Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

 
toki
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:55 pm

trying to get a little more out of ram

Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:00 pm

I was thinking of maybe trying to get a little more out of my ram sticks. I was looking at the ram prices thread and it got me wanting to try to get a little boost out of my ram. I am on Kingston 1333 ddr3 ram 16 gigs, asus P8Q77-M with i53450s chip. I was hoping maybe I could get a little more zip in operations in the OS such as video editing. I have never tried this before and would like to know what people think about it.
 
Vhalidictes
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1775
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 2:32 pm
Location: Paragon City, RI

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:13 pm

toki, are you talking about changing timing settings of your RAM, or something else? Also, what are the memory settings you're using now? If you have the model number(s) of the RAM sticks that would help too.

Most memory has some timings wiggle room, but it really depends a lot on your motherboard and its settings.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 51018
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:45 pm

Also keep in mind that a 20% increase in RAM performance will typically translate to just a few percent in overall performance gain for most applications. Barely noticeable in practice.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
toki
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:55 pm

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:27 pm

https://s28.postimg.org/bq8vqyr8t/Untitled.png

those are the specs. I was just reading that article and got an itching. lol, sorry. I just wish I could get just a little more zip in everything as I can't really afford to get new parts. thanks for the replies btw.
 
MOSFET
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 12:42 am

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:14 pm

It can work, although it also may not. Nothing should be harmed by trying. I was lucky recently with a pair of G,Skill Sniper DDR3-1333 4GB modules (8GB kit). I long time ago (2012-ish), I tried running them at 1600 with an AMD Llano A8-3850 APU. Didn't work, but they could get ~1460 MHz by raising BClk. Recently I tried turning them up to 1600 again on a more modern system (I think it was either Sandybridge or FX) and it works fine! I did set some timings manually to be more appropriate for 1600 - by default, the system copied the 1333 timings for 1600, probably because there was no SPD/XMP setting for 1600. So it was trying to run 9-9-9-{etc}. I loosened things to 10-10-10-{etc+2} and everything is solid. Obviously YMMV - this is anecdotal evidence from one pair of DIMMs. It doesn't hurt to try, and even if you've tried, it doesn't hurt to retry.

quick add: I'm pretty sure the Snipers were 1.6V by default. In your case, you might bump the voltage slightly, and start with 1600 and 11-11-11-28-35--CR-2T. If it boots and stays stable, keep tightening slowly.
Be careful on inserting this (or any G34 chip) into the socket. Once you pull that restraining lever, it is either a good install or a piece of silicon jewelry.
 
toki
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:55 pm

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:19 am

ok, so I moved it up to 1600. I did not change the timing on the ram. I am not exactly sure what to put for the timing to be honest or which way to move it if it doesn't work correctly at the moment. Would maybe like some help?
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 51018
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:45 am

What (if anything) have you done to test stability at the new speed?
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
toki
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:55 pm

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:01 am

just brew it! wrote:
What (if anything) have you done to test stability at the new speed?
I just ran memtest for 1 pass but I am unsure how many passes I should try with it.
 
toki
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:55 pm

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:03 am

my settings right now are 1600 with a timing of 10 10 10 27. It passed memtest on 1 pass so far. I am unsure how many passes I should try
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 51018
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:42 am

I would let memtest run overnight, then run something to really stress it (e.g. Prime95 torture test), to see if the system remains stable under load.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
toki
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:55 pm

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:26 am

just brew it! wrote:
I would let memtest run overnight, then run something to really stress it (e.g. Prime95 torture test), to see if the system remains stable under load.
I ran prime95 overnight while I slept, I will run it again under torture test tonight and see. It has passed everything so far though.
 
bfg-9000
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: trying to get a little more out of ram

Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:25 pm

Image
1600 out of DDR3 1333 is pretty good, and I would much rather run 1600 10-10-10 than 1333 9-9-9. There's generally not many program types that are RAM bandwidth constrained though, the most notable ones being data compression and games.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest