Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, Thresher

bhaiyaji
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author

How do you pick a motherboard ?

Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:14 pm

This is one of the absolutely toughest things I've ever tried to research, and I would know... I am a graduate student who does constant research. But I am dumbfounded. There are thousands of motherboards each with their own non-descriptive name like MSI G563-M4 or EVGA 3XCLP40.... and I have no idea what the f%&k I'm even looking for.
I want to fit a nvidia 1060/1070/1080 and a core i7 to this PC. But I have no idea what I need.

dragontamer5788
Gerbil Elite

Re: How do you pick a motherboard ?

Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:30 pm

bhaiyaji wrote:
This is one of the absolutely toughest things I've ever tried to research, and I would know... I am a graduate student who does constant research. But I am dumbfounded. There are thousands of motherboards each with their own non-descriptive name like MSI G563-M4 or EVGA 3XCLP40.... and I have no idea what the f%&k I'm even looking for.
I want to fit a nvidia 1060/1070/1080 and a core i7 to this PC. But I have no idea what I need.

Buy the cheapest motherboard that does the job.

Some features you might be interested in:

* Overclocking (especially RAM overclocking, as XMP RAM isn't supported on the lowest tier).
* If performing very high overclocks, VRM research is suggested. Voltage regulator modules deliver power to the CPU, and the better the VRMs, the higher your overclock can be while remaining stable.
* PCIe 3.0 vs 4.0.
* Number and configuration of PCIe lanes
* NVMe SSDs
* SATA Ports and number
* 1Gbps Ethernet, 2.5 Gbps Ethernet, 5Gbps Ethernet, and 10 Gbps Ethernet.
* Brand of Ethernet adapter: Intel is usually considered great, Realtek is fine.
* USB 3.1, number of USB ports.

core i7