Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, Thresher

 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:21 am

Still figuring this new pc out...
At Stock the idle is ".8" volts.
Gigabyte X399 Designare EX motherboard.

But the voltage may spike to 1.48 volts in the bios read out.
And CPUz. (bios at AUTO)
Really do not want that at all.

But once I SET the cpu voltage to...say 1.225 in the bios, the voltage
spikes stop but so does the idle ".8" volts...stays at around 1.225.

And then I've read that a lot of the "software" readouts can be flaky.

I want the low voltage with out the high spikes.
(But most important is stopping the 1.4+ voltages.)

Thanks
Last edited by jmc2 on Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
yeeeeman
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 2:00 pm

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quit" ? 1950X

Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:36 am

Can you explain why that voltage bothers you? If the manufacturer deemed it to be safe, why care?
Those values are really irrelevant since CPU changes voltages so fast and so often, whereas the value readout is done each second.
 
Heiwashin
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4800
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:21 pm
Location: Denham Springs, LA

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quit" ? 1950X

Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:47 pm

:lol: u cray man. Find something more productive to do.
Looking for Knowledge wrote:
When drunk.....
I want to have sex, but find I am more likely to be shot down than when I am sober.
 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3736
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quit" ? 1950X

Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:16 pm

You can apply a global voltage offset which will lower the voltage by a set amount on EVERY P state. (aka coarse tuning)
Or you can alter the voltage of EACH P state via software. This would be necessary if the global offset doesn't play nice on all P states (aka fine tuning)
Of course, any voltage adjustments need to be tested for stability.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
Mentawl
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quit" ? 1950X

Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:33 pm

Instead of setting the CPU voltage to either "AUTO" or a fixed value, select the Offset option and set the offset to (for example) +0.0010v (or however small an amount you can get). This means it won't add tons on at load, which modern motherboards seem to love doing. You could also check the LLC (load line calibration) setting and lower that (it's probably on Auto right now, really low levels may affect stability, you'll need to dial it in a bit).
i7-8700k @ 4.7ghz | MSI Krait Z370 Gaming | nVidia GTX1080 | 16gb DDR4 3200 | 2x SSDs 1x HDD | Antec Solo II | Dell U2713HM
 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quit" ? 1950X

Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:06 am

Ah, the "voltage offsets", had not gotten into that yet...had forgotten about it. (thanks!)
Stability issues been keeping me busy.
4 Ghz seems too unstable, 3.9Ghz is MUCH more stable then 4.
I would never notice the difference in 3.9 vs 4.0 functionally.
But maybe the offsets will give me that magic 4Ghz that I would love to see.

I remember now that I have "voltage offsets" done with my Intel 6 core
from 2012 and it idles at ".8v" and no voltage spikes showing up.

Yes, "AUTO" is awful, lots of tweaking to do.

@yeeeeman
AMD states that past 1.35 volts the lifespan of the cpu is reduced.
So 1.4+ volts does bother me a lot.
All use degrades but there is usually a "hockey stick" in the graph where the
degradation rate goes up sharply.
I plan on staying away from that area with a $1000 cpu (was... now $800 or so).

Thanks to all!
 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quit" ? 1950X

Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:45 pm

DPete27 wrote:
You can apply a global voltage offset which will lower the voltage by a set amount on EVERY P state. (aka coarse tuning)
Or you can alter the voltage of EACH P state via software. This would be necessary if the global offset doesn't play nice on all P states (aka fine tuning)
Of course, any voltage adjustments need to be tested for stability.


Well, I went hunting for the "voltage offset" settings in my Gigabyte X399 Designare EX Motherboard(threadripper) and am hoping they are under a different name.

"Offsets" are in my 3930 Intel pc bios but I can not find them in this Gigabyte bios.
Guru3D did a review of my motherboard and mentioned "offsets" but none of the
bios images showed an "offset" listing.

Another name?

Thanks,
jmc2
 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3736
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:45 pm

Looking at page 46 of the manual. M.I.T => Advanced Voltage Settings. It looks like dynamic Vcore would have the right format for an offset.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:27 am

DPete27 wrote:
Looking at page 46 of the manual. M.I.T => Advanced Voltage Settings. It looks like dynamic Vcore would have the right format for an offset.


Thank you!
Will look at that and see if I can get back to the ".8v" idle that it had and my OCed 4.3Ghz 3930 has.
The Threadripper right now is at 3.9 Ghz/1.25 volts. But idle is also 1.25 volts.
CPUz says (underload) voltage of 1.28-1.29. At least I'm under 1.3volts finally.

Started at 1.30 volts and been dropping volts and testing. 1.25 is not the bottom yet.
I found that dropping the voltage .05 volts dropped the cpu temp by 5 degrees C.
75C down to 70C. (Noctua Air cooler/silicone pad). Hope to get it into the 60sC.
Ambient was 27C/82F
 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Wed Apr 04, 2018 2:35 pm

Now I did find "Peripherals" > "AMD CBS" > "Zen Common Options" > "Custom Pstates/Throttling"
At that point you get a full screen, screaming announcement of death and destruction for your cpu :)

I'm down to 1.21 volt on the cpu @3.9Ghz and I'm going to stay there for a while.
There maybe more downward room in the voltage. Have not crashed with that yet.
With speed ... 3.925Ghz works 3.950 crashes. Think I'm good for now.

EDIT...
Oh... those dynamic Vcore options were "grayed out", not functional.

Thanks,
jmc2
 
DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3736
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:02 am

jmc2 wrote:
Oh... those dynamic Vcore options were "grayed out", not functional.

Probably because you had already removed the Vcore "Auto" setting and inserted a fixed global core voltage (applies to all P-states, hence no voltage reduction at idle). There's no point in a voltage offset if you're overriding dynamic voltages with a fixed voltage.
jmc2 wrote:
"Custom Pstates/Throttling"

That sounds like what I was describing previously (altering individual P-states instead of a global voltage offset). I don't recall seeing that in BIOS on the mobos I've worked on, but since you've got the top of the top end board, it doesn't surprise me that it's there.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
OrestisKotopoulos
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:43 pm

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:53 pm

So did u solve this problem??? I have the gigabyte x399 designare ex and the threadripper 2950x and i think I have the same issue. My cpu voltage jumps from 1.2 to 1.475 and then back to 1.3 or lower. I have not overclocked the cpu. When the voltage rises my cpu temperature rises as well. For example in bios my cpu voltage is about 1.4 or a bit higher and cpu temp is 39-42 degrees Celsius. Could you tell me how I can fix that ???
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3186
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:10 am

jmc2 wrote:
I'm down to 1.21 volt on the cpu @3.9Ghz and I'm going to stay there for a while.
There maybe more downward room in the voltage. Have not crashed with that yet.
With speed ... 3.925Ghz works 3.950 crashes. Think I'm good for now.

You play a lot closer to the sun than I ever cared to, even when I was pushing for every last MHz on my Celeron 300A. 25 MHz stable now is likely not going to be stable in 6-12 months...
Desktop: X570 Gaming X | 3900X | 32 GB | Alphacool Eisblock Radeon VII | Heatkiller R3 | Samsung 4K 40" | 1 TB SX8200 Pro + 2 TB 660p + 2 TB SATA SSD
NAS: 1950X | Designare EX | 32 GB ECC | 7x8 TB RAIDZ2 | 8x2 TB RAID10 | FreeNAS | ZFS | LSI SAS
 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:51 pm

OrestisKotopoulos wrote:
So did u solve this problem??? I have the gigabyte x399 designare ex and the threadripper 2950x and i think I have the same issue. My cpu voltage jumps from 1.2 to 1.475 and then back to 1.3 or lower. I have not overclocked the cpu. When the voltage rises my cpu temperature rises as well. For example in bios my cpu voltage is about 1.4 or a bit higher and cpu temp is 39-42 degrees Celsius. Could you tell me how I can fix that ???


Yeah, really did not like seeing that high bios voltage at all!

Fixed only by not using the "auto" setting.
Wish "auto" did work but 1.4 volts is too over the top for me.

I had hoped that the new cpus and new speed curves might have fixed the high voltage jumps.

The reviewers set 1.4 or more to get to 4Ghz and I would expect that to shorten the cpu life.
But maybe these brief voltage jumps that we get on auto would not be destructive?
(still don't like it tho.)
 
mikewinddale
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 2:22 am

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:07 pm

OrestisKotopoulos wrote:
So did u solve this problem??? I have the gigabyte x399 designare ex and the threadripper 2950x and i think I have the same issue. My cpu voltage jumps from 1.2 to 1.475 and then back to 1.3 or lower. I have not overclocked the cpu. When the voltage rises my cpu temperature rises as well. For example in bios my cpu voltage is about 1.4 or a bit higher and cpu temp is 39-42 degrees Celsius. Could you tell me how I can fix that ???


If you haven't overclocked the CPU, then why not just leave it alone? The Ryzen and ThreadRipper have Precision Boost 2 and XFR2 that will automatically engage the turbo according to whether your temperatures and voltages allow it.

So if your voltage rises, it's because the CPU thinks that it's safe and it will get you better performance. So why not let it be?

If you're overclocking, then I understand making adjustments. But if you're operating at stock, then why touch it?

And 39-42C is well within spec. The ThreadRipper 2950X has a maximum safe operating temperature of 68C, so you're more than safe.
 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Re: Iimit voltage and keep "Cool and Quiet" ? 1950X

Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:25 pm

If you haven't overclocked the CPU, then why not just leave it alone? The Ryzen and ThreadRipper have Precision Boost 2 and XFR2 that will automatically engage the turbo according to whether your temperatures and voltages allow it.
So if your voltage rises, it's because the CPU thinks that it's safe and it will get you better performance. So why not let it be?
If you're overclocking, then I understand making adjustments. But if you're operating at stock, then why touch it?
And 39-42C is well within spec. The ThreadRipper 2950X has a maximum safe operating temperature of 68C, so you're more than safe.[/quote]

What I remember is that AMD stated
"over 1.35 volts you are getting into shortening the cpu life span"
So seeing when in the bios a LOT of 1.4+ volts is not good.

For some odd reason outside of the bios you see a lot less 1.4+ volts but I don't want to see any at all.

It's the motherboard that controls the cpu voltages.
And you can not trust them all.
Anandtech mentioned an Asus board that if you used the "auto" overclock mode
the voltages would go way too high. (few years ago)

I would say that if I did have the new Threadripper with "Precision Boost 2" and
with the improvement that brings...I would not overclock as it is "good enough".

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
GZIP: On