to get it to boot... had it running at CL 18 14-14-14-34 CMD T1; now it defaulted to T2 with the XMP and every memory setting under the sun. Also looks like you can set memory speed all the way up to 4000MHZ... This could be a big deal to some people... I just like that I can now run my 64 GB at it's rated speed, might reboot one more time to try an OC from 3000 to 3200.
(Actually, I was running vanilla 2933, not 3000, which is what XMP 3000 defaulted to..., but they have an option for 3066 in the BIOS and settings all the way up to 4000)

But I need to get back to burning up my R290s with some mining... :lol:

Update: Yeah, boots no problameo at 3200 CL14 14-14-14-34 too! for some reason it set it back to T1 ( had to manually change it to T2) , probably because I manually switch the XMP profile from 2933 to 3200.

So I'm able to OC 64GB from 3000 up to 3200 at CL14... SWEEEET.... have to try OCing some other stuff too. I currently have my X1700 running at 3950 @ 1.3875v same as before this version of the BIOS.

CPU-z is showing T1 and I know I set it to T2, but maybe we'll need a CPU-Z update for it to show T2 for Ryzen Memory settings. My Aida64 eval is over so I can use it to test the increased Mem speed with CL14. :(

Update 2:

Wow, don't know if it was the 3950 setting of the CPU or what, but my real memory speed seemed SLOW. I have a RAM drive and when I tested it with AS SSD test I was only getting about 4000MB Seq. read/write. Before I was getting 7800-8300 or something. After resetting my Memory Settings again and changing CPU speed from 3950 to 4000 Mhz my Ram Drive AS SSD test was back up 8900MB/9600MB Seq. Read/Write.

Maybe Asrock's Bios aren't fully "baked" yet... Oh, well, I'm leaving it there for now and going back to frying my R290s for a few Ethereum dollars...
Last edited by freebird on Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
LostCat
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1777
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Alphanumeric symbols.

Re: Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:11 pm

derFunkenstein wrote:
Gigabyte has a beta for my B350 Gaming 3: http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/GA-A ... support-dl

I'm going to wait for the final version, though. I'm so tired of flashing firmware updates and resetting UEFI settings.

That is definitely lame. I wouldn't mind as much if their default settings sucked less.

That said, I've only gone through three updates since I got my rev 1 (4 for 1.0.0.4, 5b, and 5c for 1.0.0.6) so it's not really that big a deal.
And now I'm no longer primarily a PC gamer. *shrug*
 
LostCat
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1777
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Alphanumeric symbols.

Re: Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:12 pm

freebird wrote:
Well, the Asrock ones aren't listed as Beta! WooHoo!!

I'm not really convinced everything they do isn't beta :lol:
And now I'm no longer primarily a PC gamer. *shrug*
 
freebird
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:03 pm

Re: Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:25 pm

[quote="LostCat"][quote="freebird"]Well, the Asrock ones aren't listed as Beta! WooHoo!![/quote]
I'm not really convinced everything they do isn't beta :lol:[/quote]


Yeah, I have to agree... :roll:
 
bfg-9000
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:32 am

This latest Agesa is supposed to drop average latency from about 76ns to 70ns. I realize Ryzen has large caches and RAM timings may be 19-23-23 these days but this still sounds terrible to me.

I remember working to get Pentium 4 latency down from 95 to about this range, + Core 2 from about 80 to around 65--and both of those have a FSB!
My FSB-free A64s had latency in the 50s, and S1366/S1156 even saw 48ns with little tweaking and DDR3-1600. Am I missing something?

BTW Rambus was ~119ns but this was constant, not an average.
 
freebird
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:03 pm

Re: Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:50 am

I would imagine that is one BIG thing they will address with (Ry)ZEN 2 (hopefully!) I know the 1st thing I did with all my Phenom Iis and even FX8000 chips was overclock the memory controller to increase cache and memory speeds. With Ryzen it seems to be locked with memory bus speed, so maybe someone that can afford 4000Mhz DDR4 can tell us if latency is reduced.

I'm done buying memory for awhile...
 
MileageMayVary
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:18 am
Location: Baltimore

Re: Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:58 am

derFunkenstein wrote:
Gigabyte has a beta for my B350 Gaming 3: http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/GA-A ... support-dl

I'm going to wait for the final version, though. I'm so tired of flashing firmware updates and resetting UEFI settings.


I've been waiting for AGESA 1.0.0.6 to update my BIOS since my initial flash in April.
Main rig: Ryzen 1600@3.75GHz, R9 290@1050MHz, 16GB@2933MHz, 1080-1440-1080 Ultrasharps.
 
freebird
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:03 pm

Re: Just saw Agesa 1.0.0.6 is out for my AsRock X370 Pro Gaming Board...

Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:41 pm

I forgot to mention that they added additional options for disabling cores so you can try and run 4 cores all on one ccx unit, don't know if doing that may disable 1/2 the cache or not, but it may allow for higher OCing. That is probably a stretch though since I think the 4-4.2 Ghz limit is more of a process barrier than anything thermal, but I'm pretty satisfied with a steady/stable 4Ghz out of my 1700.

oh yeah, and there seems to be a ton of memory settings that weren't there before that I have no clue of how to or hope of ever using...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest